• Official Q&A

    @LuckyDay:

    If Convoy Raiding is mandatory, then you saying that a German sub off the coast of the US is a declaration of war against the US, or ie, that Germany is not allowed to be in that sea zone because it would result in a declaration of war?  Same would go for Japan being off the coast of Malaya then…?

    Actions don’t result in declarations of war - declarations of war allow actions.  If Germany is not at war with the US, a German sub off the US coast does nothing, as powers must be at war in order to conduct convoy raids.

    @LuckyDay:

    I see it mentioned in the P40 FAQ, but I may be missing it in the E40 rulebook, or at least spelled out, but the US is not allowed to land ground units or fly air units in/over the USSR prior to being at war with the Axis, correct?

    Correct.  It’s in the sidebar on page 15.


  • @Krieghund:

    @LuckyDay:

    If Convoy Raiding is mandatory, then you saying that a German sub off the coast of the US is a declaration of war against the US, or ie, that Germany is not allowed to be in that sea zone because it would result in a declaration of war?  Same would go for Japan being off the coast of Malaya then…?

    Actions don’t result in declarations of war - declarations of war allow actions.  If Germany is not at war with the US, a German sub off the US coast does nothing, as powers must be at war in order to conduct convoy raids.

    @LuckyDay:

    I see it mentioned in the P40 FAQ, but I may be missing it in the E40 rulebook, or at least spelled out, but the US is not allowed to land ground units or fly air units in/over the USSR prior to being at war with the Axis, correct?

    Correct.  It’s in the sidebar on page 15.

    So, Convoy Raiding is then just mandatory when at war, that I’m good with.  Thank you!
    And thank you also for the 2nd answer as well.  The US was attempting to block me from attacking the USSR by telling me they could land north of Japan, and I just wasn’t finding it in the rules.  Much obliged sir!


  • Here are some borders questions
    Does Ontario border EUS?
    Does Quesbec border New Brunswick/Nova Scotia?
    Does Alberta border CUS?
    Does Venezuela border Central America?


  • @calvinhobbesliker:

    Here are some borders questions
    Does Ontario border EUS?
    Does Quesbec border New Brunswick/Nova Scotia?
    Does Alberta border CUS?
    Does Venezuela border Central America?

    Keep after him, calvin!  We need answers to these!

    I’m guessing Alberta does border CUS (how could it not - there’s nothing between Alberta and the USA, and Alberta does not show up on the Pacific board, and WUS does not show up at all on the Europe Board)
    Quebec does NOT border NB/NS
    Venezuela does NOT border Cent America
    Ontario DOES border EUS (you can see a shared border).

    This is from just looking at the board.  Let’s see what Krieg says.


  • Quebec should border New Scotland. I think it’s a map error like z5 and Korea
    Venezuela touches Panama at a point. if they don’t border, this begs the question: does Colombia border Z89? In Real life, it does, and it is the only country that borders Panama(in South America anyway).
    As for Ontario, I see it now. I really wish the current Battlemap showed these connections.

    Is Z85 supposed to border Argentina?
    Does Z64 border Peru? The board would say no but Func’s Battlemap says yes.
    Is Z72 supposed to border Mozambique?


  • @calvinhobbesliker:

    Quebec should border New Scotland. I think it’s a map error like z5 and Korea
    Venezuela touches Panama at a point. if they don’t border, this begs the question: does Colombia border Z89? In Real life, it does, and it is the only country that borders Panama(in South America anyway).

    “Real life” is irrelevant.  You play the game the way the map is drawn.  The map is sometimes drawn to reflect borders or areas that were not exactly the same as political boundaries.  Anyway, the map is drawn the way it’s intended to be played.  ABattlemap module doesn’t perfectly reflect this - they’re guys like you and me who drew it up, and they made a few mistakes.  That’s not an issue for this thread.

    Colombia does not border Z89 (meeting at a point is not a border - Colorado does not border Arizona, though they meet at a point, IIRC)

    As for Ontario, I see it now. I really wish the current Battlemap showed these connections.

    Yep, they border for sure, and ABattlemap does need to be drawn to make borders clear (they did a good job for the most part).

    Is Z85 supposed to border Argentina?

    Definitely.  It’s plain on the game board.

    Does Z64 border Peru? The board would say no but Func’s Battlemap says yes.

    I agree - looking at the board, they don’t.  They meet at a point.

    Is Z72 supposed to border Mozambique?

    Absolutely.  No doubt.

  • '22 '19 '18

    Does Ontario boarder CUS, meaning we can pass over the Great Lakes?


  • @cond1024:

    Does Ontario boarder CUS

    Yes


  • There is an airbase in Sicily and the italian player puts 2 fighters, then the german player another two.

    When an american fleet lands in South Italy, can scramble only italian fighters or all fighters (included the two of German player)?

  • Official Q&A

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    Here are some borders questions
    Does Ontario border EUS?
    Does Quesbec border New Brunswick/Nova Scotia?
    Does Alberta border CUS?
    Does Venezuela border Central America?

    The answers to these questions haven’t changed since the last time you asked them.  If they do, I’ll let you know.

    1)  Yes.
    2 & 3)  Probably.  I don’t have final confirmation yet, though.
    4)  No.

  • Official Q&A

    @cond1024:

    Does Ontario boarder CUS, meaning we can pass over the Great Lakes?

    Yes, it does, and you don’t have to.  There are shared land borders between Superior and Huron and between Huron and Erie.

    @Stefano1189:

    There is an airbase in Sicily and the italian player puts 2 fighters, then the german player another two.

    When an american fleet lands in South Italy, can scramble only italian fighters or all fighters (included the two of German player)?

    The German fighters may also be scrambled, if the German player wishes.


  • Is Colombia supposed to border Z89?

  • Official Q&A

    @gamerman01:

    Colombia does not border Z89 (meeting at a point is not a border - Colorado does not border Arizona, though they meet at a point, IIRC)

    As for Ontario, I see it now. I really wish the current Battlemap showed these connections.

    Yep, they border for sure, and ABattlemap does need to be drawn to make borders clear (they did a good job for the most part).

    Is Z85 supposed to border Argentina?

    Definitely.  It’s plain on the game board.

    Does Z64 border Peru? The board would say no but Func’s Battlemap says yes.

    I agree - looking at the board, they don’t.  They meet at a point.

    Is Z72 supposed to border Mozambique?

    Absolutely.  No doubt.

    Correct on all counts.


  • @gamerman01:

    Anyway, the map is drawn the way it’s intended to be played.

    unless there is a problem in the transfer of the drawing to the print and Krieg has to fix it in an errata… :roll:


  • @Krieghund:

    @Autarch:

    In Global, do you still remove a Japanese built industrial complex when liberating a Chinese territory or just knock it down to 3 if it is a 10?

    It is eliminated.

    If American troops land in Kiangsu (in japanese’s hands), an iphotetical 3 or 10 complex would it be removed? In simple words, when american occupies an “original” Japanese with a Chinese roundel, the territory goes to American or Chinese? I have this doubt from Pacific 1940.


  • Another relevant question:

    • If an AC, during defense, take an hit, the 2 fighters on it (they fights in the sea battle), can they land on AC as cargo ( so they can’t fight in the next Sea battle, until the AC will be repaired), or they must land elsewhere?

    • If an AC, during an attack on another SZ, take an hit, the 2 fighters which fly from the original SZ from which the AC moved, can land on the AC? From Europe manual it seems to be “No”, and the fighters must land elsewhere or they will be removed ( they crash on water).

    Thanks in advance, i’m a bit confused.


  • @Stefano1189:

    @Krieghund:

    @Autarch:

    In Global, do you still remove a Japanese built industrial complex when liberating a Chinese territory or just knock it down to 3 if it is a 10?

    It is eliminated.

    If American troops land in Kiangsu (in japanese’s hands), an iphotetical 3 or 10 complex would it be removed? In simple words, when american occupies an “original” Japanese with a Chinese roundel, the territory goes to American or Chinese? I have this doubt from Pacific 1940.

    Sadly for the USA, the territory goes back to being Chinese (as it is liberated, it’s japanese “occupied” at the beginning)

  • Official Q&A

    @Stefano1189:

    If American troops land in Kiangsu (in japanese’s hands), an iphotetical 3 or 10 complex would it be removed?

    Yes.

    @Stefano1189:

    In simple words, when american occupies an “original” Japanese with a Chinese roundel, the territory goes to American or Chinese? I have this doubt from Pacific 1940.

    Special forces is correct.  The original owner of a territory is determined by the roundel printed on it, not by who controls it at the beginning of the game.  Kiangsu is an original Chinese territory.

    @Stefano1189:

    If an AC, during defense, take an hit, the 2 fighters on it (they fights in the sea battle), can they land on AC as cargo ( so they can’t fight in the next Sea battle, until the AC will be repaired), or they must land elsewhere?

    They must land elsewhere.

    @Stefano1189:

    If an AC, during an attack on another SZ, take an hit, the 2 fighters which fly from the original SZ from which the AC moved, can land on the AC? From Europe manual it seems to be “No”, and the fighters must land elsewhere or they will be removed ( they crash on water).

    No.  They must land elsewhere.


  • Got Global two days ago! :-D
    But scheduling a day where I can invite friends over to play it. A couple questions need to be answered however.

    Ive asked this similar question but I will reword it - Is A@A Revised IPC’s Enough for global? Depending if everyone spends their money right away or do big powerhouse ipc power’s just deplete the bank.

    2.For China the NO is totally all Burma road open for the IPCS. But for artillery purchase do you just need one territory with Burma road under Chinese control, or the whole road?

    3.What do you do with the Kamikaze punchouts for Japan do you just surrender the card to the bank once you use it or what, and are they treated like units?

    4.Did they change the ruling where Islands are just combined with the sea zone =1 space altogether?
    Or it takes two moves to move across the sz and the island?


  • @Benerfe:

    Is A@A Revised IPC’s Enough for global? Depending if everyone spends their money right away or do big powerhouse ipc power’s just deplete the bank.

    2.For China the NO is totally all Burma road open for the IPCS. But for artillery purchase do you just need one territory with Burma road under Chinese control, or the whole road?

    3.What do you do with the Kamikaze punchouts for Japan do you just surrender the card to the bank once you use it or what, and are they treated like units?

    4.Did they change the ruling where Islands are just combined with the sea zone =1 space altogether?
    Or it takes two moves to move across the sz and the island?

    1.  Probably not, as the combined income for all powers at one time is much higher and varies with National Objectives being met, while the total combined never varied (until someone lost a capital) and was far lower.  Use a paper and pencil, you can’t lose cash that way.

    2.  Entire road under allied control at beginning of China’s turn.

    3.  6 kamikaze attacks total, no more (you can’t buy them like units), no less (you can’t lose them for any reason).  Each piece is worth one roll.  You can do as many or as few as you want in a turn, provided the conditions are met for using them (refer to rules)

    4.  Movement rules have not changed, although you may not have understood them in previous games?  Everytime a boundary (land-land, land-sea, sea-sea) is crossed, it counts as a movement point.  To move a plane from a seazone to an island, it counts as a movement space, and when you move back to the seazone, it’s another movement space.  You are not obligated to cross the island boundary if you’re simply passing through the seazone, but you must count every time you move over a boundary.

    In order to attack an island, the aircraft MUST have at least one point of movement remaining for Non Combat to make it back to the seazone and it MUST have a valid landing space (carrier in that seazone the island is in OR more movement spaces to get back to a valid landing space).  Suicidal plane moves are not allowed but you are allowed to move planes to a space under the assumption that IN THEORY a carrier could reach them to land in non combat after a highly unlikely combat cleared the way for the carrier.

    If a plane takes off from an island in a seazone to attack a territory the same seazone it takes 1) crossing to the seazone, 2) crossing to the territory to attack, 3) crossing back to the seazone, and 4) landing in the original island space.

    That’s how it’s always been as far as I know, which is since revised rules.

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

65

Online

17.0k

Users

39.3k

Topics

1.7m

Posts