• Founder TripleA Admin

I’m getting very intrigued by all of these great 3D printing projects listed here in the Customizer forums. For those of you with 3D printers do you have recommendations for which equipment to buy? What about the plastic, do you need anything special for printing small game pieces?

Feel free to post links to Amazon, eBay, or whatever other site. I’ll go in an make them affiliate links after.

• 2024 2023 '22 '21 '18 Customizer

@djensen I’m an engineer in the industrial 3D printer business, which is a bit of a different beast (size of a small car) than a desktop or hobbyist printer (size of a microwave; $250K+ vs ~$1k). I think most people here would do just fine buying prints from Shapeways (who have the funds to buy and use my company’s monster hardware or similar).

While there are fun things you can do in the >50k range that are just not possible on consumer hardware (small scales, huge batches, metals, color, support-free undercuts, better materials, etc), you can definitely design for desktop printers with a little extra effort, and still turn out nice things. What makes it hard is the smallness of A&A pieces and fine details. There’s a reason why HBG is one of the few players in aftermarket A&A pieces: in the past you’ve needed injection-molding tooling to get A&A-type resolution and fine detail on a plastic bit that small, and injection-molding tooling is spendy ($10k and up). You also have to coordinate and pay up-front for batched production runs, then manage and plan inventory levels with precision… I mean, one has only to look at the typical complaints leveled against HBG to know this can be a fraught business. No shortcuts.

Industrial 3D printing is finally disrupting this market (or, at least, my company hopes that it is) but competing with injection molding on level footing is going to be restricted to the big machines with similar pricepoints for some time, unless some great leaps forward occur in the desktop space.