Few Questions



  • If you amphibiously assault a territory (say there was no sea battle, or there was and you cleared the hostile ships) and conduct combat, are you able to retreat those units back onto the transports or are they committed to the fight. Haven’t read anything saying they can retreat back onto the transports. Only talk about retreating to a territory from which at least one of them entered the contested territory. Well If I A.A. Manila then that doesn’t work lol.

    Also, ships may move through sea zones containing enemy submarines and transports. If you are moving a destroyer through the sea zone can you ignore the submarine or do you have to stop all ships and conduct combat? I know subs have to stop for destroyers, but does it go the other way around?
    Thanks


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Strollmasta:

    If you amphibiously assault a territory (say there was no sea battle, or there was and you cleared the hostile ships) and conduct combat, are you able to retreat those units back onto the transports or are they committed to the fight. Haven’t read anything saying they can retreat back onto the transports. Only talk about retreating to a territory from which at least one of them entered the contested territory. Well If I A.A. Manila then that doesn’t work lol.

    See:
    @rulebook:

    Keep the attacking overland units and seaborne land units
    separated on the battle strip. Attacking seaborne units can’t
    retreat.

    @Strollmasta:

    Also, ships may move through sea zones containing enemy submarines and transports. If you are moving a destroyer through the sea zone can you ignore the submarine or do you have to stop all ships and conduct combat? I know subs have to stop for destroyers, but does it go the other way around?

    No. The destroyer may ignore them.

    HTH 🙂



  • Thank you! I read that part and wasn’t sure what it was saying but it makes sense now.


  • 2018 2017

    Mr. Stroll,

    don’t forget however

    1. once all the troops carried on transports are dead, the air units or overland units that supplemented them may then retreat;  this is an exception to “all or nothing” amphibious and rewards careful casualty taking (eg you may want to lose a transported tank before you lose an overland artillery for this exact reason)

    2. subs and transports do not block movement (this is my mantra I just repeat and repeat), except that unescorted transports (unescorted by a surface ship with attack power) cant pass subs and b) killing an unescorted transport counts as combat (and blows any support shots as a result, too).


  • 2017 '16 '15

    I thought unescorted transports could pass subs. They couldn’t amphib attack if they were alone and enemy sub was present.  ?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @taamvan:

    1. …, except that unescorted transports (unescorted by a surface ship with attack power) cant pass subs …

    @barney:

    I thought unescorted transports could pass subs. They couldn’t amphib attack if they were alone and enemy sub was present.  ?

    Barney is correct.

    Of course unescorted transports may pass subs. The requirement of an escort is for offloading purposes only:

    @rulebook:

    Transports
    If a transport encounters hostile surface warships (not enemy submarines and/or transports) AFTER it begins to move (not counting the sea zone it started in), its movement for that turn ends, and it must stop there and conduct sea combat.

    However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.


  • 2018 2017

    thanks for the clarity, good point


  • Official Q&A

    @taamvan:

    1. once all the troops carried on transports are dead, the air units or overland units that supplemented them may then retreat;  this is an exception to “all or nothing” amphibious and rewards careful casualty taking (eg you may want to lose a transported tank before you lose an overland artillery for this exact reason)

    The overland and air units don’t have to wait until all of the seaborne units are dead before they can retreat.  They can retreat at the end of any combat round, but must all retreat together.



  • Appreciate all the help. Lots of great explanations and clarifications of the rules.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 3
  • 8
  • 8
  • 4
  • 7
  • 9
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

80
Online

14.2k
Users

34.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts