Anzac the Brave!!


  • Customizer

    @Tall:

    elevenjerk,

    @elevenjerk:

    Pacific 2nd ed. rulebook  pg. 10

    “These two powers (uk/Anzac) have an arrangement with the Dutch government in exile (Holland having been captured by Germany) and have taken guardianship of the Dutch territories in the Pacific.  As a result, they are free to move units into these territories as a noncombat movement at any time, as long as they have not yet been captured by Japan.”

    ––First off, Thank you very much for your response. I was familiar with this rule but my understanding,….
    or mis-understanding, was that you needed a LAND unit in order to capture a territory. I am probably confusing this “specific” circumstance concerning the Dutch East Indies with normal combat where capturing countries requires a land unit. I’m certainly NOT perfect, and sometimes I prove it.
    ----Is this how everyone else understands this rule?

    “Tall Paul”

    ––Maybe Kreighund could set me straight on this.

    “Tall Paul”



  • Tall Paul - I’m assuming that UK uses their first turn in the Pacific to land a couple infantry in Sumatra. Then, on Anzac’s turn, they can fly the single fighter from Queensland and land.


  • Customizer

    Stalingradsky,

    @Stalingradski:

    Tall Paul - I’m assuming that UK uses their first turn in the Pacific to land a couple infantry in Sumatra. Then, on Anzac’s turn, they can fly the single fighter from Queensland and land.

    ––Well in that case it’s nothing but a simple re-enforcement of an allied nation,…no problem.
    ----I heard, probably by mistake, that ANZAC (only) landed an aircraft and captured the territory of Sumatra for itself without use of any ground forces. If I mis-heard,…I appologize.
    ----Disussing strategies of this wonderful game can enlighten all of us.

    “Tall Paul”


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Any Ally, including ANZAC, can land on Dutch territories any time they want (must be at war on the appropriate map, of course).
    Control is not needed.  They are no different than French territories.  The only weird thing about the Dutch territories is that (only) UK/ANZ can take control of them in non-combat movement.

    ANZAC can absolutely land planes on Java on their first turn, WITHOUT UK doing anything with Java.  ANZ does not even have to land ground units there (she just won’t get control).  It’s a friendly territory!

    A lot of players are confused about the Dutch territories - that’s not unusual.


  • Customizer

    Gamerman,

    @Gamerman01:

    Any Ally, including ANZAC, can land on Dutch territories any time they want (must be at war on the appropriate map, of course).
    Control is not needed.  They are no different than French territories.  The only weird thing about the Dutch territories is that (only) UK/ANZ can take control of them in non-combat movement.

    ANZAC can absolutely land planes on Java on their first turn, WITHOUT UK doing anything with Java.  ANZ does not even have to land ground units there (she just won’t get control).  It’s a friendly territory!

    A lot of players are confused about the Dutch territories - that’s not unusual.

    ––Thank you for “setting me straight” on the D.E.I. question. I believe I now completely understand the difference between the Dutch countries and other allied/friendly territories(such as France).
    ––And as you stated above, to control a territory and receive it’s I.P.C. income LAND forces must be landed,…correct?
    ----If so, in order for Anzac to get CONTROL of the territory they must send LAND forces (which was my original question).

    ----I’m not trying to be argumentative or to “push a point”,…only in understanding the rules correctly. Thanks again, Gamerman01.

    “Tall Paul”


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    No problem -

    Yes, ANZ/UK must move a non-AAA land unit onto a Dutch territory in order to take control (collect IPC’s and be able to build bases).

    USA (or other Allies) can only take control of a Dutch territory by wresting it from Axis control, but these other non-UK/ANZ Allies are still free to land ground or air units in these friendly Dutch territories.


  • Customizer

    Gamerman01,

    ––Thanks for your answering my rules question. In this case, it ends up that my original “understanding” of the rules regarding Anzac control over Dutch countries was correct. I simply want to play my games by the correct rules.

    “Tall Paul”


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Any time you’re not sure about something, just post it to the FAQ thread and everyone can benefit from the Q&A

    Plus, Krieghund reads every answer on that thread and makes sure it’s right


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 31
  • 6
  • 23
  • 8
  • 56
  • 4
  • 7
  • 59
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

60
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts