Just my humble opinion, but seems that the AA50 treatment of subs generates a good chunk of inquiry…
so why not make a sticky thread for all sub rules questions and answers?
Not the tactical kind of question (what do you do with the sub at sz4) or asthetic (don’t the German subs look much sexier than the Russian) but cut-n-dry clarification stuff.
Heck, call it the Sub Pen or something if it “floats your boat” (every pun intended).
Q. On page 29 it says that your aircraft may hit enemy submarines if you have a destroyer in the sea zone, but it doesn’t say anywhere in the rules that aircraft can’t hit submarines without a destroyer present. Do you always need a destroyer in a battle in order for your air units to hit enemy subs?
A. Yes. Air units can only hit subs if there is a friendly destroyer on the battle board, otherwise hits made by air units must be applied to units other than submarines. If you’re the attacker, destroyers in the same sea zone belonging to your ally don’t count, since they’re not involved in the battle.
THX Kriegshund, you are right!
I apologize to all readers of my previous posts for having answered without this important information.
In this case the subs would sink the transport without interference of the fighters.
I think it’s pretty clear how AA guns work from reading their unit profile in the Rulebook. However, I agree that the defense value listed could be a bit misleading. On the other hand, this value has been in place since Revised (we playtesters are so awful that we can actually go back in time and screw things up in the past :roll:), and to my knowledge this is the first time that this question has ever been asked. Maybe it would be better if the defense value value were listed as “Special”.
As for ICs, they’re defense is “NA” because they never fire under any circumstances, which is not true of AA guns.
AA guns actualy worked that way in classic as well