Navigation

    Axis & Allies .org Forums
    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Home
    • Categories
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Users
    1. Home
    2. Krieghund
    • Profile
    • Following 0
    • Followers 5
    • Topics 37
    • Posts 4947
    • Best 86
    • Groups 1

    Krieghund

    @Krieghund

    Official Q&A

    170
    Reputation
    736
    Profile views
    4947
    Posts
    5
    Followers
    0
    Following
    Joined Last Online
    Location Sandston, Virginia, USA Age 60

    Krieghund Follow
    Official Q&A

    Best posts made by Krieghund

    • RE: Larry Harris' website had been shut down - and is back again!

      I have uploaded the FAQs for all of the OOP games (Classic, Europe, Pacific, Revised, D-Day, Battle of the Bulge, Guadalcanal, 1942 1st Edition) in their appropriate forums. Could someone please “sticky” them?

      posted in News
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: When USA not at War

      There must be a certain amount of historical accuracy in order for the game to “feel like” the subject matter. Axis & Allies has always dealt with this accuracy at a macro level, striving for “feel” rather than simulation, and thus not dwelling on minutiae. It’s a fine line to walk, but some historical realities must be observed in order to maintain the ambiance. In this case, the restriction presents the feeling of threat without overly burdening the Japan player, as forcing avoidance of all USA territories would.

      I won’t pretend that there aren’t game play reasons why this restriction is in place. If there weren’t, why burden the game with it? However, any such rule must be grounded in historical events and realities in order to not come off as “gamey” and ruin the feel of the experience.

      All of that being said, the USA did rather famously (infamously?) allow the IJN to get within striking distance of Hawaii, as well as several other of its Pacific possessions, without raising much of a fuss until it was too late. I doubt the same would have been true if the mainland had been so threatened (my original post did make this distinction). In game terms, the “threat zone” of the mainland extends two sea zones out. Since the Hawaiian sea zone is outside of that radius, and since Hawaii could just as easily be attacked from Japanese-held territory (Marshall Islands), there was little point in game terms of excluding Japan from that sea zone.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Larry Harris' website had been shut down - and is back again!

      The site is down for maintenance. I have no word yet on how much longer this will take, but it will return.

      posted in News
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Latest Tournament Rules?

      I have created a new topic with a file containing the rules. Could someone please “sticky” it? Thanks.

      posted in Axis & Allies 1914
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: oysteilo (Allies+9) vs Simon33 (Axis) BM3

      It is legal to move a fighter to attack a sea zone as long as it’s possible (no matter how unlikely) that the fighter can be picked up by a carrier afterwards. (One carrier cannot be used to justify attacking two different sea zones, as it cannot be in two places at once.) If the fighter survives and a carrier can move to pick it up (either the original or another one), it must do so. The fighter may only be allowed to crash if the circumstances after all combat is complete make it impossible to pick it up. If more than one fighter has to be picked up, but there is only one carrier available, the owner may choose which fighter to pick up, if a choice is available, but one must be picked up.

      posted in League
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: 2nd Edition Western Canada Misprint

      @The-Lone-Wolf Western Canada should have a Canadian emblem. It’s in the FAQ, also available at Panther’s link above.

      posted in Axis & Allies Pacific 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Larry Harris' website had been shut down - and is back again!

      Harris Game Design is back up!

      posted in News
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Offloading In Both Combat And Non Combat Movement

      @Cernel:

      In Revised OOB, if a unit was already loaded before the turn, can you offload it during Non Combat Movement, if the transport offloaded something during Combat Movement, but only as long as you offload it into the same territory? And, one way or another, nothing changes whether the transport took part in a victorious sea battle too or not?

      Correct.

      @Cernel:

      For example, you have 1 infantry already loaded on the transport. You load 1 second infantry on the transport, sending it into a sea borne assault, during Combat Movement. Then, if you conquer it, can you offload the already loaded infantry, to the same territory, during Non Combat Movement? And how about if the already loaded unit is an AA gun, rest being the same?

      These are both legal.

      @Cernel:

      Also, I’m fairly sure that at least for any rulesets from Revised LHTR onwards a transport may never offload in both Combat and Non Combat Movement, which is the case for Classic too. So the matter here, then, would be whether Revised OOB is the only one exception to this general rule or not.

      The original Europe (1999) and Pacific (2001) games also allow this, but no others do.

      @Cernel:

      Shorter version, I’m substantially asking if in Revised OOB you can ever offload in both Combat and Non Combat Movement and, if so, in what cases (full list)?

      The only circumstances under which a transport may offload in both combat and noncombat movement are those that you have described above.

      posted in Axis & Allies Revised Edition
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Classic rules, and some disagreements.

      @Cernel said in Classic rules, and some disagreements.:

      @djensen renamed this section as “Axis & Allies Classic” (it was called “Axis & Allies 2nd Edition”, or something like that, in the old forum, I recall), that I think it is going to be confusing (we have a good example right here). I suggested to name it “Axis & Allies (Classic) 1st/2nd/3rd Edition” or “Axis & Allies 1st/2nd/3rd Edition” (just adding “Classic” between parenthesis or in the description), but this has been already discussed here:
      https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/32567/chicago-nfl-team-bears
      Calling it the current way would have been fine if the description would have been something like:
      Includes MB Gamemaster Series 1st and 2nd editions, and the two Hasbro Interactive (CD-ROM) 3rd Edition.
      or like it is called in the official Larry Harris forum:
      Original Axis & Allies 1984-2004
      (though this is rather vague, or surely not very clear)
      but I see it currently is:
      The original MB Gamemaster Series game from 1984-2004
      that is substantially a wrong description, as long as @Krieghund or anybody can confirm the 3rd edition is Classic too, as I believe it is, and those are not part of the Gamemaster Series.

      Yes, 3rd Edition is part of Classic. I’m not sure what your problem is with the nomenclature, though. While “Classic” may mean different things to different people, its proper usage is really in reference to the MB version and its computer offshoots.

      @Krieghund can you please confirm this is what it is supposed to happen:

      If you have 1 submarine and 1 fighter attacking 1 transport and 1 submarine, if the attacking submarine misses and both defending units hit:

      • In 1st/2nd edition, you only lose the attacking submarine, as long as the attacking player doesn’t take a fighter as casualty when the transport hits (that would be absolutely idiotic).
      • In 3rd edition, you lose both attacking units (you are not permitted to do the trick of assigning the transport’s hit to the submarine, thus being unable to assign the submarine’s hit to anything else).

      Confirmed.

      If the above is true, I’m curious what is the implied intended rule for assigning defensive submarines and others hits (say, if you would be playing by 3rd edition rules on a board). Should defending submarines hits be assigned before anything else or should you assign them at the same time, but taking care to lose the maximum number of units you can (I know in practice both would work the same)?

      The latter.

      posted in Axis & Allies Classic
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: UK/Anzac AAA convert dutch territories?

      I agree that a strict reading of the exemption rule in and of itself would indicate that Dutch territories could be claimed by AAA, as this case is not mentioned explicitly. I wrestled with this for a while before making my ruling. However, I also believe there’s enough wiggle room there when combined with the rules on Dutch territories and friendly neutrals to interpret it the other way, for the reasons I’ve outlined. The fact that we’re even having this conversation supports the view that there are two ways to interpret it.

      For what it’s worth, I am certain that Larry didn’t want AAA to claim Dutch territories, any more than he wanted them to convert friendly neutrals, for the reasons I stated. This in itself wouldn’t cause me to rule the way that I did, but in combination with the aforementioned “wiggle room”, I deemed it to be enough. If I had my way, there would be an FAQ update to reflect this, but getting one these days is like pulling teeth.

      As an aside, this issue was originally addressed in the AAE40 1st Edition FAQ, at the same time that the 2nd Editions of both games were being developed. The AAA exception should have noted this case explicitly in AAP40, but it simply got dropped during the development of the 2nd Edition and it has remained lost until now.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund

    Latest posts made by Krieghund

    • RE: Quick Question about Amphibious Assaults

      @johnnukacola said in Quick Question about Amphibious Assaults:

      My question is, can I preempt this move by bringing in a few fighters to the sea zone along with my navy, which will be able to participate in combat in the event he scrambles? The rules don’t seem to say anything about it, and I’m 60% sure I can’t do that anyways, but I thought I’d ask much more experienced players than myself just to be sure

      From page 13 of the Europe Rulebook:

      You can move units through friendly (but not friendly neutral) spaces en route to hostile spaces during [the Combat Move] phase. However, units can’t end their movement in friendly spaces during the Combat Move phase except in four instances.

      • Tanks and mechanized infantry that have blitzed through an unoccupied hostile space (see “Tanks, Mechanized Infantry, and Blitzing,” page 15).
      • Units moving from a hostile sea zone to escape combat as their combat move. A sea zone into which defending air units may be scrambled in reaction to an amphibious assault (see “Scramble,” page 16) may be treated in the same way as a hostile sea zone for this purpose.
      • Sea units that will be participating in an amphibious assault from a friendly sea zone, as well as sea and/or air units that may be needed to support it in the case that defending air units are scrambled (see “Scramble,” page 16).
      • Units moving into a sea zone containing only enemy submarines and/or transports in order to attack those units. (Remember that such a sea zone is not considered hostile.)

      See bullet points 2 and 3.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: WAR ROOM Q+A

      No. Each battle consists of only one round of combat.

      posted in War Room
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: WAR ROOM Q+A

      While the Infantry does not get to return fire, the Fighter still has to hit it twice in order to destroy it.

      posted in War Room
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Submarine retreat

      Partial retreats are allowed only in amphibious assaults. In all other cases, either everything retreats or nothing does.

      In this example, where there are only subs and a fighter attacking and the subs have no retreat route, there are only two ways for the fighter to retreat alone. The first is if the subs are all lost. The second is for the subs to submerge in step 2 of the next round, leaving the fighter to continue the battle alone. If the fighter survives that round, it may then retreat, being the only remaining attacking unit.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: A&A 1940 Global 2nd Edition - Setup Charts and Components List

      There were no changes to the treatment of neutrals in general, but the Soviet-Mongolian Defense Pact was added in the 2nd Edition.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Amphibious Assault rules

      @barnee and @colt45554 are correct.

      posted in Axis & Allies Global 1940
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: WAR ROOM Q+A

      Yes, Air Units can attack Submarines.

      posted in War Room
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: A Tale of Two Questions

      Regarding question 1, as Frimmel said, it’s important to not bring any baggage from other A&A games into the “battle” games, as their mechanics are very different. It would be inadvisable to point out those differences in the Rulebook, though, as that would simply confuse readers who have never played a strategic-level A&A game. It’s best for experienced A&A players to simply look at these games with a fresh eye, and it probably would have been good for the Rulebook’s author to note this in the introduction.

      Regarding question 2, the reason why there is only one box on the Supplies combat strip is that, unlike with the combat units, there is no fixed stacking limit for Supplies. The combat units’ combat strips can have a fixed number of boxes due to their stacking limits, but the number of Supply tokens that can be in a hex is theoretically unlimited. Perhaps having an image of multiple tokens on the strip would reinforce the idea that multiple tokens may be hit, but the rules do clearly state so.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: Supply tokens

      Frimmel’s answers above are correct. The Rulebook clearly states on page 14 that attacks are also paid for with Supply tokens. The Rulebook also states on page 11 that Supply tokens “represent supply depots that provide fuel, ammunition, and food for the troops,” and the inclusion of “ammunition” supports that premise.

      I’d be curious to know which “stated mechanics” of the game you believe contradict Frimmel’s answers, as I cannot find them in the rules or FAQ. The rules do say that Supplies are used for movement, but they do not say that they are exclusively used for that purpose, and they also say that they are used for attacks.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      Krieghund
      Krieghund
    • RE: A Tale of Two Questions
      1. They are allowed to move. There is nothing in the rules to indicate they are not.
      2. From page 16 of the Rulebook:

      For each hit in the Supply box, one Supply token in the defending hex is destroyed.

      posted in Axis & Allies: Battle of the Bulge
      Krieghund
      Krieghund