G4013L Karl7(Axis) v. Gamerman (Allies)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Forgot that no was still toggled  :?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Off to bed


  • You illegally bombarded twice in Norway, but you got 3 hits so it’s OK

    You only offloaded one unit from transports, so you can’t bombard with 2 ships.


  • W-ell….

    I GUESS it’s OK.  After all, you had the benefit of thinking you had the extra bombardment, and we know in hind-sight that it didn’t matter.

    Perhaps a re-roll would be appropriate, but I won’t insist.  Let your conscience be your guide.


  • Rather than a re-roll, I would be satisfied if you removed 1 infantry from Norway.


  • I mean, because a re-roll could be disastrous for you.
    Of course, it could also mean another cwol.  Your choice.


  • Would be wiser to take Iraq with UK, it seems.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    THat bombard rules gets me every time…

    as for the battle, I would say its fine because the BB would have been the bombard in any event and the inf hit.  Further both the 3 power dice rolled would have been hits for the BB anyway so it would not have mattered if I rolled 1 less dice.  At least that’s how I see it….


  • @Gamerman01:

    After all, you had the benefit of thinking you had the extra bombardment, and we know in hind-sight that it didn’t matter.

    I don’t think you understood what I’m saying.

    You didn’t know what your dice would be when you set up the battle.  You had the benefit of thinking you had an extra cruiser.  If you had remembered the rule, you might have brought more into Norway.  Maybe not, but you can’t prove it.  You’re looking at the dice in hindsight, as I did at first.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Ture about extra cruiser.

    So, what do you want to do?  While this battle is not a super huge deal, we should probably agree to some rule so any future occurrences can be predictably dealt with.  Mr. Green and I had a rule (that I guess was common) that for extra dice rolled you simply subtract the extra rolled dice from right to left in the bracket containing the extra die. Obviously that would help me here, but that was how we did it.  I think keeping as many dice rolled is preferable as to rerolling entire thing.  Seems to me danger for both of us would be one of us would get terrible dice say and then see we rolled and extra die and then claim to get a redo or something.

    As rules deputy, I leave it to you decide.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Oh, and I get that obviously rolling more than you should increases the chances of getting a preferred number.  But then rerolling altogether gives you a whopping 50% you’ll do better than you did.

    Also, without the cruiser I don’t think I would have put anything more into the battle anyway.


  • Right, that’s what I said about re-rolling.
    I understand the whole subtract dice from right to left thing and keeping dice rolled.
    The issue here is that you thought you had more firepower than you did.  It wasn’t a typo in rolling the dice.

    For all I know, if you were aware you didn’t have the extra cruiser, you would have siphoned off one of the aircraft from Karelia to Norway, and hit me once less, and I might have hit you again in round 2 in Karelia, and a forward infantry would be dead.  If we were playing face to face, I would have stopped you immediately, before you rolled dice.  I think I would have grounds for demanding that you re-do your entire round.  I’m certainly not going to ask that you do any such thing, but my point is the combat move was illegal and simply looking back and saying you got an extra hit anyway, is beside the point.

    I think you should take one infantry off of Norway.  It will make very little difference in the game - it’s just the principle of the thing, and as you can tell, it’s significant to me.

    It just sets the wrong precedence (even though this is probably our last game for a year because of league rules).
    If I make an illegal combat move (extend the range of a bunch of fighters, for example), and then the dice go great for me, you could argue that I wouldn’t have made the (hypothetical) attack at all had I not been trusting in phantom fighters.  You would not allow me to merely subtract some meaningless dice (extra hits) and have the same result.  I was trusting in phantom fighters.

    You were trusting in a phantom cruiser.
    I’m not writing all this because I really want one nearly insignificant infantry dead.  I’m writing all this because of the principle of the thing - it’s just bad form.

    So unless you protest, I think we should delete one infantry from Norway to settle the mistake.

    As you know, I have been catching many mistakes by you, and some of them benefit you.  I think this dude in Norway is a small price to pay.


  • @Karl7:

    Oh, and I get that obviously rolling more than you should increases the chances of getting a preferred number.  But then rerolling altogether gives you a whopping 50% you’ll do better than you did.

    I know, that’s why I said last night that we probably shouldn’t re-roll - just delete 1 infantry.

    Also, without the cruiser I don’t think I would have put anything more into the battle anyway.

    But we don’t know that.


  • I have to get a cavity fixed in a half hour.
    Maybe R3 later today

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    I acknowledgement of you integrity as a player and your correcting of my errors I will gladly remove an inf from nor.

    So you don’t play with the remove 1 die from the right?

    Just for fun I am going to reroll my attack to see what happend:

    DiceRolls: 2@1 1@3 1@4; Total Hits: 02@1: (4, 6)1@3: (5)1@4: (5)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    ok so I would have missed all… ouch!

    for fun lets see what r2 would have been:

    A
    DiceRolls: 2@1 1@3 1@4; Total Hits: 22@1: (1, 6)1@3: (3)1@4: (6)
    D
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (2, 5)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    look like inf of was just anyway  :lol:


  • @Karl7:

    I acknowledgement of you integrity as a player and your correcting of my errors I will gladly remove an inf from nor.

    Thank you.

    So you don’t play with the remove 1 die from the right?

    I do, but only when too many dice were rolled by accident (a typo).  The difference is, you thought you had more firepower than you actually did.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    I guess I can live with Typo v thinking more fire power than you had – although that distinction could get messy, but good enough.


  • Nah, not messy at all - you can see clearly in the combat moves.

    If something’s there illegally, and the player rolls everything, it ain’t a typo.

Suggested Topics

  • 105
  • 51
  • 84
  • 378
  • 138
  • 93
  • 118
  • 185
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

32

Online

17.9k

Users

40.6k

Topics

1.8m

Posts