Specific Question on Amphibious Assault and Scramble Rule


  • All,

    I had a specific question, concerning the amphibious assault and scramble. Let’s say Great Britain decides to conduct an amphibious assault on Norway and Denmark, which means their transports must enter sea space 112. In this case, they are unescorted - no submarines, no warships, just transports with men. The Germans have a single fighter in W. Germany with their Air Base. Can that fighter scramble and sink the unescorted transports in Sea Space 112 after the amphibious assault has been declared since you have to wait scramble until your opponent has declared all his combat moves? Thank you again.


  • It’s still an amph assault whether escorted or not, so Germany will still have the scrambling option.

  • Official Q&A

    Bear in mind that UK’s transports won’t necessarily be destroyed in this scenario.  Assuming conditions allow them to retreat, they may do so after the first combat round.

  • Customizer

    @Krieghund:

    Bear in mind that UK’s transports won’t necessarily be destroyed in this scenario.  Assuming conditions allow them to retreat, they may do so after the first combat round.

    I thought that since transports have no attack value, in this case they would automatically retreat. If they have to wait until after the first combat round, then the defending German fighter has the opportunity to sink at least one UK transport in this example, is that right?

  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    @knp7765:

    @Krieghund:

    Bear in mind that UK’s transports won’t necessarily be destroyed in this scenario.  Assuming conditions allow them to retreat, they may do so after the first combat round.

    I thought that since transports have no attack value, in this case they would automatically retreat. If they have to wait until after the first combat round, then the defending German fighter has the opportunity to sink at least one UK transport in this example, is that right?

    KNP that is correct.

    The attacker only gets the chance to retreat after the first round of combat.  Else everyone would just move armies through enemy units, using “retreat” rules, without ever rolling any dice!

    Also keep in mind that if escort UK transports with 1 destroyer, and the Germans scramble 1 tactical…. if the tactical hit the destroyer, your transports would then be able to retreat.

    Using the same example, If the Germans  scrambled 2 tactical, and both hit, you would lose the destroyer and 1 of the transports.

  • Customizer

    Whoa! We have been playing it wrong all this time. While it is rare that any of us send in transports without some kind of escort, especially against a territory with an air base, it has happened on occasion.
    A number of times we will see some transports with somewhat minimal escort, like just 2 DDs or something like that, and in a few cases the opponent will scramble and prevent the invasion. So in that case, if the opponent scrambles 3 planes and all three get hits, both DDs and one of the transports get hit, right?
    In fact, in ANY type of battle where attacking transports are involved, if the attacking warships get wiped out and the defender gets more hits than is necessary for the attacking warships, any leftover hits are applied to the attacking transports and the rest get to retreat.
    With defending transports however, once the last warship is hit, ALL the transports are immediately sunk no matter how many attacking hits there are, right?


  • Ok. Since I asked the question the answer is the fighter sinks one transport, the other transport can escape but cannot do the amphibious assault because the presence of one fighter means it is still a contested sea zone. Correct?

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Yes Leobarron2000.
    But the Fighter still needs to roll a hit. If it misses, you still have two Transports, with the cargo still on board.


  • I thought transports were automatic hits. Holy cow we’ve playing that wrong.

  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    @knp7765:

    Whoa! We have been playing it wrong all this time. While it is rare that any of us send in transports without some kind of escort, especially against a territory with an air base, it has happened on occasion.
    A number of times we will see some transports with somewhat minimal escort, like just 2 DDs or something like that, and in a few cases the opponent will scramble and prevent the invasion. So in that case, if the opponent scrambles 3 planes and all three get hits, both DDs and one of the transports get hit, right?
    In fact, in ANY type of battle where attacking transports are involved, if the attacking warships get wiped out and the defender gets more hits than is necessary for the attacking warships, any leftover hits are applied to the attacking transports and the rest get to retreat.
    With defending transports however, once the last warship is hit, ALL the transports are immediately sunk no matter how many attacking hits there are, right?

    You got it!

    The only time all the transports would instantly die, is if the transports had no valid place to retreat.


  • Like if they were defending or something.


  • Can Strategic Bombers “escort” Transports  ( assuming there are no hostile ships in between and at the final seazone) … to defend the TRs in event of  Scramble option?

    For example, Lets say that there are no Japanese ships Between Carolines and Phillippines… and none on the Phillippines SeaZone  There are 2 Japanese FTRs ( and 2 Inf) on Phillippines.  Can i send 2 Loaded TRs with 3 SB “escorting” them?

    The 3 SBs will not participate in the land combat.  All they do is go to the Seazone , in event the 2 FTRS scramble.

    This means all the planes ( SBs and FTRs) will be rolling 4 s  or less … is that correct? ( SB = attack  and FTRs =  defense ) . Also it avoids Kamikaze  option, is that correct  ( since the K-marker is there on PHP)?

    Just wanted to check?

    Thanks

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    You are right on all counts MeinHerr.

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
  • 6
  • 4
  • 19
  • 14
  • 15
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

69
Online

15.1k
Users

35.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts