Hi Krieghund.
Thank you for the clarifications.
I think that you roll your AA separately. Once for attacking bombers and once for attacking fighters. Not quite choosing that way but one hit on a bunch of aircraft wouldn’t necessarily be a FTR shot down
I think as a matter of form/custom all the dice for AA get rolled at once but I don’t think it is technicaly correct to do it that way.
You can, just use different colors of dice… say white dice for the FIGs and black for the BOM. You just call the dice before rolling (if it is not obvious by the number of dice being rolled, like 1 FIG, 1 BOM)
That is a very sensible idea but I think there is a tendency to consider all the aircraft at once for hits in AA. Ftrs and Bombers rolled at once with no consideration of keeping things separate. I know that we forget or don’t keep 'em separate often. :oops:
In Classic, I do not recall the segregation, it was a correction in Revised to my knowledge.
@ncscswitch:
In Classic, I do not recall the segregation, it was a correction in Revised to my knowledge.
Yes.
That’s how it was in classic, but now they specifically changed the rules so that bombers are fired at seperately.
AA individual targeting: In the revised rules, you mark the distance each plane has moved with a numbered disk. Since you target each plane individually, you may be able to shoot down a plane that has only travelled one space instead of one that has travelled three spaces, thus increasing the effective damage.
Landing defending planes from sunk Aircraft Carriers: If you sink a defending aircraft carrier, you can fly the planes one space at the end of the combat. Can you thus fly those planes to defend in a neighboring battle?
My personal opinion is no, they cannot be flown to defend in another battle because I believe they move during the Non-Combat Movement Phase, not during the Combat phase. (Though, the actual timing of the movement might be right after the battle for convenience reasons.)
No, they could NOT join an existing battle as a defender as all combat occurs at once.
Officially, FIGs retreat (and land) in the NCM phase, NOT in Combat.
Even in OOB though combat is simultaneous, so the FIGs STILL could not join the other battle in retreat.
I knew that you knew that :lol:
I was just clarifying for the masses :-)
@ncscswitch:
I knew that you knew that :lol:
I was just clarifying for the masses :-)
Sometimes I’m sure you are just making excuses to increase your post count. This is one of 'em. :-)
You know, I honestly have given up tracking my post count.
Post count is not what matters… TOURNAMENT wins are what matter! :evil:
It’s not whether you win or lose.
It’s whether you win.
You don’t get points for yardage.
@ncscswitch:
I knew that you knew that :lol:
I was just clarifying for the masses :-)
Sometimes I’m sure you are just making excuses to increase your post count. This is one of 'em. :-)
post count +1.
@ncscswitch:
You know, I honestly have given up tracking my post count.
Post count is not what matters… TOURNAMENT wins are what matter! :evil:
Well, I’m sure you’ll put in a good showing, dear. And there’s nothing to be ashamed of for being runner up to a girl. :)
Just like Maddogg was before I beat him this last time… you are 0-2 against me dear :evil:
0 and 1.
We mutually remissed the first game.
Sorry dear, that first game was a win. Not my fault you boofed your openning moves :-P