Just had time to check this post. I will look into what you sent me. Thank you very much. MOst helpful.
Posts made by eddiem4145
RE: Axis and allies minatures, where and how to get
Axis and allies minatures, where and how to get
The avalon hill website seems to no longer sell or have any information on miniatures. I found some on amazon but not sure exactily what I am getting.
Anyone know a website where I can see all the minatures they sell.
I bought a minature set for the planes intending to use them for the overall ground war, but it seemed the set was designed for planes alone battles. The were huge and the stands took up the entire hex,
Also lost my rule book.
Can anyone help.
RE: Carriers attacking
I’m sorry, I didn’t ask the question clear enough to satisfy the argument.
A carrier with 2 planes on it can both move (Both meaning not both planes, but the planes and the carrier) into an enemy sea zone, attack, and if it wins, the planes can then land on the carrier.
The argument is if the carrier has two planes on it, the carrier can’t move into combat or the planes that took off the carrier into the enemy sea zone cannot land on the carrier if carrier also moved into the hostile sea zone and conducted combat.
The rule book only states “Any fighters belonging to the aircraft carrier owner move independently of the carrier. These fighters can make a combat move from the carrier’s original sea zone, or they can remain in the original sea zone until the Noncombat Move phase…Your aircraft carrier can move to or remain in a sea zone where one of your fighters will end its noncombat move (and in fact, it must do so if it is able).”
I think that last part, “Your aircraft carrier can move to or remain in a sea zone where one of your fighters will end its noncombat move” Is where they get that idea.
Please give me a good answer although it is hard to argue that you can do something without a specific rule stating that you can. Of course doesn’t say you can’t in any way.
Advanced Axis and Allies?
I was looking through the posts on the “Harris Game Design” forums and I saw something about a new Advanced Axis in the works with detail way beyond Global, like retreat rules, sub hunts, victory points (each city has a different point value) ect,
The posts are old, any word on what happened?
I posted this question twice on the forum with a automatic reply that my post will first be reviewed by moderators and then posted if appropriate. The question was never posted and I don’t know why, any one with some insight?
RE: Carriers attacking
There are other versions where the aircraft carrier has an attack value of 0 and a damaged carrier can’t be landed on.
Making sending in a carrier to attack useless. So I think they got used to playing that version and assumed a carrier cannot attack. Although even in those versions if you know you are going to loose your planes or there is an island you can land on, you can still send in the carrier as cannon fodder, but they played that version as though you can’t send in a carrier.
They looked up the rules and tried to argue that in certain places of the rule book, in was implicit that you can’t send a carrier to attack. It was a pretty weird conversation but nevertheless, I agreed to post the question.
Naval Units avoiding battle
When I enter a sea zone with my capital warships, and the sea zone is occupied by other enemy capital warships, do I have to conduct one round of battle, or
can I just stop my movement, then if on the enemy’s turn they do not attack me, on my turn again I get to keep moving, essentially, the enemy does not stop my movement, they only slow me down.