Bump for update 5.1 rules:
Damaged Battleships attack & def at 5 or less
Question: When italy joins axis - is that a declaration of war?
On turn 1. If Germany takes Paris or DOW on Russia, the rules read that Italy joins the axis on her turn.
But does that mean that Italy MUST declare war on UK? Or could it choose to “not” be at war with the allies?
The significance of this, is that Italy could peacefully non combat it’s entire fleet wherever it wanted to, or strike at neutrals whilst building up. Or stage an amphibious landing against Cairo on it’s next turn.
If Paris is taken or Germany declares war on Russia, italy becomes and axis power at the start of her turn.
Does that mean Italy is at war?
Japan is an Axis power and not at war.
Yes because germany taking paris brings italy into the war.
I may make a rule change where italy can be attacked by the allies immediately after the turn germany takes paris or is at war with russia. This may keep italy at bay enough for the allies at the start of the game. This needs to be play tested.