AA50 oficial errata as an ERROR!



  • Q. On page 29 it says that your aircraft may hit enemy submarines if you have a destroyer in the
    sea zone, but it doesn’t say anywhere in the rules that aircraft can’t hit submarines without a
    destroyer present. Do you always need a destroyer in a battle in order for your air units to hit
    enemy subs?
    A. Yes. Air units can only hit subs if there is a friendly destroyer on the battle board, otherwise hits made
    by air units must be applied to units other than submarines. If you’re the attacker, destroyers in the same
    sea zone belonging to your ally don’t count, since they’re not involved in the battle.

    WRONG!!! The correct answer is: No. Air units can hit subs when there is not a friendly destroyer if those submarines don´t use the Submersible ability (the subs are not obliged to use Submersible. For example if they want to participate in the next round of battle with other naval and air units involved. Example 2: if there are only enemy air unists present subs can decide not to use Submersible and can be destroyed))



  • Loook at page 30 of the rulebook:

    Submersible: … Whenever a round of combat starts and a submarine is in combat with only aircraft, it can submerge (before aircraft fire).

    It says that it can submerge, doesn´t say it must submerge.

    How can is possible such a mistake inside the first oficial errata?



  • @MEGAEINSTEIN:

    Loook at page 30 of the rulebook:

    Submersible: … Whenever a round of combat starts and a submarine is in combat with only aircraft, it can submerge (before aircraft fire).

    It says that it can submerge, doesn´t say it must submerge.

    How can is possible such a mistake inside the first oficial errata?

    Um.  I think the RULE BOOK is incorrect and the Errata is clarifying it.

    From everything I have been reading, without a DD, a plane can not hit a sub.
    Whether the sub choose to stay and figth does NOT matter in this <absolute>rule</absolute>


  • Official Q&A

    Welcome to the forums, MEGAEINSTEIN!

    Allies_fly is correct.  The rule that air unit hits can’t be assigned to subs unless there is a destroyer friendly to the air units in the battle was erroneously omitted from the rulebook.  The quoted FAQ entry is intended to correct the omission.



  • Sure, the sub destroys all the transports, and if the ftr hasn’t got a landing spot in range, it’s also going down.

    You just have to make sure you don’t give your opponents this opportunity, it’s like leaving 1 inf in Berlin and complaining that people shouldn’t be able to land with 2 inf + 2 coastal bombardments to take all your cash.

    edit: you should really do something about your keyboard, it’s pretty irritating and might get you banned. I understand you might be a little disappointed by the correct interpretation of the rules, but it’s no reason to shout about it in forums. If you really hate this rule, then make up a house rule and agree before you start a game to play with your house rule.


  • Official Q&A

    HolKann is correct.  It’s not a good idea to leave important ships without a destroyer escort when there are enemy subs around.



  • @MEGAEINSTEIN:

    what you say contradict the rulebook and i would like to have acces to the correct rulebook.

    here’s a couple places where the rules errata is being posted and discussed:

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/article/ah20081212

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=12601.0


  • Official Q&A

    @MEGAEINSTEIN:

    what you say contradict the rulebook and i would like to have acces to the correct rulebook.

    so give to us psatw the opportunity to play the game right using no house rules

    give us please acces tho the correct game book if there is one

    The only rulebook is the one that came with the game.  However, in order to play by the proper rules, you need to also include the errata from the FAQ, the latest version of which can be found on Larry Harris’ site.



  • this guy has started two topics on the same thing, in as many days. i’m sensing a theme here …  :roll:



  • @tin_snips:

    this guy has started two topics on the same thing, in as many days. i’m sensing a theme here …  :roll:

    I THINK I’M SENSING THE SAME THING!!  😉



  • @Krieghund:

    @MEGAEINSTEIN:

    what you say contradict the rulebook and i would like to have acces to the correct rulebook.

    so give to us psatw the opportunity to play the game right using no house rules

    give us please acces tho the correct game book if there is one

    The only rulebook is the one that came with the game.  However, in order to play by the proper rules, you need to also include the errata from the FAQ, the latest version of which can be found on Larry Harris’ site.

    Dooh, how’d I forget that one, nice save Krieghund.



  • I think perhaps he doesn’t understand the concept of “errata”.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    So as the defender I cannot CHOOSE to take my subs as casualties against only aircraft?

    For Example, 2 fgts 1 bmb from UK attack GER Baltic fleet.  No matter what happens the subs cannot be sunk?  Even if I am prepared to take them as hits, to prolong the life of my Cruiser?

    Please say no…


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    NVM

    “Page 19, Defenseless Transports sidebar: “This also occurs if the defender has only transports and submerged submarines remaining, and the attacker has only air units remaining.” The word “submerged” should be removed from this sentence, as air units cannot hit subs without a friendly destroyer in the battle, even if they are not submerged.”

    Answered my own question.



  • @TimTheEnchanter:

    I THINK I’M SENSING THE SAME THING!!  😉

    Haha, this is hilarious.  +1 karma if I could.  Can someone please explain to me what this karma thing is all about?

    @Krieghund:

    The only rulebook is the one that came with the game.  However, in order to play by the proper rules, you need to also include the errata from the FAQ, the latest version of which can be found on Larry Harris’ site.

    It saddens me a bit that such a beautifully designed game was released with a rule-book that can’t be used out of the box.  You can read the errata on the net, but a lot of players will not do this and will probably play the game wrong and probably not enjoy it as much.  The real shame is that the painted areas of  Manchuria and Kiansu are the wrong colour (should be Chinese).


  • Official Q&A

    @Telamon:

    @TimTheEnchanter:

    I THINK I’M SENSING THE SAME THING!!  😉

    Haha, this is hilarious.  +1 karma if I could.  Can someone please explain to me what this karma thing is all about?

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=12785.0



  • Thanks Krieg, obliging as ever.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 30
  • 7
  • 10
  • 2
  • 6
  • 15
  • 6
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

70
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts