I have a sort of obscure rules question. Please only answer if you know for certain, because the rulebook isn’t clear on this one. There are only hints going in both directions. It might sound like a simple and obvious question, but it isn’t entirely clear either way if you really read all the rules.
Does a captured AA gun retain the tech of the nation that originally owned it?
I originally, and I think most people, say that it does not. But a friend of mine pointed out that it really can be interpreted either way and when I read the rules I find the same thing. The rulebook tells you to track the nationality of the orignal owner when multiple guns are in the same territory. Tracking the who orginally built an AA gun can be interpreted to imply that there is a reason for neededin to know who’s gun is whos. Obviously this information is needed to know whos turn a gun moves on, but this point becomes the source of focus when you start trying to answer this question for yourself from the rulebook. The tech section refers to “your AA guns” firing, which further confuses the issue. Does it say “your AA guns” meaning ones I currently own, or ones I built? It originally seemed clear, but isn’t anymore once the question is asked.
I think the intent was that guns you currently own have the tech, and if one of your “tech AA guns” is captured it becomes “their gun” and no longer has the tech. That’s how we still play it, too. But we aren’t certain that we are right. I know most people think that AA guns lose the tech, my question is does anyone here know for certain what the intent was because it actually isn’t all that clear once you start looking into it.