• Say the US has a fleet including battleships in sea zone 6(around Japan). On Japan’s next turn they buy a destroyer, or any surface warship for that matter. On the US players next turn can the battleships support an amphibious assault or do they have to attack the boat. I know they can’t do both, and if a ship is there when they move in they can’t bombard,but I’m not sure about this situation.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    Correct. If enemy surface ship (or even a sub if it desires to fight) is in the SZ, the assault cannot start until sea combat resolved. Since the battleship has to participate in sea combat, it cannot bombard.

    However, in the particular case of Japan defending in SZ6 or any kamikaze space. If Japan has a kamikaze unit, the kamikaze attack counts as sea combat and the battleship cannot bombard… even though it never rolled to hit anything.


  • They have to attack the destroyer. Also, if the units are in Korea and you are trying to attack Japan the units cannot load in that hostile sea zone.


  • @surfer wait so you’re saying that you can’t bombard in a kamikaze zone even if Japan doesn’t use one? I thought it only cancelled the bombardment if they used one


  • @squirecam thanks, very helpful information

  • 2022 2021 '20

    No. Japan has to use the kamikaze to make a sea attack happen.
    Same thing, if airbase scrambles.

    Bottom line, if sea battle happens (ships, kamikaze, scramble, sub), then no bombardment.


  • @surfer Okay that’s what I thought, thanks

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @surfer said in Question about bombardment:

    Correct. If enemy surface ship (or even a sub if it desires to fight) is in the SZ, the assault cannot start until sea combat resolved. Since the battleship has to participate in sea combat, it cannot bombard.

    However, in the particular case of Japan defending in SZ6 or any kamikaze space. If Japan has a kamikaze unit, the kamikaze attack counts as sea combat and the battleship cannot bombard… even though it never rolled to hit anything.

    A sub does not prevent bombardment since the attacker is allowed to ignore the sub. Lone sub(s) on defense may not force combat as that is only the Attacker’s choice.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @andrewaagamer Yes, subs can be generally be ignored but I thought there was a caveat that applied to amphib assaults in the SZ where the sub is occupied. In that case the sub could defend – cause a sea battle.

    Perhaps it applies only to lone transport assaults.

  • 2021 '20 '19 '18

    @surfer said in Question about bombardment:

    Perhaps it applies only to lone transport assaults.

    Yea the sub would prevent it then. I can’t remember for certain, but I don’t think you can have a undefended trprt in the same SZ as an enemy sub at all. It can move through them though.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @surfer said in Question about bombardment:

    Perhaps it applies only to lone transport assaults.

    Correct. It is only lone transports. Any warship, and that includes carriers, can invoke the rule to ignoring the lone sub on defense.

    @barnee said in Question about bombardment:

    I can’t remember for certain, but I don’t think you can have a undefended trprt in the same SZ as an enemy sub at all. It can move through them though.

    Actually a lone sub only prevents unloading of a lone transport. A lone transport may still load troops in a zone occupied only by enemy sub(s) and can move through them too.

Suggested Topics

  • 6
  • 15
  • 7
  • 8
  • 3
  • 11
  • 12
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

39
Online

16.0k
Users

37.6k
Topics

1.6m
Posts