Commandos attack at 3+1? or 2+1?


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    There was a debate in a recent game about Commando’s.

    The card reads

    Commandos - Attack 3*  Defense 4.

    With rules - “During amphibious assaults, or airborne drops, commandos get +1 attack”.

    The commonwealth player took that as his units attacked at 3 all the time, and 4 when doing amphibious assaults or airborne drops.

    The axis player took that as the commando’s only attacked at 2; and 3 when during amphibious assualts or airborne drops.

    Ruling?


  • '13

    Our commandos always attack on a 3 and get the bonus for 4.



  • U.S. Marines and Airborne cost 5 each.  The commando is a combination of the two.  For a cost of 5, this would mean that the Commando is more powerful than a U.S. marine?  I believe the intent was that all special forces attack like regular infantry until they perform their specialty (either a naval assault, or a parachute drop).  Then they obtain a +1.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Looking at the setup cards:

    -German paratroopers attack at 2*.
    -British Commando’s attack at 3*

    The * meaning = during an amphibious assault, or airborne drop the unit gets +1 to the base.

    I think that’s cut and dry?

    As the alternative to this logic is that german paratroopers attack at 1.

    It should also be noted that the Axis get a TON of advantages, 5 dollar tanks and subs for example.  The commando is the only decent British unit for the value…


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    @Moose11:

    U.S. Marines and Airborne cost 5 each.  The commando is a combination of the two.  For a cost of 5, this would mean that the Commando is more powerful than a U.S. marine?  I believe the intent was that all special forces attack like regular infantry until they perform their specialty (either a naval assault, or a parachute drop).  Then they obtain a +1.

    In fairness… I would prefer to have tanks that attack at 6 defend at 6 and move 2 for the $5 like the Germans do.

    That’s what’s really overpowered in global 39 IMO.


  • Sponsor 2017 TripleA '11 '10

    OFFICIAL ANSWER:

    Commandoes are Attack: 3 all the time; 4 during amphib assault or air drop.



  • And if you join a commando, a marine or a japanese SNLF with an artillery during amphibious assaults you can attack with 5 or less?!

    Is that right?


  • Sponsor 2017 TripleA '11 '10

    @Star:

    And if you join a commando, a marine or a japanese SNLF with an artillery during amphibious assaults you can attack with 5 or less?!

    Is that right?

    Correct. Remember, in terms of D6 equivalents, it’s still just a 2.5.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Can that same SNLF artillery supported troop also Bonzai?


  • Sponsor 2017 TripleA '11 '10

    @Gargantua:

    Can that same SNLF artillery supported troop also Bonzai?

    This is a double “NO”. First, SNLF are not allowed to Banzai attack. Rules are explicit on this. Also, under the Banzai rules, it is explicit about Banzai infantry NOT being supported by artillery.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 12
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
  • 7
  • 19
  • 23
I Will Never Grow Up Games

24
Online

13.4k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts