• Can a fighter fly one space, attack with ground troops, then fly back to where it came from?

    Can a fighter fly one space over a sea zone, attack warships, then fly back to where it came from?

    Important as Austria is about to send its navy and a fighter from the Balkans against the Italian navy in my current game.


  • Nope, since there’s only 1 movement phase, every units stays where it ends, and thus fighters can’t attack naval units since they can’t land in sea zones.


  • At this point in history fighters weren’t really ready to do any real damage to boats yet. Their speeds were very low and cross winds were very hazardous. Also planes of the time couldn’t carry very much in the way of firepower, so hurting a ship was outside their scope.

    However, I’m surprised there wasn’t a rule that allowed for air superiority over water. Perhaps that would make cruisers fire at 4 if you had air superiority.


  • @oztea:

    At this point in history fighters weren’t really ready to do any real damage to boats yet. Their speeds were very low and cross winds were very hazardous. Also planes of the time couldn’t carry very much in the way of firepower, so hurting a ship was outside their scope.

    Yes, all good points.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 3
  • 12
  • 12
  • 49
  • 1
  • 6
  • 28
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

59

Online

17.1k

Users

39.5k

Topics

1.7m

Posts