• Hey all. First of all, let me apologize if this is the wrong section. I saw a Player Help forum, but I’ve also noticed similar threads as this one on the AA42 forum, and since the version I’m playing is AA42 I figured it’d be ok to post it here :)

I just started playing AA42 with my roommate. I’ve never played A&A, Risk, or any strategy-heavy boardgame before, which is weird because I LOVE turn based strategy games on the computer (I’ve been a Civilization fanatic since 1991). I’ve always wanted to get into strategy boardgames, but never had the chance until recently.

My roommate, on the other hand, has played A&A for 15+ years, albiet not much in the past 10 years (or so he says). We just started a game two nights ago (my first game ever) and I’ve done a good deal of reading (rules, strategies, etc) in the past few days “preparing” for this match, so I’d like to believe I at least have a basic knowledge of what I’m doing… but I figured I’d try and get some insight from the A&A gurus here.

I’m playing Allies, and he’s Axis. We only completed one full round (Russia thru to USA) before we called it a night. It took us quite a few hours, mainly because it was my first time ever and he was rusty, so there was alot of going through the rulebook  :-D

I’ll summerize how the turns went as well as I can remember.

R1 - I bought 6 inf 1 tank, attacked Eastern Europe and West Russia, taking only West Russia.

• I then moved inf from all Russian territories to reinforce Caucasus and West Russia, and I THINK I moved whatever was in Archangel to Karelia. I also moved my sub in SZ4 to SZ6. On the eastern Russian front I moved my units in Yakut and SFE into Buryatia.
    • For placement, I placed 4 inf in Caucasus, and the rest (2 inf 1 tank) in Russia.
    • So at the end, Karelia had a tank and 2 inf, Caucasus had a few tanks, 6-7 inf, a ftr, and art, and West Russia had tanks and inf. Russia had 1 tank and 2 inf.