Unless you can provide the part where it is writen that the US can declare on any axis power after round 3 they cannot.
Unless there is a Errata from the game publisher ofcourse.
From his post and the parts of the rulebook he posted it it clearly writen the US cannot declare war.
The United States begins the game neutral. It may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC.
No mention of any rounds this rule is lifted. It is in effect every round of the game until US is at war.
he United States may not declare war on any Axis power unless an Axis power either declares war on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, or Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC, after which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its following turn.
Also no round mentioned that the rule is lifted, it is in effect for the whole duration of the game.
However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase.
This is the only time that the above rule is lifted. The only time in that specific part of the round where you can declare without being provoked.
Im just reading literaly whats in the rule book. Personally i think its a stupid rule that should be better writen but it isnt.
Are you right in that it is logical that the US can declare after round 3 yea absolutely it should be that way.
But its not writen that way, and the rules are the rules as they are writen.
In the same way its stupid that all warships are in combat if you destroy 1 transport and cannot bombard. Its stupid as a rule but thats how the rule is writen.