For Wartime Economy, the v3 rules specify that « Each turn during its Place Units and Collect Income Phase, the nation rolls 2D6… » and « British Commonwealth may divide the money each turn… » (rule 7.8 & Global War Tech Sheet v3.0).
« Each turn » must mean the same in both sentences, so if you do it by the book, you would divide it between Commonwealth members during that same phase, not set it aside as a pool for the next purchasing phase.
However, in a friendly game, I would probably let the Commonwealth player redistribute the Wartime Economy as needed for purchases to speed things along.
I don’t believe that having a factory would restrict the possibility of building limited types units according to the « Builds » section of the National Reference Sheet. Otherwise it would be a good argument for not building one.
@hbg-gw-enthusiast If you have adobe acrobat (the paid version) you can build a search index and include everything. Actually I might make one and upload it. You’ll probably need to get Adobe Reader (free) though.
@noneshallpass You can’t copy paste because the author has secured the document so you are unable to copy it, edit it, etc. It would be nice to have the PDF not have this locked down.
@generalhandgrenade Rain on the roof! It totally makes sense! I noticed you did a great job moving the phone with you the second video. These are fantastic and help us understand the some of the decisions that were made in v3. Thanks again, General!
You could deny the 2 IPP that Russia receives by placing an Axis Submarine on the Arctic Convoy Line. The American player could also deny the Russians the 2 IPP just by stating it verbally. That’s one of the reasons why I always say in my videos that the Russian player needs to be a dick to win but they can’t be too much of a dick. They have to cooperate with the Allies to certain extent without helping them win. It’s a delicate balance between the players that doesn’t exist in A&A.
But no, you can’t actually raid the Arctic Convoy Line.
OK so the rules says that the Manchurian and Rehe territories start the game as Japanese so they aren’t technically “recaptured” as per rule 9.20. The Russian player has the option to give them to CCP or keep them for Russia. He is putting a note in the FAQ to reflect this.
Ok that’s fine what u saying.
I’ll give u my aa gun rule on ships in my game.
BB C15 M2 AD@8 + if roll is a 1 get a bonus plane kill to. Dam AD@6 no shore still get aa shot
CR C10 M3 AD@6 + if roll is a 2 or less get a bonus plane kill too.
This represents all guns going at same time.
The cruiser in game is a combination of all 3 types of Cruisers
Yes, only two territories can be scored, but that is also a boon. You only need two territories. Italy has two options for expansion that won’t get them jumped on by the Allies. That is important, because it allows you to secure two victory points early, which is half of your total. Once the allies get in, it allows you to stay defrensive and not worry about overextending to capture territory. You can conquer Abissynia and Albania, and thne sit the rest of the game as a force in being, trying up UK forces and making the Free French practily irelavent, as they usally only fight in Africa. There was a thread a few years ago where player disscussed a valid Italy strategy of staying neutral the whole game and still getting all of their victory objectives. (Also, the earlier you take Abyssinia, the more militia you can pile on. 🙂 )
I want to point something out. One of the differences between the Version 2 Reference Sheets and Version 3 Reference Sheets is that the nations that don’t require to be at a certain level to declare war don’t have a Wartime Income. If you look closer at the sheets you’ll notice that the column lists “Total Value of Land Zones” rather than “Wartime Income” that you see on the Allied Reference Sheets.
In other words, Germany, Japan, Italy, and USSR don’t have a Wartime Income. The Axis Powers are unrestricted in when they can DOW and the USSR simply has to wait until a certain date. They do have a Wartime Bonus Income but that isn’t the same thing. Those are the bonuses listed on the sheet that they can collect if they achieve specific goals while at war with another Major Power.
I hope that helps you to determine quickly if the nation you’re playing can declare war or not.
@generalhandgrenade Thanks! The German player used their whole navy to take out the 2 Norwegian boats thinking the Kriegsmarine was safe and the brits were about to crush it, before we gave him a taksie-backsie.
Only attacking (IE shooting at) submarines with Aircraft on Maritime Air Patrol (MAP) are affected by the advanced submarines improvement. Normally you can attack a submarine with a MAP aircraft paired with a destroyer, but a adv. sub. can only be attacked with the MAP aircraft.
Defending against an advanced submarine is unaffected. Escorting Ships and Aircraft on MAP are unaffected and act as normal.
@Caesar-Seriona I think you need to re-read the rule, it does not say you can only send to one nation. What the rule states is that, when you do Lend Lease to a nation, you can send that nation one unit or up to half that nations income. But you can do that same process multiple times.
Language from the book here:
7.8 Lend-Lease: During the Production Phase nations may lend money (IPPs) or military
equipment to other Major and Minor Powers.
Requirements: A nation can lend-lease to a nation under the following conditions:
(a) The receiving nation is at war with a Major Power or,
(b) A special circumstance (e.g. Spanish Civil War) allows a
nation to lend-lease.
A nation may not lend-lease to itself or to Aligned minors (since
they are technically also part of that nation). Britain cannot lendlease to the FEC or ANZAC.
Declaration: A player must announce his intention to lend-lease at
the start of the turn. You may lend either;
(a) Up to half the receiving nation’s current income in IPPs (not
counting bonus income), rounding fractions up. Or,
(b) One military unit. Such a unit must be produced at a factory in the Home Nation
specifically for the purpose of lending. You may not lend-lease units already on the
It does not specify that you can only Lend Lease to a single nation. So that might help clear it up a bit. The USA can Lend Lease to China, USSR, UK, and Free France all in the same turn if it wants to, for example.
I guess I still don’t follow the logic on allowing Free France a free reign to take out Vichy though. I’m not saying the money from Vichy makes or breaks Germany winning, but it just doesn’t make any sense to allow the Allies to just take all the territory essentially for free while Germany can’t do anything about it. But we may have to just agree to disagree on that one. 😀
@turndown4rip Interesting. I believe in your scenario combat would have to happen.
You say above that the UK would wait to declare war until that moment. I find it hard to believe that they wouldn’t already be at war though. The moment Germany attacked France, the UK would have gone to full wartime income. While true, that doesn’t necessarily mean that the UK has to actually declare war on the Axis at that moment in time. And per the rules, as you’ve surmised, they can declare war at any moment during any portion of anyone’s turn.
All that said, I’d have to imagine a German player will have already hit the UK fleet in the Atlantic somewhere, making war already a thing. But I may be getting off topic a bit, as your scenario is technically plausible!
I guess with your situation above, the UK has declared war after Germany’s combat movement phase. So no combat would happen on Germany’s turn. But when the UK’s turn came around, the UK could choose to move it’s ships out of the shared seazone and away from combat. If they left the ships in that zone though, combat would occur. You couldn’t just decide to leave your ships in a contested territory while at war and not have combat occur.
To your Dutch query, I’d have to agree with @ArtilleryAficianado. While you’re correct that those are valuable resources the Commonwealth as a whole losses out on, the Japanese would also be hurt as well by never having all that income, or the bonus income that comes with it. I think that would balance itself out that way. Plus, I think a smart Axis player would effectively negate the Allies from gaining much of that income. A smart move would be to wait to attack the Netherlands itself as Germany until Japan is simultaneously ready to take the DEI, to stop the very issue you bring up of the Commonwealth gaining that income!
Yes that looks good. I’m using the old Battleships from HBG for the Coastal Defence Ships. Nevada class for Allies ($3.45). Schleswig Holstein for Germany and Italy ($2.45). Fuso Early War Battleship for Japan ($3.45)
Historically, the type of agreements countries made during this time included:
-Diplomatic Relations: Before countries could negotiate treaties, they had to establish diplomatic relations in order to facilitate any agreements between the two nations. Diplomatic Relations could also be broken off (like many South American countries did with the Axis powers).
-Mutual Defense Pacts: Two or more countries agree that if one is attacked, the other will come to their aid.
-Treaties of friendship: These treaties express friendly diplomatic relations and cooperation between the two countries, though doesn’t necessarily mean mutual defense in the event of an attack by a third country.
-Trade Agreements: Trade of resources and/or capital.
-Non-Aggression Treaties: Two countries agree not to go to war with one another.
-Spheres of influence: Countries agree to partition a country, or region, into “spheres of influence” where the territory is divided between the two nations.
-Allied Conferences: The allies held conferences throughout the war to coordinate their war efforts.
-Intervention in Minor Wars: Powers would intervene in small wars around the world, supporting one side or the other.
-Appeasement: They would allow concessions to territorial expansion of certain powers.
-Embargo: Countries agreed not to trade with a third party.
-Governments in Exile: Conquered nations often continued the fight by moving their government to Allied occupied areas (usually London).
-Puppet States: Conquering nations would often set up Puppet regimes loyal to, and controlled by them.
@GeneralHandGrenade Got it, thanks GHG! Sorry if came off as combative, was certainly not the intention if I did. I just wanted to be sure on the rule myself too! I see the logic, will take some getting used to for sure to remember that, as it might not be considered intuitive, but I definitely get the thought process! Thanks for that!