• We had a disagreement in our last game where the Japanese player moved his destroyer into Calcutta, India sea zone at the end of his turn 3 without declaring war. The United States declared war on their next move. On the British/ Indian turn 3 and the Indian player wanted to move his battleship and cruiser out of the hostile sea zone and attack another sea zone. The rules seem clear to me that you have only 2 options, 1. Stay and battle the Jap destroyer or 2. Leave the hostile sea zone and cannot move into another hostile sea zone. Right? The other 2 rules in the rulebook are for troop transports correct? Thanks for the assistance!

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Gen-Nehring-0 good day. You can, indeed, leave the Hostile SZ and move to another hostile SZ for combat. See top of page 13 Pacific rulebook: sea units starting in Hostile Sea Zones. It is the second point: “leave the sea zone … and conduct combat elsewhere.”

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 Official Q&A Moderator TripleA

    @Gen-Nehring-0 said in Rules Verification:

    The rules seem clear to me that you have only 2 options, 1. Stay and battle the Jap destroyer or 2. Leave the hostile sea zone and cannot move into another hostile sea zone. Right? The other 2 rules in the rulebook are for troop transports correct?

    As @Wittmann said. There are no “Transport-only” rules included in the “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Se Zones”-rules. Of course the transport is the only unit allowed to load, but the movement itself is allowed to every sea unit. In general it is the nature of a Combat Move to end in a hostile seazone to conduct combat there. The “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Sea Zones”-rules is a specification and somehow extension.

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 46
  • 7
  • 4
  • 3
  • 98
  • 7
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

44
Online

15.4k
Users

36.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts