Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @frederick-ii

    1. They are separated. You need a transport
    2. Covered by @squirecam
    3. You are correct. If Japan does not attack the US, the US is not at war. On the US turn, the US can declare war on the Japanese. So if a mix of US and ANZAC forces were in SZ54 of Queensland, for example. The Japanese could declare war on the ANZACs and not the US, and attack the fleet. The US forces would just sit idle and watch the ANZAC fleet go down.
    4. If the Russians are not at war with the Japanese, Russian territory in the Pacific is considered neutral territory for the Allies–so no attack possible, since the Allied forces cannot get there.
      This is enforced for air units trying to land in Russia Pacific territories.
      I have never had it come up, but not sure if the TripleA engine enforces the neutrality for a British land unit in let’s say Moscow trying to move to Samara or Novorbirsk (I’m not clear where the land border is between Pacific and European Russia). But regardless the players should enforce the rule.
    5. Correct. Neutral powers do not have “friendly neutrals”. The “friendly” part is for those countries at war. If you are neutral, not at war–no invasion of other countries territory (friendly, enemy or neutral)

  • This hasn’t been used in a while but I heard this rule in a different forum and wanted corrections.

    If you do an amphibious assault and there’s no defending ships they can still scramble apparently? If so, are the transports autokill if you don’t bring any warships and if your warships get destroyed by fighters the transports just retreat right?

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @tin-can-of-the-sea said in AAG40 FAQ:

    This hasn’t been used in a while but I heard this rule in a different forum and wanted corrections.

    If you do an amphibious assault and there’s no defending ships they can still scramble apparently? If so, are the transports autokill if you don’t bring any warships and if your warships get destroyed by fighters the transports just retreat right?

    Yes, you can scramble to defend even if there are no defending naval units.

    If amphibious assault is attempted using transports with or without accompanying navy, the defender can scramble. If he does you have to resolve the naval battle first, before the assault. If there are no other units to take casualties, the transports are hit. Presumably, the attacker would then retreat any remaining units.

    I don’t know if you can legally send unescorted transports against territory defended by fighter airbase, but the only result would be a round of combat that would hit transports, and then you could retreat. No autokill.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    Although… your opponent may choose not to scramble, and the the assault would commence. Good luck with that.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    “These air units can be scrambled to help friendly units in adjacent sea zones that have come under attack. They can also be scrambled to resist amphibious assaults from adjacent sea zones, whether or not the territory being assaulted is the territory containing the air base. They may defend against the enemy ships conducting the amphibious assault even if friendly ships are not present.”


  • @surfer ohhhhhhh thanks, I read it allowed and know I see what I always missed. I kept searching the rulebook and could never find it, but now I got it

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @tin-can-of-the-sea said :

    This hasn’t been used in a while but I heard this rule in a different forum and wanted corrections.

    You have somehow dug out an outdated thread that had not been in use for more than eight years (actually the old FAQ thread of 1940 first edition). I have moved your question and the answers to the FAQ-Thread currently in use for Global 1940 Second Edition.

    This topic is stickied at the very first page of the Global 1940-category.


  • @panther okay thanks haha, this just came up as a suggested forum, I didn’t think to look for a new one


  • @Panther @Krieghund
    Assume the following:

    • USA (not at war) move destroyer to sz63 (New Zealand)
    • UK & ANZAC declare war to Japan on round 2.
    • Round 3: Japan captures New Zealand.

    Question: Can any US ship now (=round 3, USA still not at war) stay in sz63, i.e. block Japan from loading troops in round 4?

    Thanks in advance for clarification.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @pacifiersboard
    From the rulebook, page 37:
    “However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase. This is an exception to the rules for declaring war (see “Declaring War,” page 11), which may normally be done only at the beginning of the Combat Move phase.”

    Now, to block Japan from loading units from NZ in round 4, USA needs to declare war on Japan in round 3, following the above quote.

    In case USA does not DOW on Japan in round 3, US and Japanese ships share seazone 63 as “Powers not at war with One Another” (page 14).


  • @panther
    Thanks a lot for quick reply! So the movement restriction for US ships is only referring to adjacent ORIGINAL Japanese territories, right?

  • Official Q&A

    @pacifiersboard

    No, it applies to all Japanese-controlled territories. However, New Zealand was not Japanese-controlled when the destroyer ended its movement there. It can remain there indefinitely, but if it moves away it may not return.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    I’m playing a G40 game and have the following scenario that I would like a ruling on:
    Japanese fleet (many ships + transports) in SZ19. On the US turn it non-combat moves a sub into SZ19.

    On the Japanese turn, for the combat phase I move away several ships + transports and a DD + planes sink the sub.

    My opponent @sovietishcat believes I cannot move the transport out of the area unless it is actively involved in an amphibious assault that turn because that would be a non-combat move for the transport, and Triple-A does not accurately enforce that rule.

    While I agree that the transport cannot move troops this turn because they would need to be off-loaded during non-combat, I do not see why I cannot move the transport out of the combat zone during the combat phase…which ends the transport’s movement for that turn. Avoiding combat is still a legal combat-phase move, right?

    If @sovietishcat is right, does this “rule” apply to the combat ships as well? i.e., all the ships have to remain in SZ19 if I want to sink the sub, or if I want to move any of them, then the sub lives.

  • Official Q&A

    @surfer You are correct, and your opponent is incorrect.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @krieghund Thank you for the clarification and quick reply!!

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @surfer You are correct, and your opponent is incorrect.

    I want to object and have it explained further.
    The situation is this, that @surfer starts in a hostile sz and has to choose to either fight the Sub or ignore it and take Convoy dmg if the sz contains a convoy box.
    However, the TT can’t load units unless it declares a Amphib assault elsewhere.
    Since surfer did not amphib elsewhere, he can either:

    a.) Move out with the TT and as many Ships he want and combat the Sub w. the remaining Ships (as long as a DD is also present).

    b.) Do Combat the Sub with all Ships and the TT, the TT move ends

    c.) Move out w. TT, load Troops and come back and conduct amhip assault in that seazone or elsewhere

    This is a so called Sub Hack. @sovietishcat and i perform this occasionally.
    It is a mix from page 9&12 of the European Rulebook.

    Kriegshund, your call.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @aequitas-et-veritas said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    The situation is this, that @surfer starts in a hostile sz

    More specifically, it is not a hostile SZ because it contains no enemy surface warships.

    Eur rules, p8: “Sea zones are either friendly or hostile. Friendly sea zones contain no surface warships (this doesn’t include
    submarines and transports) belonging to a power with which you are at war. Hostile sea zones contain surface warships
    belonging to a power with which you are at war.”

    Perhaps there needs to be errata issued then.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @simon33 yupp it does. Thank you for correcting my error.
    Either way the sub hack is basically a decission to make on the opponent to attack or not attack the Sub i n this sz with the following effects on it-

  • Official Q&A

    @simon33 @aequitas-et-veritas From the FAQ:

    Q. If some of my units begin my turn in a sea zone with enemy submarines and/or transports and I decide to attack them, can I move some or all of my units out of the sea zone in combat movement to avoid having them participate in the combat?
    A. Yes. Even though the sea zone is not hostile (it contains no enemy surface warships), you can still move units from the sea zone in combat movement to escape combat if you’re attacking there. However, you must still respect the rules for moving units in the Combat Move phase to escape combat.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @krieghund good answer but only partially filled.

  • '19

    But then the tt cannot do anything else afterwards? Ie if I move my tt out of the sea zone, I cannot load it with units and lets say activate a Pro allies or pro axis territory.

  • '19

    or load units and leave the sea zone ( not doing a amphibious assault), because you are doing a non combat move in a combat move phase.

  • Official Q&A

    @aequitas-et-veritas said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @krieghund good answer but only partially filled.

    “Partially filled”?

  • Official Q&A

    @sovietishcat said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    But then the tt cannot do anything else afterwards? Ie if I move my tt out of the sea zone, I cannot load it with units and lets say activate a Pro allies or pro axis territory.

    or load units and leave the sea zone ( not doing a amphibious assault), because you are doing a non combat move in a combat move phase.

    No. The only way units may be loaded and/or offloaded during combat movement is for an amphibious assault.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @krieghund Thank you, this is what we have waited for.

    Now it is filled! 😀

    The Sub hack prevents the opponent from load and offloading accordingly and hinders it. Yes you can amphib and therefor load and off load, but you can’t use the involved TT for offloading normaly, and that is what this was all about.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

31
Online

16.0k
Users

37.6k
Topics

1.6m
Posts