Thank you. I just figured it that since it was not an attack against a territory that regular combat rules wouldn’t apply. Strat bombing runs are separate aspects of the battle, so I was thinking that only russian planes should be allowed to attack, when russian factory is bombed. Not the way it was in the war so no problem, just figured it was a multinational force getting to attack my planes during the intercept phase, vs them defending. Feel more like my fighters are defending my bomber, and russia and uk get to attack my fighters/bomber is unfair. Could be looked at that the interceptors are defenders, but they’re really sent up to attack. Escorts are not sent to attack, they’re sent to defend.
Posts made by Strollmasta
RE: [House Rules] Tactical bombing raid
[House Rules] Tactical bombing raid
If Russia has U.K. Fighters in Moscow, can the U.K. Fighters act as defenders/intercepters in the strat bombing run? It’s an attack against a Russian factory, not an attack on the territory. Thanks!
Moderator’s edit: Added tag [House Rules] to title
RE: Chips colors: OOB vs HBG
Not sure what OOB is, but I got some green red and “grey” chips off amazon and the grey is really white and the green is boarding neon green and the red is more bright red than the ones from the box. We use the ones from amazon for the allies, and the darker ones for axis.
RE: Clarity of a few things.
SOrry, one more question. Say I amphib assault a territory on my turn and in the sea zone I leave 4 carriers and subs and stuff. Say I’m Germans and later US attacks my ships in that sea zone. While taking hits I decide to tip or even let go of my carriers. Rules state my planes can move one space to find safe landing. Can I land them in the zone I amphib assaulted earlier in the game? I would think so, but the counter part might say you can’t land planes in territory you took over this round. Can’t find anything in the rule book.
RE: Ditching Planes in the Sea
You cannot deliberately send air units into combat situations that place them out of range of a place to land afterward. In the
Combat Move phase, prior to rolling any battles, you must be able to demonstrate some possible way (however remote the
possibility is) for all your attacking air units to land safely that turn. This could include a combination of combat moves. It
could also include noncombat moves by a carrier or the mobilization of a new carrier.
In order to demonstrate that an air unit might have a safe landing zone, you may assume that all of your attacking rolls will
be hits, and all defending rolls will be misses. You may NOT, however, use a planned retreat of any carrier to demonstrate
a possible safe landing zone for any fighter or tactical bomber. Once possible landing spaces for all attacking air units have
been demonstrated, you have no obligation to guarantee those landing zones for air units in the course of battle. For example,
aircraft carriers may freely retreat or be taken as casualties, even if doing so leaves air units with no place to land after
combat (such air units will be destroyed at the end of the Noncombat Move phase). However, during noncombat movement
and new unit mobilization, you must provide for safe landing of as many air units as possible after all combats are resolved.
If you declared that a carrier will move during the Noncombat Move phase to provide a safe landing zone for a fighter or a
tactical bomber moved in the Combat Move phase, you must follow through and move the carrier to its planned location in
the Noncombat Move phase unless the air unit has landed safely elsewhere or has been destroyed before then, or a combat
required to clear an intervening sea zone failed to do so. Likewise, if you declared that a new carrier will be mobilized to
provide a safe landing zone for a fighter or tactical bomber, it must be mobilized in that sea zone unless the air unit has landed
safely elsewhere or has been destroyed.
I think you are playing it right unless the carrier wasn’t moved during combat. If you moved it into combat you can retreat it or turn it on its side even if it will strand your planes. If you said you’d move it there in the non combat phase then yes, you have to move it there.
Clarity of a few things.
If UK pacific rolls for research and gets some 6’s, the research is applied to both Europe and Pacific UK?
And the other thing, when doing an amphibious assault and sending in planes to attack from a carrier, do you get to roll for bombardments before the AAA guns fire on the planes? Reads that AAA guns shoot before combat occurs, but bombardments would come before any planes would ever start attacking ground troops, so I would think AAA guns would shoot after a bombardment.
Just looking for clarity.
RE: Upgraded complex
On this topic, you can build a minor complex on any territory you control at the start of your next turn as long as it is worth 2 or more IPC. However you cannot upgrade it to a major unless you controlled it from the start of the game and it is worth 3 or more IPC.
" The industrial complex to be upgraded must be located on an originally controlled (not captured) territory
that you have controlled since the beginning of your turn and that has an IPC value of 3 or higher."
If you take over normandy as america you can use that minor complex until paris is liberated, and then it belongs to France and you can’t use it as america anymore.