If a plane that was landed on a carrier at the beginning of a turn moved one to a fight. The carrier was lost in the fight. Does the plane have 3 left or 1?
Our group has had this discussion many times. It seems unrealistic that a country would develop something that is not useful. In one of our games Russia bought a non-disposable tech dice and actually rolled a 6 then rolled on the chart and got “War Bonds” which was cool for them but if you look at the list there are very few that Russia can benefit from. Mostly depends if they are on the offensive. If they are on the defensive then only “War Bonds” and “Increased Factory Production” seem to be worthwhile. “Radar” would also be good but its on a separate chart with tech that would not benefit them. Most would say that Russia should not even consider rolling on tech and I tend to agree unless they are on the offensive and have a massive economy.
another example of this in action is attacking an enemy sub. He might (and probably will) submerge, but its up to the defender so the attacker needs to send enough hardware to the sz to win if the enemy defends.
I’ve found floating a sub (or a couple!) on down off the west coast of Africa can work out pretty well. Some nice convoy action down there to disrupt, and not many threats around. Puts U.K. out of position if they come chase you down.
Yes, it can do that. Refer to page 20 of the P40 rulebook, under restrictions on placement:
“New Sea units can enter play even in a hostile sea zone. No combat occurs because the conduct combat phase is over.”