Problems running 1.9.0.0.12226 with Win7 32bit


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    The latest stable is 1.9.0.0.12226

    Get it here: https://triplea-game.org/download/

    I downloaded this and installed it okay but everytime I click the icon to open triple A nothing happens.  Any thoughts as to the problem?  I am using windows 7 32 bit.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    @P@nther:

    The latest stable is 1.9.0.0.12226

    Get it here: https://triplea-game.org/download/

    I downloaded this and installed it okay but everytime I click the icon to open triple A nothing happens.  Any thoughts as to the problem?  I am using windows 7 32 bit.

    Which TripleA version did you update from? Do you still have it installed?
    Which is the exact Java version you are running?


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    @majikforce:

    @P@nther:

    The latest stable is 1.9.0.0.12226

    Get it here: https://triplea-game.org/download/

    I downloaded this and installed it okay but everytime I click the icon to open triple A nothing happens.  Any thoughts as to the problem?  I am using windows 7 32 bit.

    Which TripleA version did you update from? Do you still have it installed?
    Which is the exact Java version you are running?

    I updated from version 1.9.0.0.7378
    That is currently the only version I have installed at the moment
    Java is version 7 update 67 (build 1.7.0_67-b01)


  • 2019 2017 2016

    I think you need Java 8. Apparently Java 7 still works with some older versions of TripleA.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    Java is version 7 update 67 (build 1.7.0_67-b01)

    Indeed, you need Java 8.

    Get the latest Java 8 update from

    https://java.com/download/


  • 2016

    I updated to java 8.  Still a no go.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    I updated to java 8.  Still a no go.

    Have you completely removed all old Java installations before installing Java 8?

    I suspect you still have an old Java installed somewhere on your system.

    Please check in Control Panel - Software if there is an older version and if yes please remove it.

    Also please check whether there is a “i4j_jres” directory in the c:\program files\common files\ path,

    such as

    c:\program files\common files\i4j_jres\1.7.whatever

    If yes please manually delete the “i4j_jres” folder including its subfolder(s).

    Try again.

    Please report back.


  • 2016

    Removed all old versions of Java.  Still having the same issue.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    Removed all old versions of Java.  Still having the same issue.

    Has there been a “i4j_jres” directory in c:\program files\common files\ that you have deleted, too? Please indicate.

    To be sure there is no further interference please remove the Java 8 installation, too, using the Control Panel and then perform a clean reinstall.
    Just to be 100% sure and not to overlook anything - you installed the 32bit version of as well TripleA as Java?

    Also do you have a file called “error.log” in your triplea-installation directory?
    If yes please rename it to error.txt and attach it here.

    Also when updating TripleA - have you removed the old TripleA before installing the new one?
    Did you install into the same directory or into a new one?


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    @majikforce:

    Removed all old versions of Java.  Still having the same issue.

    Has there been a “i4j_jres” directory in c:\program files\common files\ that you have deleted, too? Please indicate. There was one that I deleted when I cleaned out all of version 7.  Re-installed version 8 and that folder does not exist

    To be sure there is no further interference please remove the Java 8 installation, too, using the Control Panel and then perform a clean reinstall.
    Just to be 100% sure and not to overlook anything - you installed the 32bit version of as well TripleA as Java? Yes

    Also do you have a file called “error.log” in your triplea-installation directory? No
    If yes please rename it to error.txt and attach it here.

    Also when updating TripleA - have you removed the old TripleA before installing the new one?yes
    Did you install into the same directory or into a new one?new


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Looks good.

    I see you have continued your games. So TripleA runs fine for you now?

    Please indicate whether further activities are needed.


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    Looks good.

    I see you have continued your games. So TripleA runs fine for you now?

    Please indicate whether further activities are needed.

    I still can’t use the new version of triple A.  I am using the old one for now.  My initial problem occurred when I started a game with Simon and the dice roller would not work with his game.  It was fine for all my other games.  So he suggested I update triple A to the newest build.  That’s when the problem started where I could not start the program.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Ok, the dice server issue is caused by a change from http to https during the development process.

    But it is strange that you still can’t start the latest stable. So we have to further investigate.

    Please do the following using the older version (as you can’t start the newer one):

    • Start TripleA
    • Now start a game (any)
    • When the game has started find the Menu Debug and then click Show Console
    • When the Console has opened, click the button Properties
    • Then click Copy to Clipboard
    • Paste in this thread

    Concerning the new version:
    How do you start TripleA? Doubleclicking the desktop icon?
    Please try to start TripleA from within the game-installation folder. Just doubleclick the included TripleA.exe. What happens?
    In case this does not work, please browse into the “bin” folder and doubleclick on the included *.jar file. What happens?
    It can take some time until the program opens.

    Also please indicate how much RAM your system is working with.


  • 2016

    triplea.engine.version.bin:1.9
    Loading map: world_war_ii_global, from: C:\Users\Jason and Allyson\triplea\downloadedMaps\world_war_ii_global.zip
    Loading resources from the following paths: [C:\Users\Jason and Allyson\triplea\downloadedMaps\world_war_ii_global.zip, C:\Program Files\TripleA\assets]
    Loading map: world_war_ii_global, from: C:\Users\Jason and Allyson\triplea\downloadedMaps\world_war_ii_global.zip
    Loading resources from the following paths: [C:\Users\Jason and Allyson\triplea\downloadedMaps\world_war_ii_global.zip, C:\Program Files\TripleA\assets]
    Heap utilization statistics [MB]
    Used Memory: 87
    Free memory: 902
    Total memory: 989
    Max memory: 989
    SYSTEM PROPERTIES
    awt.toolkit sun.awt.windows.WToolkit
    exe4j.consoleCodepage cp0
    exe4j.isInstall4j true
    exe4j.launchName C:\Program Files\TripleA\TripleA.exe
    exe4j.moduleName C:\Program Files\TripleA\TripleA.exe
    exe4j.semaphoreName Local\c:_program_files_triplea_triplea.exe0
    exe4j.tempDir
    exe4j.unextractedPosition 0
    file.encoding Cp1252
    file.encoding.pkg sun.io
    file.separator
    install4j.appDir C:\Program Files\TripleA
    install4j.exeDir C:\Program Files\TripleA
    install4j.launcherId 33
    install4j.swt false
    java.awt.graphicsenv sun.awt.Win32GraphicsEnvironment
    java.awt.printerjob sun.awt.windows.WPrinterJob
    java.class.path C:\Program Files\TripleA.install4j\i4jruntime.jar;C:\Program Files\TripleA.\bin\triplea.jar
    java.class.version 52.0
    java.endorsed.dirs c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\endorsed
    java.ext.dirs c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\ext;C:\Windows\Sun\Java\lib\ext
    java.home c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181
    java.io.tmpdir C:\Users\JASONA~1\AppData\Local\Temp
    java.library.path C:\Program Files\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\C:\Windows\System32;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\bin
    java.runtime.name Java™ SE Runtime Environment
    java.runtime.version 1.8.0_181-b13
    java.specification.name Java Platform API Specification
    java.specification.vendor Oracle Corporation
    java.specification.version 1.8
    java.vendor Oracle Corporation
    java.vendor.url http://java.oracle.com/
    java.vendor.url.bug http://bugreport.sun.com/bugreport/
    java.version 1.8.0_181
    java.vm.info mixed mode
    java.vm.name Java HotSpot™ Client VM
    java.vm.specification.name Java Virtual Machine Specification
    java.vm.specification.vendor Oracle Corporation
    java.vm.specification.version 1.8
    java.vm.vendor Oracle Corporation
    java.vm.version 25.181-b13
    line.separator

    os.arch x86
    os.name Windows 7
    os.version 6.1
    path.separator ;
    sun.arch.data.model 32
    sun.awt.enableExtraMouseButtons true
    sun.awt.exception.handler games.strategy.triplea.ui.ErrorHandler
    sun.boot.class.path c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\resources.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\rt.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\sunrsasign.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\jsse.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\jce.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\charsets.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\lib\jfr.jar;c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\classes
    sun.boot.library.path c:\program files\java\jre1.8.0_181\bin
    sun.cpu.endian little
    sun.cpu.isalist pentium_pro+mmx pentium_pro pentium+mmx pentium i486 i386 i86
    sun.desktop windows
    sun.io.unicode.encoding UnicodeLittle
    sun.java.command C:\Program Files\TripleA\TripleA.exe
    sun.jnu.encoding Cp1252
    sun.management.compiler HotSpot Client Compiler
    sun.os.patch.level Service Pack 1
    triplea.engine.version.bin 1.9
    user.country US
    user.dir C:\Program Files\TripleA
    user.home C:\Users\Jason and Allyson
    user.language en
    user.name Jason and Allyson
    user.script
    user.timezone America/New_York
    user.variant


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    Concerning the new version:
    How do you start TripleA? Doubleclicking the desktop icon? Yes
    Please try to start TripleA from within the game-installation folder. Just doubleclick the included TripleA.exe. What happens? There isn’t one.  I attached a screenshot of the contents of the folder
    In case this does not work, please browse into the “bin” folder and doubleclick on the included *.jar file. What happens?
    It can take some time until the program opens. This works.  Game opens

    Also please indicate how much RAM your system is working with.  Not sure were to find this

    Triple A folder.PNG


  • 2016

    Also got this error in the middle of a turn.

    Oct 14, 2018 11:14:55 PM games.strategy.engine.framework.GameRunner lambda$start$0
    SEVERE: Java heap space
    java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
    at java.awt.image.DataBufferByte.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.ComponentSampleModel.createDataBuffer(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.Raster.createWritableRaster(Unknown Source)
    at javax.imageio.ImageTypeSpecifier.createBufferedImage(Unknown Source)
    at javax.imageio.ImageReader.getDestination(Unknown Source)
    at com.sun.imageio.plugins.png.PNGImageReader.readImage(Unknown Source)
    at com.sun.imageio.plugins.png.PNGImageReader.read(Unknown Source)
    at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(Unknown Source)
    at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(Unknown Source)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadUnblendedImage(TileImageFactory.java:284)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadImage(TileImageFactory.java:207)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getImage(TileImageFactory.java:168)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getBaseTile(TileImageFactory.java:140)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.BaseMapDrawable.getImage(BaseMapDrawable.java:31)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.MapTileDrawable.draw(MapTileDrawable.java:40)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.Tile.draw(Tile.java:106)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.Tile.getImage(Tile.java:71)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.MapPanel.lambda$paint$7(MapPanel.java:625)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.MapPanel$Lambda$1127/13604130.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

    Oct 14, 2018 11:14:57 PM games.strategy.engine.message.unifiedmessenger.UnifiedMessenger invoke
    WARNING: Java heap space
    java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
    at java.awt.image.DataBufferInt.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.Raster.createPackedRaster(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.DirectColorModel.createCompatibleWritableRaster(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.BufferedImage.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.loops.GraphicsPrimitive.convertFrom(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.loops.GraphicsPrimitive.convertFrom(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.loops.MaskBlit$General.MaskBlit(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.loops.Blit$GeneralMaskBlit.Blit(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.pipe.DrawImage.blitSurfaceData(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.pipe.DrawImage.renderImageCopy(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.pipe.DrawImage.copyImage(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.pipe.DrawImage.copyImage(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.pipe.ValidatePipe.copyImage(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.SunGraphics2D.drawImage(Unknown Source)
    at sun.java2d.SunGraphics2D.drawImage(Unknown Source)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadUnblendedImage(TileImageFactory.java:300)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadImage(TileImageFactory.java:207)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getImage(TileImageFactory.java:168)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getBaseTile(TileImageFactory.java:140)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.BaseMapDrawable.getImage(BaseMapDrawable.java:31)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.MapTileDrawable.draw(MapTileDrawable.java:40)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.TileManager.drawForCreate(TileManager.java:498)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.TileManager.createTerritoryImage(TileManager.java:444)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.TileManager.createTerritoryImage(TileManager.java:375)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.MapPanel.getTerritoryImage(MapPanel.java:693)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattleDisplay.getTerritoryComponent(BattleDisplay.java:629)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattleDisplay.initLayout(BattleDisplay.java:530)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattleDisplay.<init>(BattleDisplay.java:143)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattlePanel.lambda$showBattle$6(BattlePanel.java:220)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattlePanel$Lambda$1592/8259127.run(Unknown Source)
    at games.strategy.ui.SwingAction.lambda$invokeAndWait$0(SwingAction.java:86)
    at games.strategy.ui.SwingAction$Lambda$7/23703675.get(Unknown Source)

    Oct 14, 2018 11:14:56 PM games.strategy.engine.framework.GameRunner lambda$start$0
    SEVERE: Java heap space
    java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
    at java.awt.image.DataBufferByte.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.Raster.createInterleavedRaster(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.image.BufferedImage.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at games.strategy.ui.Util.createImage(Util.java:60)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadUnblendedImage(TileImageFactory.java:293)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.loadImage(TileImageFactory.java:207)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getImage(TileImageFactory.java:168)
    at games.strategy.triplea.image.TileImageFactory.getReliefTile(TileImageFactory.java:173)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.ReliefMapDrawable.getImage(ReliefMapDrawable.java:35)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.drawable.MapTileDrawable.draw(MapTileDrawable.java:40)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.Tile.draw(Tile.java:106)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.screen.Tile.getImage(Tile.java:71)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.MapPanel.lambda$paint$7(MapPanel.java:625)
    at games.strategy.triplea.ui.MapPanel$Lambda$1127/13604130.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

    Oct 14, 2018 11:15:23 PM games.strategy.triplea.ui.BattlePanel ensureBattleIsDisplayed
    SEVERE: battle not displayed, looking for:GUID:69219d1fc4bfee4d:-d7bfe77:16675825557:-8000:3861 showing:null</init></init></init></init></init></init>


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @majikforce:

    @P@nther:

    Also please indicate how much RAM your system is working with.  Not sure were to find this

    If I remember rightly, on Windows you can right click “My Computer” -> Properties -> System tab.

    Sounds like P@nther might be on to something if you’re getting a heap space error.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    @P@nther:

    Concerning the new version:
    How do you start TripleA? Doubleclicking the desktop icon? Yes
    Please try to start TripleA from within the game-installation folder. Just doubleclick the included TripleA.exe. What happens? There isn’t one.� I attached a screenshot of the contents of the folder
    In case this does not work, please browse into the “bin” folder and doubleclick on the included *.jar file. What happens?
    It can take some time until the program opens. This works.� Game opens

    Also please indicate how much RAM your system is working with.� Not sure were to find this

    It looks like Java is installed correctly.
    Executing the *.jar works, so this is fine.

    Actually there is a triplea.exe . See the image you attached: There is a (highlighted) file “TripleA” (Application). This actually is the TripleA.exe. Your system is configured not to show files extensions (such as .exe). This is why you don’t see the extension.

    Please doubleclick the file  TripleA(.exe) and report what happens.

    Your installed RAM shows when clicking “System” in the “Control Panel”.

    The error you posted afterwards might be caused by incompatibilities and/or a memory issue. I suspect it is related.

    So please identify the amount of RAM and then try to execute (doubleclick) the triplea.exe inside the installation folder.

    We move on from there, then.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @simon33:

    Sounds like P@nther might be on to something if you’re getting a heap space error.

    Indeed, I suspect that there might be a memory issue. There might be not enough RAM available for flawlessly running the latest TripleA on Java 8 with its (enhanced) default xmx, xms settings. So we most likely have to tweak that for majikforce’s installation.

    But let’s see before what he answers.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce

    Already night here, so I will be off for the next about 10-12 hours.
    To enable you to try out something more during the next hours, here is my next idea:

    I expect that executing the triplea.exe will not work flawlessly.
    I also expect that your RAM is less than 4 GB, maybe only 2 GB.

    This is what you can try next:

    In the TripleA installation folder you will find a file called “TripleA.vmoptions”

    Please open this file in any editor.
    You will notice, that there are only two lines inside:

    
    -Xmx2G
    -Xms2G
    
    

    Please edit this so that it reads

    
    -Xmx1G
    -Xms1G
    
    

    Save the file then. Be sure that the filename does not change when saving.

    Execute the triplea.exe again, after that.

    In case it still does not work, you can try

    
    -Xmx512M
    -Xms512M
    
    

    Try it again then.

    Good luck 🙂


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Even if he only has 2GB, you’d think that Virtual Memory would make it possible to work.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @simon33:

    Even if he only has 2GB, you’d think that Virtual Memory would make it possible to work.

    Yes, you’d think. But I remember other users’ cases where this approach resolved the issue.
    Just an idea, so let’s wait and see…

    At least I read from
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/14763079/what-are-the-xms-and-xmx-parameters-when-starting-jvms
    that an Out-of-memory-error is likely “when memory usage exceeds beyond Xmx”.


  • 2016

    Please doubleclick the file  TripleA(.exe) and report what happens.  the triple A logo flashes onscreen for a split second then nothing else happens

    Your installed RAM shows when clicking “System” in the “Control Panel”. 3GB (2.86GB usable)


  • 2016

    @P@nther:

    @majikforce

    Already night here, so I will be off for the next about 10-12 hours.
    To enable you to try out something more during the next hours, here is my next idea:

    I expect that executing the triplea.exe will not work flawlessly.
    I also expect that your RAM is less than 4 GB, maybe only 2 GB.

    This is what you can try next:

    In the TripleA installation folder you will find a file called “TripleA.vmoptions”

    Please open this file in any editor.
    You will notice, that there are only two lines inside:

    
    -Xmx2G
    -Xms2G
    
    

    Please edit this so that it reads

    
    -Xmx1G
    -Xms1G
    
    

    Save the file then. Be sure that the filename does not change when saving.

    Execute the triplea.exe again, after that. Opened the file with notepad and changed it to Xms1G but when I go to save it it asks if I want to overwrite TripleA.vmoptions.  I click yes and it tells me access is denied.

    In case it still does not work, you can try

    
    -Xmx512M
    -Xms512M
    
    

    Try it again then.

    Good luck 🙂


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Do you get the same problems when nothing else is running? 3GB should be enough to run Triple A. I can’t remember how to check virtual memory on Windows but it shouldn’t matter really.

    Sounds like you need admin privileges to edit that file. I think you can right click and get an option “run as a different user”. BTW, I wouldn’t reduce the maximum memory so significantly to 1G, just reduce the minimum.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 6
  • 9
  • 17
  • 6
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8
  • 29
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts