Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)



  • Can a Soviet Mech Infantry in Caucasus activate both North West Persia and Persia in the same move?
    Can a Tank?



  • You can’t Blitz a neutral and you have to end your move there.

    See Page 10, A&A Europe 1940 rule book.



  • ผลบอลสดตลอด24ชั่วโมง


  • TripleA

    china can’t attack french indo china with a fighter can he?


  • 2016

    The China rules state that their fighter is under the same restrictions as their land units.
    The fighter cannot move into territories that China is not allowed to move into.
    Not even for an attack that’s intended for the fighter to land into Chinese territory afterward.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    I only now became aware of the existence of this thread!  Would have been nice if you had posted something to that effect in the previous FAQ thread, IL.


  • '12

    Just checked through the whole thread and I saw a question similar to this, but not quite answered.

    If either Germany or Italy, but not both, declares war on the USSR and on the next Russian turn, the Russians have the ability to attack a territory owned by the power they are at war with, but is occupied with units belonging to both Germany and Italy, are they allowed to make the attack?  If so, do both the Axis players defend, which allows the Russians to kill units belonging to a power they are not at war with?  These cases are covered pretty well for situations at sea, but not on land.  I’m not interested in why this situation would be allowed to occur (clearly the Russians would just solve everything by issuing a DoW on the other power), just do the rules allow for this to be possible and if so, what happens.



  • @Eqqman:

    Just checked through the whole thread and I saw a question similar to this, but not quite answered.

    If either Germany or Italy, but not both, declares war on the USSR and on the next Russian turn, the Russians have the ability to attack a territory owned by the power they are at war with, but is occupied with units belonging to both Germany and Italy, are they allowed to make the attack?  If so, do both the Axis players defend, which allows the Russians to kill units belonging to a power they are not at war with?  These cases are covered pretty well for situations at sea, but not on land.  I’m not interested in why this situation would be allowed to occur (clearly the Russians would just solve everything by issuing a DoW on the other power), just do the rules allow for this to be possible and if so, what happens.

    The only attacks where units belonging to a potential defending power are going to be in naval combat as seazones aren’t controlled, only occupied.  That’s why units at war with each other can occupy the same seazone under various instances.

    Territory combat is different: all units defend in a territory, and you cannot attack a territory that contains a unit belonging to a power that you’re not at war with, even if there are other units there that you are at war with.


  • '12

    @kcdzim:

    Territory combat is different: all units defend in a territory, and you cannot attack a territory that contains a unit belonging to a power that you’re not at war with, even if there are other units there that you are at war with.

    I don’t see anything in the rules that says this would be the case.  A hostile territory is defined as being owned by a power with which you are at war.  The definition of combat movement says I can move into any hostile territory.  I can’t find any exceptions for hostile territory being co-occupied by neutral powers, which is why I am asking.



  • @Eqqman:

    @kcdzim:

    Territory combat is different: all units defend in a territory, and you cannot attack a territory that contains a unit belonging to a power that you’re not at war with, even if there are other units there that you are at war with.

    I don’t see anything in the rules that says this would be the case.  A hostile territory is defined as being owned by a power with which you are at war.  The definition of combat movement says I can move into any hostile territory.  I can’t find any exceptions for hostile territory being co-occupied by neutral powers, which is why I am asking.

    Axis and Allies Pacific page 18 sidebar.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    2nd edition Europe manual page 15 sidebar, first sentence under “combat”
    “a power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war.”

    It is also on page 15 of the “1st edition” Europe manual.



  • Does that include SBR?  For instance, if Japan is not at war with UK, can they SBR moscow if there is a British fighter there or must they declare war first?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Well, an SBR is an attack…



  • OK thought so, just checking



  • Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?

    I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.

    Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.


  • 2016

    @orania:

    Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?

    I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.

    Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.

    Yes, it’s legal. As long as the attacked SZ is cleared (or only has submarines and/or transports ) ships that didn’t move during combat movement can NCM into and/or through this SZ.



  • @orania:

    Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?

    I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.

    Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.

    Yes absolutely.  You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.



  • @kcdzim:

    Yes absolutely.  You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.

    Ground units too? So i can move a tank trough a newly conquered territory? Of fortify a territory i just conquered?



  • @orania:

    @kcdzim:

    Yes absolutely. � You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.

    Ground units too? So i can move a tank trough a newly conquered territory? Of fortify a territory i just conquered?

    absolutely.  Which can be used very strategically, for example holding holding mech or tanks back from attacking so that they can drive through to reach another newly conquered territory that they couldn’t reach before.  This is a common move in A&A50 with Germany’s first turn, leaving tanks out of the combat in poland so that they can drive thru the baltic states to reinforce a newly captured karelia during the noncom of G1.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yeah, I was surprised when I found that out, too, orania (couple years ago on this site)
    They’re telling you right



  • Two questions:
    First why do some territories in Canada have a Canadian symbol instead of a British symbol? Canada isn’t a power in the game and the UK controls them.
    Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking)


  • Official Answers

    @stroutqb22:

    First why do some territories in Canada have a Canadian symbol instead of a British symbol? Canada isn’t a power in the game and the UK controls them.

    Those emblems are there simply to honor Canada’s contribution to the Allied war effort.  They have no significance in actual game play.

    @stroutqb22:

    Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking)

    The Chinese territories controlled by Japan at the beginning of the game have Chinese emblems printed on them, so there is no need to use control markers to indicate Chinese control - just remove the Japanese ones.  The only territories that will ever require the use of a Chinese control marker are Burma and Kwangtung, and then only if China captures them from the Axis while India is Axis-held.  As a result, five Chinese control markers are plenty.



  • @Krieghund:

    Those emblems are there simply to honor Canada’s contribution to the Allied war effort.  They have no significance in actual game play.

    Here, Here.


  • Customizer

    @stroutqb22:

    Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking)

    If you really want more Chinese control markers, you could get them at HBG. He has a lot of National control markers available in sheets of 20 and they are good thick ones like used in the 1940 games. He even has some for nations that aren’t represented in the 1940 games (Romania, Hungary, Dutch, Spain, Communist China, etc.) in case you want to try out the 1939 varient.
    On occasion, we like to try out some weird varient where China can go outside of it’s own borders, so we then need more Chinese markers.



  • National objective IPC bonuses for the United States.  In global, does the United States continue to get the 40 IPC bonus for going to war that it gets in “Pacific” as a stand-alone.  Without that bonus, it seems like it would get insufficient IPCs to balance out the IPCs that the axis powers are likely to have by that point. I know that there are “new” bonuses in the “Global” variant as stated in the Europe 1940 rules, but I am wondering of the United States would get that additional 40 point boost from the pacific game.

    Thanks!


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 13
  • 9
  • 17
  • 37
  • 3
  • 2
  • 10
I Will Never Grow Up Games

55
Online

13.3k
Users

33.6k
Topics

1.3m
Posts