Infrastructure Defense



  • Just reading up on Rockets for the flow charts.

    Do ID get to roll on Rocket attacks?

    I don’t remember AA guns doing it in OOB, but there might have been a discussion on AARHE that I’m not familiar with.  I don’t see it mentioned anywhere in the rules.

    • Bierwagen


  • LHTR 2.0 answer this on pg. 18.

    “During the combat move phase, declare which antiaircraft guns are making rocket strikes. There is no defense against this attack.”

    Though it looks like AARHE 4.0 overrides the limit of 1 rocket attack per IC.

    Any comments from the peanut gallery appreciated.


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Just reading up on Rockets for the flow charts.

    Do ID get to roll on Rocket attacks?

    I don’t remember AA guns doing it in OOB, but there might have been a discussion on AARHE that I’m not familiar with.  I don’t see it mentioned anywhere in the rules.

    from AARHE:

    Rockets: Each Infrastructure Defense in a territory may perform rocket strike. Implicit Infrastructure
    Defense [ on page 17] may not perform this. An industrial complex may be targeted multiple times per
    turn.

    From page 17:

    Implicit Infrastructure Defence
    Industrial complex implicitly includes 2 units of Infrastructure Defense. Victory city implicitly includes 1
    unit of Infrastructure Defense.

    so what this is saying is you cannot roll rockets from the “fixed” ID installations which are basically Anti-Aircraft flak artillery surrounding cities and factories…. these are what we call Implicit Defense and these are exempted from being diverted to Rocket capabilities…

    Instead, you need to pay 3 IPC for each level of ID in whatever territory.

    From unit production chart:
    Infrastructure Defense 3 1 0 0 -

    So to use the Rockets you need to buy them at 3 IPC each, and as its stated you can pile up a number of rocket attacks on the same enemy factory.



  • Can ID fire during multiple Phases or even Sequences within Phases.

    Say I’m in Land Combat Phase and I have the following attacks unfolding in Western Europe:

    Air Mission:
    1 BOM performing SBR with 2 FTR escorts

    Amphibious Assault:
    2 FTR supporting an Amphibious Assault of 2 ARM, 2 INF
    1 BB providing Shore Bombardment
    2 AP’s supporting the Amphibious Assault

    Does the ID get to fire during all 3 different phases of combat:

    1. Air Missions are resolved before normal combat
          – ID can attempt to shoot down something
    2. FTR in Land Combat
          – ID gets to fire during every “Opening Fire” sequence
    3. Amphibious Assault
          – ID gets to perform offshore bombardment

    I was always under the impression that each attacking unit can be involved in only one combat per turn – but, in this case an ID could get three shots off because it is involved in 3 different combats.

    Am I reading too much into this?

    Should each ID be required to declare what Combat roll it will focus it’s efforts on?  Or is it just a special piece that has many roles.


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Can ID fire during multiple Phases or even Sequences within Phases.

    Say I’m in Land Combat Phase and I have the following attacks unfolding in Western Europe:

    Air Mission:
    1 BOM performing SBR with 2 FTR escorts

    Amphibious Assault:
    2 FTR supporting an Amphibious Assault of 2 ARM, 2 INF
    1 BB providing Shore Bombardment
    2 AP’s supporting the Amphibious Assault

    If you got multiple thing running in the same territory, then ID rolls each of these actions seperatly as ID rolls are allowed. They will roll against invasions, and again against SBR You perform these functions with SBR first, followed by actions that may change the outcome of the ownership of the territory.

    Does the ID get to fire during all 3 different phases of combat:

    1. Air Missions are resolved before normal combat
          – ID can attempt to shoot down something
    2. FTR in Land Combat
          – ID gets to fire during every “Opening Fire” sequence
    3. Amphibious Assault
          – ID gets to perform offshore bombardment

    yes in each case ID fires…

    I was always under the impression that each attacking unit can be involved in only one combat per turn – but, in this case an ID could get three shots off because it is involved in 3 different combats.

    Id is not really a “unit” but  a token air/amphibious defense and can represent a few different types of defenses

    Am I reading too much into this?

    yes indeed…

    Should each ID be required to declare what Combat roll it will focus it’s efforts on?  Or is it just a special piece that has many roles.

    Its not that hard… ID rolls when you perform the types of missions that may involve ID rolls… their is no tricks, where you perform some weak mission in order to ‘save’ other units from ID attacks.



  • Thanks for clearing that up.  That is how we’ve been playing here, but trying to diagram it out made me scratch my head and wonder.


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    separate the land and air combat aspects until the flow chart has only one side with planes, then you combine all land and air units in it.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 38
  • 6
  • 1
  • 27
  • 4
  • 11
  • 5
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

43
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts