1. Purchase units
2. Collect income
5. Non-Combat movement
6. Place newly purchased units
7. Determine Victory Conditions
8. Develop weapons
During every player’s collect income phase, the player counts up all the IPCs under his control (just like before), but before he actually collects the IPCs each opponent first gets to conduct commerce raiding to reduce that IPC count (Remember that collect income phase occurs before combat move phase).
When commerce raiding is performed: Commerce raiding is performed during any given player’s collect income phase when either an enemy naval unit is located in a SZ bordering an IC owned by that player and/or when an enemy fighter is located in a territory which borders one of those SZs. Enemy fighters located on a CV are considered naval units in that SZ. Enemy fighters located on a territory bordering more than one SZ which borders an enemy IC can only conduct commerce raiding on 1 of the SZs (the owner of the fighter chooses which SZ). An example of this is German fighters in W. Europe raiding either SZ 6 or 7.
How commerce raiding is performed: Every enemy naval unit/ fighter satisfying the above qualifications rolls a die to determine the number of IPCs that the opponent must surrender back to the bank. The number of IPCs surrendered is equal to the number rolled, however, units only do damage on rolls that would be considered a hit during combat when they are the attacking. For example, BBs will only do 1-4 IPCs of damage when they roll that respective number. Fighters will only do 1-3 IPCs of damage when they roll that respective number. Submarines conducting commerce raiding roll 3 dice instead of just 1.
Limits on commerce raiding: Only 1 roll from a surface naval unit/ fighter (either CV or land based) per SZ per turn may be counted when calculating the reduced number of IPCs. The 1 roll that is used is the roll that does the greatest amount of damage. (This rule is used to encourage players not to clump all surface units/ fighters in only 1 SZ bordering an enemy IC).
Notice that submarines, in addition to rolling 3 dice each instead of just 1, also aren’t grouped into the same limitation above because they aren’t surface naval units. Instead, only the best 3 rolls from subs may be counted per SZ per turn. This means that the total IPCs surrendered per SZ is the sum of 4 Numbers… the single best roll from surface/fighter units and the 3 best rolls from sub/s.
Maximum loss for commerce raiding: The maximum number of IPCs that can be surrendered to the bank during commerce raiding for each IC is equal to the maximum amount of IPC output of the IC less the number of ‘connected IPCs’ to that IC. More than 1 IC may be raided during the same collect income phase.
The maximum amount of IPC output of an IC is either 4 times the IPC value of that territory or the total number of IPCs collected by that nation for that turn, whichever is smaller.
Remember the definition of a connected territory, pertaining to infantry placement limits? Same definition here. A territory is connected only when there is a continuous line of friendly territories separating the territories of interest.
Here are a couple of examples: Let’s say UK counts up 30 IPCs before raiding. The maximum that can be raided from UK territory is 30 (since 30 is less than 4 times the IPC value of 8 ) minus 8 (since no other territories are connected to the island of UK). This is 30-8=22.
Now let’s do E. Canada with UK cashing out at 30 again. 12 (just 4*3) - 4 (E. Canada is connected to W. Canada 3+1=4… don’t count up US territory IPCs when calculating total connected IPCs for UK). 12 - 4 = 8.
Now India (still cashed out at 30) and only UK territory taken so far is Egypt. 12 - 5 (3 for India + 1 for Persia + 1 for Trans-Jordan)= 7.
You get the point. That’s all the rules to it. It’s not that much considering all the realism it incorporates into it. In case you’re wondering why the equation (total IPC output from IC) - (total connected IPCs) = (total amount that can be commerce raided) here’s the reasoning:
(total IPC output from IC):
Remember from IC purchase limitations per turn that no more than 4 times the IPC value of the territory may be placed at an IC per turn. This is where the first term comes from. Also, since no one can spend more IPCs than they have, I included the part about “or the total IPC count for the nation”.
(total connected IPCs):
The more the nation is connected to other friendly nations the less it is dependent on naval shipping to bring in supplies. This makes it so commerce raiding is more effective against the island of UK or Japan and less effective against Russia and Germany.
+++++A change was submitted and it made the multiplyer from 4 to 3 and removed the need to subtract. +++++
New possible SBR rules: ( note these are less clear)
bomber piece represents medium bombers and escorts.
AA gun piece now called “infrastructure defense” (or something like that… ideas for the name?) and represents units for both air defense (AA guns and interceptors) and coast defense (coast rtl and fortifications). Still costs 5 IPCs each.
Each infrastructure defense (ID for now) piece only rolls once during targeting (1 or 2 successfully targets) and if successfull then rolls to fire (hit on a 1). The number of dice rolled now depends on the number of ID pieces, not enemy air units. A max of 3 ID pieces can fire per territory per turn. ID pieces cannot move but can be placed in any territory that started the turn under your control (this means ID pieces are not built by ICs).
As for coastal defense, during any amphibious assault on that territory each ID piece (up to 3) rolls a die for targeting. For every roll of 1 or 2, 1 die is then rolled and every roll of 1 hits a transport. If hit, the transport and all units it is carrying are destroyed before the units are unloaded.
ID pieces in a territory that was SBRed do not fire in non-combat move phase, just like in box rules. Other territories still fire in non-combat like before. ID pieces can be destroyed at the defenders discretion when the territory is taken over.