L21 playoff OOB jkeller(X) vs trulpen (L+43)

  • 2024 '22


  • @jkeller said in L21 playoff OOB jkeller(X) vs trulpen (L+43):

    From my reading of the rules I can leave transports in the sz and they cannot move in noncombat but land units can board them in noncombat do you agree?

    Unfortunately not, since they would have been part of the combat. Same thing if they leave during CM and load units, those units have to be part of an amphi during the combat phase.


  • @trulpen said in L21 playoff OOB jkeller(X) vs trulpen (L+43):

    From the G40-EU rules, p 22 (NCM):

    Transports can move to friendly coastal territories and load or offload cargo, unless they loaded, moved, offloaded, or were involved in combat during the Combat Move or Conduct Combat phase.


  • I know, this kind of screws over Japan pretty hard. All for just a small boat.


  • 2024 '22

    @trulpen I read through the rules a few times and don’t see that anywhere

  • 2024 '22

    It only says they cannot move afterwards to load units. Presumably to avoid ridiculous situations like you propose where Japan cannot use her own home sea zone even though she in complete control of it


  • @jkeller said in L21 playoff OOB jkeller(X) vs trulpen (L+43):

    @trulpen I read through the rules a few times and don’t see that anywhere

    It’s on page 22, in the Non-Combat Moves segment.

  • 2024 '22

    It’s already kind of silly I can’t load in combat phase to not be able to load from home island in any phase even while in possession of the sea zone and enemy boats are clear would be really ridiculous and pretty much make the map unplayable


  • I didn’t think of all these consequences when I built the des, but primarily wanted to prevent an amphi on Korea.

  • 2024 '22

    Are you referring to this?

    “Transports can move to friendly coastal territories and load or offload cargo, unless they loaded, moved, offloaded, or were involved in combat during the Combat Move or Conduct Combat phase.”

    It only says The transports cannot MOVE to a friendly coastal territory to load. But the transport is not moving it is the land units that are moving onto the transport and they are not restricted by being in combat because they were not.

    If there is a rule against loading in noncombat I don’t see it in the rule book

  • 2024 '22

    It is the moving part that is the problem. If it was the loading part it would not have specified the move to a “friendly coastal territory “. It would have just said cannot load.


  • Not quite. It does say move, but it also says “and load or offload cargo”. If the trannies partake in combat, they cannot use any action during NCM. That’s how I interpret it anyway.

  • 2024 '22

    @trulpen to me the way it reads that part is in connection to the moving part. If not it wouldn’t specify a friendly coastal territory. (obviously it would have to be a move to a friendly coastal territory to load or unload in nc). Also it would not say “and”. It would say it “can move…” ( to any sz not just a friendly coastal one) “…or load unless…”


  • How do you mean? This can’t be dubious: “unless they loaded, moved, offloaded, or were involved in combat”.

  • 2024 '22

    That refers to moving in noncombat. The transport won’t be moving


  • Like it says in the text it’s with the involvment in battle in the same way that you can’t load and unload units during NCM if you loaded and/or unloaded during CM.

    Well, seems we might have to call in the big guns in order to resolve this. Mind that I’m not trying to tweak the rules to my advantage in any way, but they are what they are.

    @gamerman01
    @Adam514
    @axis-dominion

  • '19 '17

    @trulpen If a transport does anything (ignoring a sub doesn’t count as something) during the CM, including just moving a sea zone or participating in battle, it cannot do anything else during the NCM phase. That means it cannot move, load units or unload units in the NCM phase.

  • 2024 '22

    I appreciate everyone probably has an opinion on this and perhaps people have used this move in the past in their own game to some advantage. But it says in the rules you cannot “move AND unload” during noncombat if involved in a battle. The key part of noncombat move is the MOVING part. The land units were not involved in any combat so they can move into the transport. At least that’s the way the rules read and also what is logical. It would be completely illogical for Japan not to be able to use its home sea zone in either phase because a destroyer suicides there every move. So I assume we are playing by the rules in the rulebook. And the loading part is explicitly tied to the movement part in the text. Otherwise it would not specify a “ friendly coastal territory “ and it would not use the word “and”. So honestly don’t care what anytime thinks no matter how good they are at this game if it does not say it in the rule book it doesn’t matter. This isn’t some kind of situation where “let me ask my friend what he thinks he will back me up so I can win this game “. We are playing by the rulebook


  • We should play by the rulebook. Definitely. So how to interpret those rules is the task at hand we need to discern.

    Can unfortunately not say that @Adam514 is my friend. We havent’t even played a single game with eachother. I do however know him to be one of the best and most experienced players in the league. I tagged @gamerman01 as he’s the administrator and moderator of the league. The other two simply because they rock. I wouldn’t expect any biased opinion from any of them.

Suggested Topics

  • 6
  • 83
  • 106
  • 129
  • 170
  • 125
  • 240
  • 129
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

27

Online

17.7k

Users

40.3k

Topics

1.8m

Posts