Yeah, I wish they put the couple of rules not in both books in the global section at the back.
Europe has the straits rule.
Pacific has Kamikaze and China rules.
If you’re aware of that, it isn’t too much of a problem.
On Avalon Hill’s website under the FAQ for their 1940 game, it says that “the Soviet player can change Allied units into their Soviet counterparts only if the Allied unit is in a territory that also contains a Soviet industrial complex” but after searching the rules, I couldn’t find anywhere where it said that Russia change trade out Allied units for Russian ones. Is this a real rule in this game?
Link that said this
That’s actually not the Axis & Allies 1940 edition. Those rules are for Axis & Allies Europe from around 1999 (iirc). It’s interesting that they would update the rules 16 years later (lol) but it’s a different game.
Here is the link on these forums for that game:
Hope that helps!
(Looking at it again, even their link is misnamed. It has 1940 in the link, but if you go to the bottom and click on the original rules it takes you to the AAE rulebook from 1999. So, the confusion is not on your end, but on theirs.)
Indeed that link points to an unrelated old document referring to the 1999 edition.
When on the AH-site better visit this place for the latest rules and FAQ:
You will find the correct link to the 1940 2nd ed. FAQ there:
(Still not the latest version, that should be of November 2014, but you can go with it.)