Question for Krieg… Scramble/combat move phase question?



  • Question. Here’s the scenario. Germany is amphib assaulting Gibraltar from SZ91. There are no enemy sea units contesting SZ91. However, there is 2 FTR’s & 1 Tac defending Gib that could either scramble in SZ91 or defend Gib. The question is, can Germany bring non shore bombarding navy(i.e. DD’s, CC’s & AC’s) to SZ91 during the combat move phase to help defend the Transports in the event that Britain scrambles it’s FTR’s & Tacs? Can they also bring their own FTR’s & Tacs to SZ91 to help defend against the FTR’s & Tacs that Britain could scramble? The rule book states in the combat move phase that units that move during the combat move phase must conduct combat. Thanks in advance!



  • A follow up question. If one territory(let’s say owned by the US) is getting amphib assaulted by let’s say Japan. And, the US scrambles three FTR’s to the defense of the SZ where the amphib assault is happening from. Can Japan from an adjacent territory that has an airbase scramble FTR’s & Tacs to fight the aircraft that the US scrambled? I think the answer is no but just want to make sure. This question is assuming that the US territory and Japanese territory, with operative airbases share the same SZ that the amphib assault is coming from.



  • @Commando:

    Question. Here’s the scenario. Germany is amphib assaulting Gibraltar from SZ91. There are no enemy sea units contesting SZ91. However, there is 2 FTR’s & 1 Tac defending Gib that could either scramble in SZ91 or defend Gib. The question is, can Germany bring non shore bombarding navy(i.e. DD’s, CC’s & AC’s) to SZ91 during the combat move phase to help defend the Transports in the event that Britain scrambles it’s FTR’s & Tacs? Can they also bring their own FTR’s & Tacs to SZ91 to help defend against the FTR’s & Tacs that Britain could scramble? The rule book states in the combat move phase that units that move during the combat move phase must conduct combat. Thanks in advance!

    Just because they can’t bombard - they can still “take part” in the amphibious landing attack, for example if the enemy scrambled, so their move will end in combat, so to speak.



  • @Commando:

    A follow up question. If one territory(let’s say owned by the US) is getting amphib assaulted by let’s say Japan. And, the US scrambles three FTR’s to the defense of the SZ where the amphib assault is happening from. Can Japan from an adjacent territory that has an airbase scramble FTR’s & Tacs to fight the aircraft that the US scrambled? I think the answer is no but just want to make sure. This question is assuming that the US territory and Japanese territory, with operative airbases share the same SZ that the amphib assault is coming from.

    I’m all but 100% sure of no in that one. Scramble is a defensive move (defend seazone from attack) and seeing as Japan is on the attack, that would make their scramble an offensive move (attack seazone).



  • right, you can’t scramble a scramble.  What you would have done is move those japanese scrambling aircraft into the sz in combat movement so they could fight if the defender chose to scramble.  Always assume the enemy will scramble, thats my feeling.



  • Xandax, what if the enemy doesn’t scramble? Is this still legal since there is no combat taking place?



  • JimmyHat, same question. You can move FTR’s & Tacs into SZ’s during the combat move phase, in the event your enemy possibly scrambles aircraft? Again, what happens if your enemy doesn’t scramble aircraft? Then there is no combat and the rules state there must be combat if you move units during the combat move phase.



  • @Commando:

    Xandax, what if the enemy doesn’t scramble? Is this still legal since there is no combat taking place?

    Yes, it’s a combat move, even if you can not bombard with the ships. Escort ships are still part of the combat. Even if actual seacombat doesn’t take place due to no scramble.
    So it is still a combat move because they’re part of the amphibious assault - hence combat.



  • @Commando:

    You can move FTR’s & Tacs into SZ’s during the combat move phase, in the event your enemy possibly scrambles aircraft?

    Yes, you can do this.  Since there could potentially be combat, if the defender scrambles, it is a legal combat move.


  • Customizer

    @Commando:

    JimmyHat, same question. You can move FTR’s & Tacs into SZ’s during the combat move phase, in the event your enemy possibly scrambles aircraft? Again, what happens if your enemy doesn’t scramble aircraft? Then there is no combat and the rules state there must be combat if you move units during the combat move phase.

    While I don’t know the exact wording (no rulebook handy), I’m pretty sure that in the combat move, there just has to be the possibility of combat, like if an enemy scrambles (except when ships leave a hostile SZ to avoid combat).  However, if he doesn’t scramble, then that’s not your fault.  Your planes are simply wasted for any combat for that round.
    It’s sort of like the rule for movement with fighters and tacs.  There has to be a possible landing space (ie. moving a carrier for them to land on.  However, if the planes are lost in battle, then you don’t have to move the carrier.)



  • another example of this in action is attacking an enemy sub.  He might (and probably will) submerge, but its up to the defender so the attacker needs to send enough hardware to the sz to win if the enemy defends.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 19
  • 4
  • 6
  • 27
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

35
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts