Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)



  • Guarantee its been asked before…

    Italy attacks Russia.  Italy holds territory.  Germany moves in, without declaration of war.

    Russia then attacks the two territories Italy took (one had a IT tank and lots of Germans) and only 1 German in the other territory with no Italian units.  Russia did not declare war against Germany.  Can Russia take those territories, only attacking the IT’s?  Now Russia and Germany shares two Russian territories?

    Legit?


  • '12

    @Mallery29:

    Guarantee its been asked before…

    Italy attacks Russia.  Italy holds territory.  Germany moves in, without declaration of war.

    Russia then attacks the two territories Italy took (one had a IT tank and lots of Germans) and only 1 German in the other territory with no Italian units.  Russia did not declare war against Germany.  Can Russia take those territories, only attacking the IT’s?  Now Russia and Germany shares two Russian territories?

    Legit?

    No.



  • More generally, to attack a land territory, you must be at war with every power with units in it. Of course, if you’re at war with Italy, you can just declare war on Germany, and there’s no reason not to.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Calvin is right that you must be at war with all powers who have units or control the territory that you are going to attack.  This is different than at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.

    There is at least one possible reason not to declare war on Germany with Russia as soon as you can.  The Germans may hesitate to attack Russia to get their 5 IPC NO for trade, and also worried about Russia getting their NO, and you may want to leave those on the table for Germany, in the interest of delaying the invasion.  I realize this is unusual, but saying there is no reason not to is not necessarily true 100% of the time….  🙂



  • Hi, there is a thread made by Gamerman1 about all Mongolian, far east and neutral, pre-axis or pre-allies rules. It is very clear and in details. but I can’t find it. Anyone know where it is?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Brought it to the top, here in the G40 section
    Great to know someone appreciates the work



  • Are the Axis & Allies 1940 Europe and Pacific 1st edition box sets out of print now?


  • Official Q&A

    They were out of print before the 2nd editions were released.  Of course, some distributors continued to have them in stock for some time after that.



  • @Krieghund:

    They were out of print before the 2nd editions were released.  Of course, some distributors continued to have them in stock for some time after that.

    I thought as much… Thanks.



  • @Gargantua:

    the fighters die if they have no valid landing space.

    If you retreat, and they used 4 movement to get to the seazone of battle.  They die.

    Is this true? if fighters are in the battle at maximum range, they can’t retreat? Tanks that move two spaces into a battle can move a third space if they retreat, why can’t planes?



  • On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.

    It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?



  • @Young:

    @Gargantua:

    the fighters die if they have no valid landing space.

    If you retreat, and they used 4 movement to get to the seazone of battle.  They die.

    Is this true? if fighters are in the battle at maximum range, they can’t retreat? Tanks that move two spaces into a battle can move a third space if they retreat, why can’t planes?

    Planes can retreat, but they can’t use extra spaces to land. If the carriers you were hoping to land them on retreat out of the sea zone, the fighters die.

    On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.

    It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?

    Russia can attack Besserabia iff they declare war on Germany, which they can since they’re now at war with Italy.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Young:

    On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.

    It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?

    Russia must declare war on Germany to attack Bessarabia.  You can never attack only part of the land units in a territory - it is only at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.  On land you must be at war with everyone you are attacking - the territory owner, and the owner of any units in the territory.



  • @Gamerman01:

    @Young:

    On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.

    It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?

    Russia must declare war on Germany to attack Bessarabia.  You can never attack only part of the land units in a territory - it is only at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.  On land you must be at war with everyone you are attacking - the territory owner, and the owner of any units in the territory.

    Thanks, is there a page number where I can find this? I read page 15 of the Europe book, but it was not clear about Russia being able to attack Germany before turn 4 if Germany has not DOW against Russia.



  • Page 36 of the Europe rulebook, under the Global Rules section, says:

    “The Soviet Union may not declare war on any European Axis power before turn 4 unless first declared war upon by a European Axis power or London is captured by an Axis power.”

    Thus, since Italy declared war on Russia to take Bessarabia, the Russians can declare war on Germany.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Page 15, blue box, combat paragraph, first sentence



  • Perfect, thank’s guys.



  • A really quick question!!!

    Is the second edition the standard rule for Global play? Me + friends are meeting up to play, and this is our first global game in years… (I have the first edition game).

    Thank you!


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    It is probably better balanced playing te second edition, as Japan had lost about 8 Air units. If you can download the rules and set up, play with the newer ones.
    Have fun.



  • @wittmann:

    It is probably better balanced playing te second edition, as Japan had lost about 8 Air units. If you can download the rules and set up, play with the newer ones.
    Have fun.

    Thank you, I will start printing the rules/setup^! (found here : http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28703.0)


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    You definitely want 2nd edition rules and setup
    It is superior in every way, except the Mongolia rules can be confusing


  • 2019 2018 Customizer

    @Gamerman01:

    @Young:

    On turn 2, Italy DOW on Russia by attacking and controlling Bessarabia with 1 infantry unit remaining. On turn 3, Germany moves 10 infantry and 10 tanks into Italy controlled Bessarabia while still neutral with Russia.

    It is now Russia’s turn in round 3 and they have 1 Italian infantry in Bessarabia (whom they are at war with) along with 20 German units (whom they are not permitted to attack)… what are Russia’s options?

    Russia must declare war on Germany to attack Bessarabia.  You can never attack only part of the land units in a territory - it is only at sea where you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war.  On land you must be at war with everyone you are attacking - the territory owner, and the owner of any units in the territory.

    How can Germany move into Bessa if they’re not at war with Russia?  Because it’s Italian now?  That doesn’t seem to make sense to me because it was originally Russian.

    Separate question: Is the US allowed to move it’s Philippine and Hawaii navies into the sea zone off Queensland (sea zone 54) on round 1 or is that prohibited by the “Powers not at war with one another” blue box that restricts the US from Japanese areas?  US couldn’t use the naval base, but can it still be in that sea zone on the way to Philippines or somewhere else?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @DMcLaren:

    How can Germany move into Bessa if they’re not at war with Russia?  Because it’s Italian now?

    Yes.

    That doesn’t seem to make sense to me because it was originally Russian.

    Doesn’t matter.  It’s Italian now.

    Separate question: Is the US allowed to move it’s Philippine and Hawaii navies into the sea zone off Queensland (sea zone 54) on round 1 or is that prohibited by the “Powers not at war with one another” blue box that restricts the US from Japanese areas?  US couldn’t use the naval base, but can it still be in that sea zone on the way to Philippines or somewhere else?

    Yes, you can move the navy anywhere that doesn’t border a Japanese holding.  Again, original doesn’t matter - it’s current only

    Can’t use the naval base of Australia because Australia is not an ally of the USA yet, right.



  • Paris, France is captured by Germany.  Since the French capital has been captured, can an Allied power move a land unit into any French territory during “Non-Combat”, place a control marker on it and take the IPC from that territory?

    Based on the rule book it appears that the French territory would need to be captured by an Axis power first before an Allied power can liberate it and then take the IPC value.  But, the rule book seems a bit vague; looking for clarification.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @SandsTGSP:

    Paris, France is captured by Germany.  Since the French capital has been captured, can an Allied power move a land unit into any French territory during “Non-Combat”, place a control marker on it and take the IPC from that territory?

    No.  Same as any Ally whose capital is under enemy control, you can’t convert their territories to your own (can’t take control).

    You need the Axis to take control of it, and then you can.  Quirky, but A&A has been played this way since the beginning, more than 30 years running.

    Based on the rule book it appears that the French territory would need to be captured by an Axis power first before an Allied power can liberate it and then take the IPC value.  But, the rule book seems a bit vague; looking for clarification.

    Oh, yes, that’s right.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 3281
  • 3
  • 78
  • 132
  • 15
  • 7
  • 14
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

61
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts