@Krieghund:
No. There are no “declarations of war” in this game. The US is only brought into the war before its fourth turn if a hostile act (as detailed in the rules) is committed against it. Unlike a sea attack, an amphibious assault must be announced during the movement phase.
OK if US is still neutral, when would you announce the amphib? At the beginning of the movement phase (before you move any units), or “during” the movement phase as you get into position next to the land?
How would it work if the neutral US has a cruiser in sz 2, but has no surface war ships in sz1 (next to coast). Could I move my German transport from sz 7 past the neutral US cruiser, and then announce my intentions to do an amphib as I get to the coast (would still technically be in the movement phase). I would think this wouldn’t be allowed as all movement is considered at the same time, but how can you announce an amphib before you get to the adjacent sz?
The amphib rules go into detail about clearing the sz of enemy surface war ships when it is adjacent to the land battle. Just saying if their mines aren’t active for the amphib, why would the cruiser in sz 2 be hostel if it starts the turn neutral and isn’t attacked.