Even if those extra Fighters survive the battle and then have to crash into the sea?
The thing is, you don’t know if those fighters will have to crash into the sea. They may end up on non-combat move without a valid landing spot but when you perform your combat moves there’s always a statistical change that the carrier will kill the 100 battleships (even though it should be about the same as you de-materializing while reading this message and materializing on the next room) thus the combat move satisfies the rule of a valid landing spot (regardless of how improbable it might be).
Combat moving 2 extra fighters to a battle goes against that same rule because there’s simply no possibility for those fighters to land during non-combat as they are moved (unless a carrier magically pops up out of nowhere into the middle of the battle board - odds for that happening should be the same as you teleporting yourself to another room) .
1. German troops in Belarus are attacked by 3 infantry from Russia and a fighter from Karelia. After the first round of combat are the troops allowed to retreat to Karelia?
2. And same question if fighter came from Finland through Karelia?
3. Can you retreat into a just captured territory?
Only if that territory was captured by a blitzing tank that moved into the battle being retreated from. Blitzed territories change ownership immediately.
I mean if Ukraine is just conquered and attack in East Poland with some infantry from Poland and a fighter that attacked after flying over Ukraine. Are you then allowed to retreat to Ukraine?
As I read the rules on page 19 all these should be allowed, since the rules say that for Sea units the zone must have been friendly since the start of the turn.
The rules say this:
Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat on the battle board to a single adjacent friendly space from which at least one of the attacking units moved.
The “attacking units” in this case refers to the land or sea units that are being moved. It doesn’t include any air units, as they are not being moved at this point. Air unit movement does not provide a retreat route. This isn’t the best wording, so maybe an FAQ entry is called for.
Just as other ships may, submarines may also move out of a sea zone where they begin their turn with enemy ships, even destroyers. The destroyer doesn’t stop the sub’s movement, as the sub didn’t enter the sea zone - it started off there.
Put that in the FAQ