Bear in mind that UK’s transports won’t necessarily be destroyed in this scenario.Â Assuming conditions allow them to retreat, they may do so after the first combat round.
I thought that since transports have no attack value, in this case they would automatically retreat. If they have to wait until after the first combat round, then the defending German fighter has the opportunity to sink at least one UK transport in this example, is that right?
KNP that is correct.
The attacker only gets the chance to retreat after the first round of combat. Else everyone would just move armies through enemy units, using “retreat” rules, without ever rolling any dice!
Also keep in mind that if escort UK transports with 1 destroyer, and the Germans scramble 1 tactical…. if the tactical hit the destroyer, your transports would then be able to retreat.
Using the same example, If the Germans scrambled 2 tactical, and both hit, you would lose the destroyer and 1 of the transports.