I’m sorry, I didn’t ask the question clear enough to satisfy the argument.
A carrier with 2 planes on it can both move (Both meaning not both planes, but the planes and the carrier) into an enemy sea zone, attack, and if it wins, the planes can then land on the carrier.
The argument is if the carrier has two planes on it, the carrier can’t move into combat or the planes that took off the carrier into the enemy sea zone cannot land on the carrier if carrier also moved into the hostile sea zone and conducted combat.
The rule book only states “Any fighters belonging to the aircraft carrier owner move independently of the carrier. These fighters can make a combat move from the carrier’s original sea zone, or they can remain in the original sea zone until the Noncombat Move phase…Your aircraft carrier can move to or remain in a sea zone where one of your fighters will end its noncombat move (and in fact, it must do so if it is able).”
I think that last part, “Your aircraft carrier can move to or remain in a sea zone where one of your fighters will end its noncombat move” Is where they get that idea.
Please give me a good answer although it is hard to argue that you can do something without a specific rule stating that you can. Of course doesn’t say you can’t in any way.