What I wonder is, if Japan ignores the Phil J1 (A move which I consider a usually better move) is an Indian IC viable?
Not unless Russia commits a lot of units to persia/caucasus tanks on R1.
Wodan thats not a bad idea cause really super subs are crap for allies anyways, its not like axis are going to build boats.
I disagree. With US buying Subs, Japan will HAVE to buy some DD’s.
Give the Subs some back up with a small carrier based fleet (loaded A/C, some DDs)
I would hesitate to incorporate house rules until you’ve tried many different strategies.
House rules should not compensate for poor strategies.
No, you can not designate part of your fleet to part of a battle, and another portion to support the amphibious landing via offshores.
That would be the land equiviliant of saying my tanks are attacking your ftrs in the embattled territory while my inf take on your infantry in the same territory.
I have yet to see a dominating performance from US against Japan.
Tech is another wrench in the wheel.
With US scoring some early techs, Japan can be dominated by the cash / resource RICH US.
I’ve seen it a few times.
The SBR Escorting Rules definitely reduces (if not totally eliminates) SBR’s from the game.
Others can debate which side/country that helps more/less.
I imagine in a very long game (12+ rounds) SBRs would become more and more ‘in-play’ as supply lines lengthened and initial expansion was reduced in the ETO.
The order is right, but this looks funny:
- Defender chooses the casualties from the Surprise Strike. Unless he chooses subs, those defending units are removed at step 7 and can’t defend later (since there’s no Destroyer)
The defending (and attacking) Surprise Strike casualties are always removed at step 7, whether they’re subs or not. The difference is that the subs will get to fire (in step 5) before they’re removed (in step 7) if there are no opposing destroyers. If there are opposing destroyers, the subs will be removed before they can fire, just like everything else.
Did you say that right?
I thought if my side (country) has destroyers, then the enemy subs have no surprise first strike. There for that bolded portion should read:
If there are friendly destroyers, the defending subs will be removed after they can fire, just like everything else.
I would either move the ftr further inland with another China inf added for cover or removing some J inf to make it unattackable or such a low odds attack that if they try and fail they could be royally screwed.
I’d also remove the restrictions on their movement and give them the ability to enter any China, Japan, or UK territory. Can’t go into Red (Russia).
You can’t do both. The chinese ftr picking off lone transports would be too much of a swing, IMHO
I did this recently with our first look at the 1942 set-up with a friend.
Initially, Africa looks to be a very hard nut to crack for the axis. Lots more units for the allies as well. The one thing that may offset this is that the axis already have many of their N.O.'s to offset the extra allied units.
Loook at page 30 of the rulebook:
Submersible: … Whenever a round of combat starts and a submarine is in combat with only aircraft, it can submerge (before aircraft fire).
It says that it can submerge, doesn´t say it must submerge.
How can is possible such a mistake inside the first oficial errata?
Um. I think the RULE BOOK is incorrect and the Errata is clarifying it.
From everything I have been reading, without a DD, a plane can not hit a sub.
Whether the sub choose to stay and figth does NOT matter in this <absolute>rule</absolute>