A kamikaze strike can target any specific
enemy surface warship (not a submarine or transport)
belonging to the attacking power.
Page 16 of Pacific 1940 2nd Edition rulebook.
If (as usual) Japan DOWs J3 on the Brits (and the Americans by default) are they declaring war on France?
In other words can Japanese ships be blocked by a French destroyer if Japan declares war on the Brits but leaves French Indo China alone?
My understanding is they can attack France without declaring war on the UK. I’d have to check that, though.
If Japan doesn’t declare war on France, the French ship won’t block it.
Note that a declaration of war on UK/ANZAC does not bring the US into the war immediately. It simply gives the US permission to declare war on Japan. If Japan declares war on UK/ANZAC, but not the US, US ships will not block Japan.
Cheers mate. Thanks for your dedication.
can’t france declare war on anyone?
France is already at war with Germany and Italy when the game starts. It may declare war on Japan on any of its turns.