My question is, can I preempt this move by bringing in a few fighters to the sea zone along with my navy, which will be able to participate in combat in the event he scrambles? The rules don’t seem to say anything about it, and I’m 60% sure I can’t do that anyways, but I thought I’d ask much more experienced players than myself just to be sure
From page 13 of the Europe Rulebook:
You can move units through friendly (but not friendly neutral) spaces en route to hostile spaces during [the Combat Move] phase. However, units can’t end their movement in friendly spaces during the Combat Move phase except in four instances.
- Tanks and mechanized infantry that have blitzed through an unoccupied hostile space (see “Tanks, Mechanized Infantry, and Blitzing,” page 15).
- Units moving from a hostile sea zone to escape combat as their combat move. A sea zone into which defending air units may be scrambled in reaction to an amphibious assault (see “Scramble,” page 16) may be treated in the same way as a hostile sea zone for this purpose.
- Sea units that will be participating in an amphibious assault from a friendly sea zone, as well as sea and/or air units that may be needed to support it in the case that defending air units are scrambled (see “Scramble,” page 16).
- Units moving into a sea zone containing only enemy submarines and/or transports in order to attack those units. (Remember that such a sea zone is not considered hostile.)
See bullet points 2 and 3.