Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

AAG40 FAQ Alpha+.2



  • AAG40 FAQ for Alpha+.2 Only (This is based on changes from Alpha+.1)

    (For OOB (Out Of the Box) questions please refer to the other thread.)

    National Objectives have changed:
    –-----------------------------------------------------------
    Have the starting IPCs changed?
    The only income change is the U.K., which is now 28 IPCs (London) and 17 IPCs (Calcutta).  (TwistedAries Jan 14,2011)

    What’s happened to the US NO of boosting income at war?
    The US NO has been reduced and broken up into smaller blocks.   (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)

    Scrambling (has gone coastal):

    If German naval units are moving into the channel, and Germany attacks UK navy, can planes scramble to assist from UK?
    Yes, in sea zones 109 and 110.   (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)

    Major Industrial Complexes (IC) on foreign soil, not allowed:

    What about the territories of Shantung and Kiangsu?
    These are Japanese controlled at the beginning of the game, but show a Chinese symbol on them.
    Can Japan build a Major IC on these territories?
    No.
    From the AAP40 Rulebook, page 9:Quote
    Chinese territories on the game board have a Nationalist Chinese nationality symbol on them.  Some of these territories begin the game already under Japanese control.  They still are considered Chinese territories for purposes of original ownership.
    (Gargantua,kcdzim,Krieghund Jan 19-20,2011)

    A major IC may only be built on a non-island territory with your symbol printed on it and an IPC value of 3 or higher.
    A minor IC may be built on any non-island territory with an IPC value of 2 or higher.  (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)

    Say I’m Germany. The US takes West Germany. Major IC there becomes Minor while held by the Americans.
    Then Germany re-takes it. Does Germany have to pay the 17ipc to upgrade the IC again? or does that happen automatically?
    Germany must pay to upgrade recaptured ICs.  The cost is 20 IPCs. (Slacker,Krieghund Jan 20,2011)

    Other Questions:

    If the U.K.on turn 1 declares war on Japan, can Japan on J2 enter the Dutch East Indies? or is this a DOW against America?
    Japan may attack the Dutch territories without bringing the US into the war (or losing its trade NO, if using the Alpha rules). (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)
    Just to clarify, this is only because UK declared war on Japan first. (Krieghund Jan 21,2011)

    SBR

    With alpha2 SBR rules when attacking multiple targets in the same square (1 srtat bomb on factory, 2 tacs on airbase, 3 escorts) do you have to assig escorts for each separate attack and interceptors for each or do the interceptors fire at the entire attacking airforce?  
    There is only one air battle per territory.  After the air battle is resolved, the bombers are assigned individual targets within the territory. (Krieghund Jan 22,2011)

    OOB (Out Of Box) Map Clarifications

    Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba and Central United States are adjacent to each other.
    Quebec and New Brunswick/Nova Scotia are adjacent to each other.
    Sea zone 106 and Eastern United States are not adjacent to each other.
    Greenland is an island.
    Scotland and Eire are adjacent to each other.
    The Caspian Sea is a sea zone.
    Korea and sea zone 5 are not adjacent to each other.  (Krieghund Jan 25,2011)

    Ask your Alpha+.2 question below.



  • Alpha+.2 Rules
    12. The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. It can only move to sea zones that are adjacent to US territories in the Atlantic (more specifically Sea zones 101, 89 and 64). US warships (not transports) may also conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102. In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.

    What does it meant by “conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102.”?

    Attacks while neutral?


  • TripleA

    @BadSpeller:

    Alpha+.2 Rules
    12. The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. It can only move to sea zones that are adjacent to US territories in the Atlantic (more specifically Sea zones 101, 89 and 64). US warships (not transports) may also conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102. In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.

    What does it meant by “conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102.”?

    Attacks while neutral?

    No, SZ 102 is adjacent to 101, no German ships are placed there in initial set up.  I suspect that placing a fleet there might act as a buffer for a possible Axis eastern USA attack.  Not being able to stage transports there puts USA 2 turns away from landing when at war.  Also, you can’t end movement with units on transports if you are neutral.


  • Official Answers

    @BadSpeller:

    If the U.K.on turn 1 declares war on Japan, can Japan on J2 enter the Dutch East Indies? or is this a DOW against America?
    Japan may attack the Dutch territories without bringing the US into the war (or losing its trade NO, if using the Alpha rules). (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)

    Just to clarify, this is only because UK declared war on Japan first.



  • Krieghund,

    Subject :SBR Alpha+.2

    AAE40 Rulebook page16>Strategic Bombing Raids>par2 "Fighters (not tactical bombers) can also participate in strategic bombing raids as escorts and interceptors.

    Alpha+.2 Rule #8> Strategic Bombing Raids procedure:
    • Escorts fire @1, and interceptor casualties are immediately removed.
    Bombers fire @ 1 and interceptors fire @ 2. Remove bomber and interceptor casualties (escorts may be taken as casualties only after all bombers are eliminated).
    • Surviving bombers are assigned a specific target (IC, airbase or naval base) if more than one type is in the territory.
    • The target fires its AA defenses at the attacking aircraft - @1
    • Surviving bombers attack their target, looking for the highest number possible.

    1. Should the first line read, “• Escorts fire @1, and Escorts casualties are immediately removed.”

    2. About the second line.  For clarity, which bombers are these?

    I assume it means the defenders Strategic Bombers because it is mentioned in the same line as the interceptors.
    Or does it mean Tactical Bombers? Or both?


  • Official Answers

    1. No, it shouldn’t.  The escorts fire, and the interceptors are taken as casualties.

    2. It means all attacking bombers, whether strategic or tactical.  The defender has only interceptors (fighters) and no bombers of any kind.



  • Why is the U.S. barred from entering sz 121 in alpha+.2 when Greenland is a U.S. territory? I ask because if the U.S. puts a naval base on Greenland they are one turn from Scotland and Eire


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    oooooo I like that question.  Aaron91 that’s a GOOD one.


  • Official Answers

    That sea zone was omitted by mistake.  It has been corrected.



  • Are Malta and Cyprus included as part of the original UK territories that are required to get the second National Objective for the UK?


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Yes.  They are Starting U.K. territories.



  • Thanks.  That’s what I figured.  I just wanted to make sure because the rule states:  “Collect 5 IPCs per turn if the United Kingdom controls all of its original territories in North America, Africa, and Europe.” and not “…on the Europe board.”

    I guess that Malta, Cyprus, and Iceland are considered part of Europe.  So, the requirement would exclude Guyana and Trans Jordan from the Europe map, I take it.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Damn, and here I thought there might be a reason to invade Guayana.

    Oh well… I’ll still search for one.


  • Customizer

    11.  “….  Transports are not allowed to unload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing an enemy sub(s) belonging to a power with which they are at war unless at least one of his warships was also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.”

    Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?


  • '10

    Did I read somewhere that Tactical Bombers can now SBR?

    Also, they roll damage with 1D6 and Strategic Bombers roll damage with 1D6+2  ?

    Please clarify.



  • in the Alpha+.2 Rules>#8

    8. Strategic Bombing Raids procedure:
    • Escorts fire @1, and interceptor casualties are immediately removed.
    • Bombers fire @ 1 and interceptors fire @ 2. Remove bomber and interceptor casualties (escorts may be taken as casualties only after all bombers are eliminated).
    • Surviving bombers are assigned a specific target (IC, airbase or naval base) if more than one type is in the territory.
    • The target fires its AA defenses at the attacking aircraft - @1
    • Surviving bombers attack their target, looking for the highest number possible.

    When bombing, each Strategic bomber rolls one die.
    The number rolled +2 is the total number of hits the target will receive.
    Gray chips are placed under the target for each hit received.

    Tactical bombers
    Tactical Bombers can also conduct bombing raids.
    They are limited to attacking only naval bases and airbases, however.

    Other wise they follow the exact procedure as strategic bombers presented above.
    When bombing they roll one die.
    The number rolled is the number of hits the target receives.
    Do not add to the dice roll when bombing with tactical bombers.

    I hope this answers your question.


  • Official Answers

    @knp7765:

    Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?

    Warships includes all sea units except transports.

    @FieldMarshalGames:

    Did I read somewhere that Tactical Bombers can now SBR?

    Yes, but against bases only, not against ICs.

    @FieldMarshalGames:

    Also, they roll damage with 1D6 and Strategic Bombers roll damage with 1D6+2  ?

    Yes.


  • Customizer

    @Krieghund:

    @knp7765:

    Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?

    Warships includes all sea units except transports.

    Thanks Krieghund.  So submarines ARE counted as warships as well.  I assume this is the case with that Soviet NO for controlling Archangel and having no Axis warships in SZ 125.  Germany can put a sub in SZ 125 and void that NO for Russia, right?


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    I could have sworn Aircraft Carriers lost their defensive ability in 1940. (Thought I read that in the rules, dont have my books atm since I’m snowed in and the temp is hitting -20 degrees Fahrenheit with wind chill so I don’t want to try and get them anyway) The Battlemap, of course, lists them with defense = 2.

    Stupid question, I know, but I am working under the assumption they have defense value 2, unless told otherwise here.  And if they have no defense, does that mean an unprotected carrier is auto-sunk by an attacking submarine?


  • Official Answers

    Carriers have no attack value.  Their defense value is 2.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Kay, I thought so, but got confused between all the readings.


  • TripleA

    Can Japan make a major industrial on Kiangsu? etc? Japan starts the game with them and the map is yellower than the rest of china.  Rules not clear.



  • @Cow:

    Can Japan make a major industrial on Kiangsu? etc? Japan starts the game with them and the map is yellower than the rest of china.  Rules not clear.

    They have the Chinese roundel on them, which leads me to believe that they are liberated as if a Chinese territory.  This implies that Japan cannot build a Major complex on them.


  • Official Answers

    Correct.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    So subs as a warship negect the Italian NO in the Med?

    And…  when doing SBR.  It says escorts fire,  then interceptors and bombers fire.

    Does bombers fire - INCLUDE tactical and strategic bombers?


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

50
Online

13.3k
Users

33.6k
Topics

1.3m
Posts