AA50 rule question



  • Is it possible to move existing fighters onto newly placed carriers.
    As in the jap player moving two fighters from Japan onto a just bought carrier.


  • Official Answers

    Not exactly.  Fighters cannot be transferred onto a new carrier, as this would involve moving units during the Mobilize Units phase, but they may end their movement in a sea zone in which a new carrier will be mobilized.  They don’t actually “land” until the end of the Mobilize Units phase.



  • So basically you can fly 2 fighters out to the sea zone where the carrier will be placed
    say from Japan to SZ 62 and at the end of the Japanese players turn during the mobilize
    new units phase of his turn the fighters can land on the new carrier.


  • Official Answers

    Correct.



  • It is still possible as in the LHTR to “build” new fighter on existing AC that are in a seaa zone next to te IC, isn’t it?


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    yes, but not on your allies carrier

    also, you can just build a carrier and if your fighters are in the territory adjacent, they can be placed on it.


  • Official Answers

    @Imperious:

    yes, but not on your allies carrier

    Correct.

    @Imperious:

    also, you can just build a carrier and if your fighters are in the territory adjacent, they can be placed on it.

    No, they can’t.  See five posts up.



  • Ok Krieghund I’m still a little unsure about this as you seem to say they can and several posts later they cant. During the game that sparked this question the Jap player bought 2 carriers to place off the coast of Japan. Now he had 5 pre existing planes on Japan that had not been in combat or moved at all. Now what conditions if any have to be met for him to at the end of his turn place his carriers and then move 4 of the planes onto them thereby leaving the American player on his turn facing in SZ 62 two fully loaded carriers instead of 2 empty ones. Also what was the rule on this in original AA and AA revised cause it seems different.



  • 4 of the 5 fighters would move to the sea zone during the non combat move and stay there and then they would be placed on the carriers during the mobilization phase


  • Official Answers

    Flying Tiger is correct.  Sorry if my original post was unclear.  :oops: I’ll try again.

    You place an existing fighter on a new carrier by moving the fighter in either combat or noncombat movement, whichever applies, into the sea zone where the new carrier will be mobilized.  Air units don’t actually “land” until the end of the Mobilize New Units phase, though they must be in the space in which they will land by the end of noncombat movement.  The active player may only move pieces from one space to another during the combat movement and noncombat movement phases.

    In Classic A&A, you can’t place fighters (new or existing) on new carriers at all.  In Revised, you can place existing fighters on a new carrier in the way you described in your original post.  In LHTR, it works the same way as it does in AA50.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 14
  • 6
  • 4
  • 13
  • 5
  • 23
  • 73
  • 14
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts