• '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    The way to get around them doing multiple defenses is just to attack all the areas around the blasted fighter, then attack the fighter.  Then it cannot retreat to a territory you want to attack and defend against you. :P

    Actually, I’ve oft pondered the question of fighters retreating to a zone you are attacking in the game as written.  If Japan attacks SZ 55 and kills the navy but retreats before killing the fighters, and Japan’s also attacking W. USA from SZ 54, can the fighters land in W. USA and defend; or do they hover over SZ 55 until Non-Combat and then land in a safe zone?

  • Official Q&A

    @Cmdr:

    Actually, I’ve oft pondered the question of fighters retreating to a zone you are attacking in the game as written.  If Japan attacks SZ 55 and kills the navy but retreats before killing the fighters, and Japan’s also attacking W. USA from SZ 54, can the fighters land in W. USA and defend; or do they hover over SZ 55 until Non-Combat and then land in a safe zone?

    In LHTR, “stranded” defending fighters are moved after all of the attacker’s combats have been resolved and before the attacker’s non-combat movement phase begins.  Thus, they may land in any space that is still available after all combat is resolved.

    In the OOB rules, “stranded” defending fighters are moved immediately after at the end of the combat that involved them, before the attacker’s next combat begins. The movement may not end in a contested territory or sea zone (one that has had or will have a combat resolved in it this turn).  Thus, it’s possible to cut off their retreat by attacking every possible landing spot, resulting in their destruction.

    In neither ruleset would they be able to participate in more than one battle.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    In that case, the defender would have to lose fighters before carriers.  Interesting.  Think I like the OOB better then LHTR in that case.


  • hmmm, I don’t know.  We’ve not run into to many problems while doing this.  Only one time out of 6 games have the fighters defended twice so I think it’s a rare occurrence.  We just played that if the aircraft carrier wasn’t adjacent to a friendly territory or another aircraft carrier then the plane would be destroyed.  So we would just keep them in the fight.

    One thing we ran into on this past game was the aircraft carrier movement.  Can you move the aircraft carrier in combat one space, send off the fighters and then move the aircraft carrier again one space on non-combat?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    I’m inclined to say no.  The reason I am inclined to say no is because you cannot move the tanks one space into combat and then one space in non-combat. (You may blitz in and out of an unoccupied, enemy zone however.)

    If the carrier is NOT going into combat, why move it at all?  Just declare it will move to retrieve the fighters if it has too, then don’t move it if the fighters are dead.

  • Official Q&A

    @Heckler409:

    One thing we ran into on this past game was the aircraft carrier movement.  Can you move the aircraft carrier in combat one space, send off the fighters and then move the aircraft carrier again one space on non-combat?

    No.  Units may not move in both Combat and Noncombat Movement, although air units can in LHTR.  Also, fighters must take off from a carrier before it moves if they are going to take off at all (they’re considered cargo if they don’t), and a carrier may not move after a fighter lands on it.  Because of this, air units may not artificially extend their movement by using the carrier’s movement in addition to their own.

    An interesting “exception” to this involves getting a ride from an ally’s carrier.  A fighter can move its full four spaces and land on an ally’s carrier, then on that ally’s turn the carrier can move its two spaces, then on the next turn the fighter can move another four spaces.  The net effect is that the fighter has moved ten spaces in two turns.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    No, the fighter has moved 8 spaces.  The allied carrier moved 2 spaces. :P

    It’s really no different then moving your carrier 2 spaces and picking up the fighters who may have moved 4 spaces already.  In effect you’ve extended their range because they don’t have to find a landing zone now.  But in reality, you have not extended anything because you’ve used up the carrier to save the fighters.  Same with an ally’s carrier.  He has to leave his carrier open, move it, and leave it open again before landing his own fighters on it.  In effect, he’s gone 3 rounds without being able to use his own carrier to move your fighters two spaces.


  • in that specific instance my bud was trying to save the UK Indian ocean fleet but attack the German transport with two planes as well.  He was going to land both fighters in Egypt after the attack and retreat the UK fleet to SZ33.  This was a  round 1 UK1 turn.  We ended up not allowing it, it just seemed too complicated so he attacked with one fighter.

    Some thing funny though, he was trash talking about how he was going to pound me and another one of my friends with the allies.  He lost 4 UK fighters and a bomber in UK1 from AA and transports ROFLMAO.  I couldn’t believe it, one of the transports survived too hahaha.  Karma’s a [insert bad word].


  • As you play more you will learn that transports love to take out fighters for some reason. Park a battleship next to a few and watch it roll fives and sixes while the transports rack up the ones.

  • Official Q&A

    @Cmdr:

    No, the fighter has moved 8 spaces.  The allied carrier moved 2 spaces. :P

    Perhaps I should have said the fighter “has been moved” ten spaces.  :-P

    @Cmdr:

    It’s really no different then moving your carrier 2 spaces and picking up the fighters who may have moved 4 spaces already.  In effect you’ve extended their range because they don’t have to find a landing zone now.  But in reality, you have not extended anything because you’ve used up the carrier to save the fighters.  Same with an ally’s carrier.  He has to leave his carrier open, move it, and leave it open again before landing his own fighters on it.  In effect, he’s gone 3 rounds without being able to use his own carrier to move your fighters two spaces.

    I didn’t necessarily say it was a good idea, just that it was possible.  :-D


  • @a44bigdog:

    As you play more you will learn that transports love to take out fighters for some reason.

    Particularly with the Hasbro A&A Iron Blitz CD-ROM :-P ~ZP

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

38

Online

17.0k

Users

39.3k

Topics

1.7m

Posts