• So in the rules about blitzing, it says that a mechanized infantry needs a tank to blitz through an enemy territory and then into another enemy territory. What if the first territory is friendly and the second territory is enemy? Does a mechanized infantry still need a tank with it if the first territory it is going through is friendly and the second one is enemy?


  • Yes, you need a tank to blitz though friendly territory.


  • @Caesar:

    Yes, you need a tank to blitz though friendly territory.

    This is in correct.

    “A tank can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a move that can end in a
    friendly or hostile territory. In addition, 1 mechanized infantry unit can move along with each blitzing tank.” Pg 15

    A “Blitz” move is only IF you are moving through unoccupied hostile territory.

    A Mech Inf. can move into a friendly territory and then on his second move attack a occupied territory. He can also move through a friendly territory on his first move and take a un occupied enemy territory on his second move.

    A Mech Inf CANNOT move into a un occupied enemy territory and then make a second move into a un occupied or occupied enemy territory in less he is paired up with a ARM unit.

    The term “Blitz” is only used if a ARM or a MECH paired with a ARM enters a un occupied enemy territory on its first move. Then moves either into a occupied enemy territory, unoccupied enemy territory or friendly territory.

    Just as a reminder in regards to Blitz moves. You CANNOT blitz through a territory that has a Air Base, Naval Base or Factory in it. Also a lone AA unit will prevent a “blitz” movement even though it has a 0 defensive value, it is still considered a “unit”.

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 Official Q&A Moderator TripleA

    @madscientist:

    So in the rules about blitzing, it says that a mechanized infantry needs a tank to blitz through an enemy territory and then into another enemy territory. What if the first territory is friendly and the second territory is enemy? Does a mechanized infantry still need a tank with it if the first territory it is going through is friendly and the second one is enemy?

    No, as this would be no blitz but regular movement.

    This is the definition of “blitz” for the Mech Inf, as by the rulebook:

    @rulebook:

    Blitz: A mechanized infantry unit must normally stop when it enters an enemy controlled territory. However, when paired
    one-for-one with a tank, it can make a blitz movement (see “Tanks,” page 27) along with that tank. The movement of both
    units must start and end in the same territories.

    and for the Tank

    @rulebook:

    Blitz: Tanks can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a 2-space move that can end in a
    friendly or hostile territory. This complete move must occur during the Combat Move phase. By blitzing, the tank establishes
    control of the first territory before it moves to the next. The second territory can be friendly or hostile, or even the space the
    tank came from. A tank may not blitz through a territory that contains an enemy unit, even if the unit is an AAA (antiaircraft
    artillery), industrial complex, air base, or naval base.

  • 2021 2020 '18 '17

    Blitz is just a name for a first move “into a hostile, unoccupied territory”.  Page 27 of the pac rulebook.  Since your first move isn’t into a hostile territory, its not a blitz, Mr. Pain is correct, I believe.

Suggested Topics

  • 11
  • 89
  • 11
  • 5
  • 5
  • 11
  • 12
  • 10
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

43
Online

15.5k
Users

36.8k
Topics

1.5m
Posts