I have a question regarding the rules on scrambling if Germany is attempting Sealion. Say Germany wants to conduct Sealion with its small navy and 8-10 transports…if UK does NOT have surface ships present in the seazone that the German player moves his navy into, does the UK player still have the option to scramble against those German ships?
Yes, from the rulebook Europe 1940.2, page 16:
“They may defend against the enemy ships conducting the amphibious assault even if friendly ships
are not present.”
And to take this scenario further, if the UK player DID have a surface ship there and the German player had 2 fighters on an aircraft carrier within that navy he just moved in there, would those fighters HAVE TO be part of the naval battle, or can the German player choose to use them in the Sealion land invasion?
If the player had chosen the fighters to be part of the land battle, he would have moved them to the respective land territory during Combat Move phase. The fighters move independently from the carrier, so in case they are in that seazone, they will be part of the sea batle.