War declarations



  • Sometimes I like the '42 version as it is cut and dry from jump.

    Turn 1 Japan does not declare war on anyone, just attacks China. Same turn UK and Anzac declare war on Japan to get bonuses as they still have Malaya and Kwangtung. America is still neutral. Japan now gets to attack UK and ANZAC for free in turn 2 or 3 right? America still can’t declare because attacks would be provoked?

    Also, any rules against Russia attacking and taking Finland while not at war with Germany?

    Thanks guys.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    That’s correct. If the UK and ANZAC declare war on Japan, Japan’s attacks against them do not provoke the US. As long as Japan doesn’t invade French Indochina and doesn’t declare war on the US, Japan even collects the 10 IPC NO from the US. Cha-ching!

    On the Europe map, Russia cannot attack anyone before turn 4 unless that power has declared war on Russia. Unless it’s turn 4 and Germany hasn’t declared war on Russia, Russia cannot attack Finland without first being at war with Germany. Even if Finland is neutral on turn 3, Russia still can’t attack it until turn 4.

    Marsh



  • Ok, thanks for the reply. I was afraid of that. We are only 1 turn into it and Germany did not go into Finland so its not like I took that away from him. I will put pieces back and adjust IPCs.

    Chris


  • 2019 2017 '16

    UK1 DOW on Japan is pretty much suicide. Restart?


  • 2018 2017 '16

    I disagree. There are situations where it may make sense for UK to DOW Japan so they and ANZAC can pick up bonuses.



  • @siparo:

    I disagree. There are situations where it may make sense for UK to DOW Japan so they and ANZAC can pick up bonuses.

    Not on around 1, that’s a Round2/3 thing


  • 2018 2017 '16

    Yes, Round 2 or 3.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    I would do it on round one if I could take out all of Japan’s transports. If, for instance, Japan parked all transports with a very light escort in sea zone 36. I would then hit sea zone 36 with everything I had to paralyze Japan’s ability to transport troops for an entire turn, and collect my NOs in the process. Then the UK and ANZAC could collect NOs for two rounds with no Japanese answer taking NOs away.

    Obviously that is a very specific situation for Japan to let the transports be killed like that.

    Marsh



  • @Marshmallow:

    I would do it on round one if I could take out all of Japan’s transports. If, for instance, Japan parked all transports with a very light escort in sea zone 36. I would then hit sea zone 36 with everything I had to paralyze Japan’s ability to transport troops for an entire turn, and collect my NOs in the process. Then the UK and ANZAC could collect NOs for two rounds with no Japanese answer taking NOs away.

    Obviously that is a very specific situation for Japan to let the transports be killed like that.

    Marsh

    very true marsh, but I am assuming that Japan is not retarded.  If Japan empties all their carriers and put them in range of my SZ39 fleet and my India air force then I might UK1 DOW in that situation as well.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

79
Online

14.4k
Users

34.9k
Topics

1.4m
Posts