Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Unloading transports in alpha 2+


  • Customizer

    In alpha 2 +, can unescorted TTs unload in NCM in a sea zone containg an enemy sub?  Or does it ignore it?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @jim010:

    In alpha 2 +, can unescorted TTs unload in NCM in a sea zone containg an enemy sub?  Or does it ignore it?

    No, it cannot unload at all.  See rule #11 of Alpha2.


  • Official Answers

    Yes, it can unload in _non_combat movement.  The only restriction is against doing an amphibious assault under those conditions.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Ooh - I see now - great!

    Tricky question for 1:30 in the morning.


  • Customizer

    That … really sucks.

    I made my moves based on the first reply.  Game over for me.


  • Customizer

    @jim010:

    That … really sucks.

    I made my moves based on the first reply.  Game over for me.

    Let me guess;  you ended up with a bunch of fully loaded transports with little or no protection and on his next turn your enemy promptly came and blasted them all, right?  Yeah, that really sucks.  In my last game, USA tried to liberate London and had plenty of land forces - 5 transports worth – but were only escorted by a single battleship.  Germany scrambled 2 fighters, sank the battleship with 1 fighter surviving.  The transports had to retreat 1 space and just sit out there, fully loaded with no protection.  On Germany’s next turn, that surviving fighter flew out and sank them.  Result:  US adventure in Europe was at an end.


  • Customizer

    Actually, I thought I had closed off any possibility of my opponent reinforcing a space I wanted to attack the next turn.  I thought I had blocked those TTs.  Turns out I did nothing.


  • Customizer

    Oh, I see.  So it was your enemy’s transports and your subs.  So you put your subs there to block him, and along he comes and merrily drops off a load of troops making the territory coveted by you an unattackable fortress.  Yeah, that sucks too.  Well, on a lighter note, if all his transports were unescorted, on your turn you can at least surface your sub and sink all his transports at least costing him some money.


  • Customizer

    I think it is odd that he can’t drop off in CM but can ignore the subs in NCM.  That does not seem consistent and I submit that it should be looked at.



  • Krieg, let me post follow up questions. According to the Alpha +2 rules, transports have to be escorted by warships during the combat move phase to unload during an amphib assault.

    #1). Do subs count as warships? I think the answer is no.

    #2). If the enemy’s subs decide to fight the warships mentioned above, obviously combat occurs. If the enemy’s subs defeat your warships, then your transports die, correct? I believe the answer is yes but just want to make sure.

    #3). And, as someone else posted, why are transports allowed to unload their units during the non-combat phase if subs are present but this isn’t allowed during the combat move phase. Seems like the old rule of letting the subs take one pot shot at the transports seems more appropriate. Just curious… Thanks!


  • Official Answers

    #1). Yes.

    #2). They only die if they can’t retreat.  If they can retreat, any excess defender hits beyond those necessary to kill the attacking combat units are applied to the transports before they retreat.

    #3). The idea is to not allow unescorted transports to make a hostile move in sub-infested waters.  There’s nothing stopping them from unloading in a friendly port, which is a much less difficult operation than an amphibious assault.


  • Customizer

    @Krieghund:

    #3). The idea is to not allow unescorted transports to make a hostile move in sub-infested waters.  There’s nothing stopping them from unloading in a friendly port, which is a much less difficult operation than an amphibious assault.

    So I could have a dozen subs in the sea zone, and a single unescorted TT can still unload in NCM.

    That just seems wrong.  I liked the old rule better.



  • Krieg, in response to your answer # 2 above, can Transports retreat during an amphib assault? I thought that you couldn’t retreat from amphib assaults?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Commando:

    Krieg, in response to your answer # 2 above, can Transports retreat during an amphib assault? I thought that you couldn’t retreat from amphib assaults?

    I can take this one.
    Only ground units that were unloaded from transports in an amphibious assault can not retreat.
    Air units, naval units (before wiping out defending naval units), and ground units that came over land can all retreat, leaving amphibious assault ground units to fight it out on their own between any 2 rounds of combat.

    Same as in AA50.



  • @gamerman01:

    Only ground units that were unloaded from transports in an amphibious assault can not retreat.
    Air units**, naval units (before wiping out defending naval units),** and ground units that came over land can all retreat, **leaving amphibious assault ground units to fight it out on their own between any 2 rounds of combat.**Same as in AA50.

    Just wanted to further clarify, 'cause your response is a little unclear:

    Transports unload ONLY after all units defending the seazone are destroyed (or submerged).  Prior to that, transports can retreat.  But once they have unloaded, the naval units not only cannot retreat (their combat is over) but the units performing the amphibious assault are locked on the beaches.  Basically, they have no where the go, the enemy is in front of them and they can’t get back on the boats.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Right - good clarification.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 13
  • 17
  • 4
  • 8
  • 45
  • 5
  • 36
I Will Never Grow Up Games

63
Online

13.2k
Users

33.4k
Topics

1.3m
Posts