Even if those extra Fighters survive the battle and then have to crash into the sea?
The thing is, you don’t know if those fighters will have to crash into the sea. They may end up on non-combat move without a valid landing spot but when you perform your combat moves there’s always a statistical change that the carrier will kill the 100 battleships (even though it should be about the same as you de-materializing while reading this message and materializing on the next room) thus the combat move satisfies the rule of a valid landing spot (regardless of how improbable it might be).
Combat moving 2 extra fighters to a battle goes against that same rule because there’s simply no possibility for those fighters to land during non-combat as they are moved (unless a carrier magically pops up out of nowhere into the middle of the battle board - odds for that happening should be the same as you teleporting yourself to another room) .
In the 2nd edition rules you must own both land territories to pass thru the suez canal. There really should be a tiny line on your map. This is not an optional rule. Land units may of course move across the canal without transports. This is do to the size of the canal and actually follows the real thing. The canal is very tiny even today, so it was imperative in world war 2 to hold both sides for safe passage. If the axis owns one side and the allirs the other, no one goes thru. And movement thru is considered one movement point.
Welcome to the forum, Swantalon!
What are you referring to?
This is the Anniversary Edition subforum.
I’m thinking of doing this as well. For the sake of a bit of consistency in the rules between games.
And, I like the new rules, but I can’t justify purchasing this game when I already have AA50. They seem like the same level of game.
Btween the new 41, and G40
Plus AA50 gives you the option for tech and N.O.'s, as well as China and Italy.
So adopting some of the new rules into AA50 seems like the best of both worlds.
Flying Tiger is correct. Sorry if my original post was unclear. :oops: I’ll try again.
You place an existing fighter on a new carrier by moving the fighter in either combat or noncombat movement, whichever applies, into the sea zone where the new carrier will be mobilized. Air units don’t actually “land” until the end of the Mobilize New Units phase, though they must be in the space in which they will land by the end of noncombat movement. The active player may only move pieces from one space to another during the combat movement and noncombat movement phases.
In Classic A&A, you can’t place fighters (new or existing) on new carriers at all. In Revised, you can place existing fighters on a new carrier in the way you described in your original post. In LHTR, it works the same way as it does in AA50.