G40 Balance Mod - Rules and Download


  • In the rules description of marines:

    “New Unit - Marines: Cost 5; Attack at 1; Attack at 2 when involved with an amphibious assault; Defend at 2; No bonus from artillery; Can be loaded onto cruisers and battleships (1 to a ship).”

    there should also mention that marines can be loaded onto a transport like any inf, including being able to load up to two of them. otherwise, newcomers might read this and think marines can ONLY be loaded onto ca and bb

  • '19 '13

    Question regarding this part (and I apologize if it has been answered before, and I just didn’t find it):

    “Fleet at Toulon: In addition to the change in French territorial control, the Armistice changes control of the the French fleet in sz 93, from French to Pro-Axis neutral. The Vichy French fleet maintains a strictly defensive posture. It may not be moved. It may not be captured by the Axis. The fleet is immediately destroyed if any power, other than the Free French, occupies Southern France”

    Does this pro-axis neutral fleet BLOCK allied warships sailing through it, like other surface warships do?

    Say an allied fleet sits in 92, and wants to go to 97, but there’s an italian surface warship in 94, and the Pro-Axis Neutral Vichy French fleet sits in 93; will those two sz be regarded as blocked respectively?

  • '19 '17

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet. Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.

  • '19 '13

    @Adam514:

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet.

    Thanks for the quick response! It made sense it would, but wanted to be sure before counting on it in a game!

    @Adam514:

    Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.

    This was clear from the rules post! Good work!


  • Is it right that  Britain can take FIC, without a DOW against Japan?

  • '19 '17

    Yes (and Anzac).


  • Thank you.


  • @wittmann:

    Is it right that  Britain can take FIC, without a DOW against Japan?

    did not knew that. really interesting.

    but that applies only in the Vichy scenario off course?

  • '19 '17 '16

    If Vichy isn’t activated UK, ANZAC, USSR can all move troops into FIC but they don’t take ownership in that scenario.


  • It is annoyjng, as I don’t ever take FIC, as I like the 10 NO. Habe had to march into it or face the U.K. taking it . On J2 (no DOW) I only made 35: terrible Japanese income!

  • '19 '17 '16

    What, to prevent 2IPC/turn income going to the allies?


  • And having to recapture it, when I nedd yo go elsewhere. Perhaps, I have made a mistake, but will see where it takes  me. Have not yet won as the Axis in BM and fear I won’t change that in this game either.

    You are happy for Britain to take FIC then? I see.

  • '19 '17 '16

    I normally take it J1 to build the IC on it.

  • '20 '19 '18 '15 '13

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!

  • '19 '13

    @Odonis:

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!

    No plane can land in any territory that wasn’t controlled at the start of the turn, under any circumstance. Conquered or acquired as pro-neutral still means it wasn’t controlled at the beginning of the turn.

  • '15 '14

    Correct, the only exception are the orange DEI which can be used as landing space regardless if orange or activated by UK/ANZAC.
    Here the logic is that the already belonged to the side that activated them prior to the activation.

  • '19 '13

    @JDOW:

    Correct, the only exception are the orange DEI which can be used as landing space regardless if orange or activated by UK/ANZAC.
    Here the logic is that the already belonged to the side that activated them prior to the activation.

    True. I believe it is possible to even land ftrs there without having first acquired it with ground units.

  • '19 '17 '16

    That’s right. So it isn’t an exception. They’re already allied.


  • @arathorn:

    @Odonis:

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!

    No plane can land in any territory that wasn’t controlled at the start of the turn, under any circumstance. Conquered or acquired as pro-neutral still means it wasn’t controlled at the beginning of the turn.

    That doesn’t actually tell the whole story. There is one (extremely rare) instance where you can land air units in a Friendly-Neutral territory that hasn’t been activated yet: a Friendly-Neutral territory that has been attacked, but not taken, by an enemy player, can serve as a landing spot for your planes. This is true even if the Friendly-Neutral territory is not yet activated.

    This rule applies in both Balance Mod and Vanilla.


  • In order to better expose the Balance Mod to the community, this thread has been moved to “Other Axis & Allies Variants”.

Suggested Topics

  • 10
  • 1
  • 249
  • 1.4k
  • 4
  • 12
  • 18
  • 5
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

40

Online

17.0k

Users

39.3k

Topics

1.7m

Posts