Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Battleship question


  • 2007 AAR League

    for example; i attack germany with 2 subs, battleship and a transport
    in the baltic seazone is one german sub

    can i do like this;  to attack the german sub with my 2 subs and leave the battleship aside and do shore bombardment with it during amphibious assault

    thank you in advance


  • 2007 AAR League

    No, you can’t. All naval combats prior to an amphibious assault must be carried out before the amphibious battle can commence. And any ships involved in naval combat can not participate in the land battle that turn.

    Btw, is this Question Day in the revised section or something?  😛


  • 2007 AAR League

    this is not possible.

    Because at First you must specify your doing an amphibious assault. which means the transport has to move into the hostile Seazone.

    before an amphibious assault can take place the hostile seazone must be cleared.

    What im getting at here is if you want to conduct combats you have move your units in the combat phase and not “hold” back and wait till it cleared before you go in and do more combat.

    hope this helps.


  • 2007 AAR League

    ok but then can i do like this

    for example

    i send the 2subs and a transport to a naval battle
    and i say i will send the battleship to an amphibious asault but he attacks(together with the surviving land units) after i won the sea battle

    why couldnt i do this, beacuse my battleship isn´t on waiting in the attacking sea zone


  • 2007 AAR League

    No, you still can’t do that. It’s because of the battle sequence. First you declare combats, THEN you act them out. And has already been stated you have to clear the sea zone before you can execute the amphibious assault. Therefore you can’t assign any ships to partake in the land battle. The exception being unloading trns of course.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Its a great house rule though, Amon.  But unfortunately it is not possible with the out of the box ruleset.


  • 2007 AAR League

    i am still confused

    beacuse if i destroy the german sub i have cleared the sea zone


  • 2007 AAR League

    Sorry, mate, but I can’t make myself understand how you can still miss this…  😐

    In the combat movement phase you must either move your BB or not. If you move it in this phase it is a combat move and you can’t move it in the non-combat movement phase. In this phase you declare all your combats, meaning your BB will have to be assigned to the sea battle. It can NOT be present in the sea battle without participating. Therefore you can’t assign it to do shore bombardment.

    If you move it in the non-combat movement phase that is ok, but that also means it can’t conduct bombardment(which is a combat move).

    If it is still unclear you will need to be more specific as I feel I’m just repeating myself here…  🙂


  • 2007 AAR League

    ok my english isnt very good
    but i ll try

    i have 2 subs a transport and a BB in the North Sea

    can i say like this:
    -i will attack the German sub in the Baltic with my 2subs and my transport
    if the enemy sub is destroyed and my transport in one piece i will attack Germany with the troops from the transport and with my BB which will came from the North Sea(the BB wasnt included in the battle against the submarine)

    and if my transport falls down my BB stays in the North Sea(beacuse its not possible to do shore bombardment if there isn no amphibious attack)

    thank you for having patience with me but i simply didnt quite get it


  • 2007 AAR League

    You can´t say that.

    the case is in Baltic there is a German “enemy” sub.

    You want to move in 2 subs and a BB and a transport to do an ampibious assult.

    If you move the 2 subs and BB into Baltic ALL ships have to attack that lonly German sub.

    There is no choice. (becuse the RULES say so)

    (the transport follow but stay out of the fight, if the german sub is destroyed the transport can attack land)

    Hope you understand  🙂


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    The problem is all your commander’s orders have to be given for the entire round at once.  It takes time to move assets.  So you either bring the Battleship at the same time as the submarines and transport and use them all to kill the enemies in that zone, or you don’t bring the battleship at all.


  • 2007 AAR League

    Ok, now that we’re competing to come up with the simplest explanation…  😛

    … I have another one:

    The british fleet commander sends his fleet(BB, 2 subs, 1 loaded trn) to capture the German beaches. However, the fleet encounters German subs. While the transport escapes to offload its units the BB is held back and must defend itself. The subs are sunk, but the big guns are still smoking and in need of a reload as the men charge the beaches. In other words the BB can’t both fend off 2 angry German subs and provide cover-fire for the troops.  🙂

    If you want the cover-fire the transport will have to wait in cover of the BB and attack later. (ie. the next turn)


  • 2007 AAR League

    now its all clear to me

    its simpy cannot be done

    thank you for your patience with me


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    No problem.  Believe me, if there’s a rule anyone in the world has ever tried to get around, we’ve discussed it. 🙂  You’re not the first to want to do this, and you won’t be the last!



  • And the combat sequence can also be used to your favor against BB shots when defending…

    No matter how big your fleet is, no matter if you have 10 Battleships, it only takes 1 SUB (or TRN, or any other ship) to totally prevent ANY AND ALL battleship shots.

    I had a game a while back where UK bought 5 BB’s, and all Germany had to do was buy 1 sub to block all 5 support shots 🙂


  • 2007 AAR League

    yes, it has sence



  • While we are at it asking questions, I have a question about aircraft and aircraft carriers.

    In an earlier statement by Switch, he said that you can send a fighter to an empty SZ in your non-combat move as long as an allied carrier is committed to move their and have it land on it.  Say I do this and the enemy obstructs my path to the SZ to pick up the allied fighter with my AC……do I remove that fighter off the board to simulate that it has ran out of fuel and crashed in the middle of the ocean?


  • 2007 AAR League

    only if you are buying a new carrier

    otherwise i suppose that your fighter is going down



  • OK, let me clarify…

    The idea of an allied AC moving to let your FIG land on it was an interpretation of the rule sthat was posted by another originally.

    It is generally accepted that such is NOT the case and that the FIGs ahve to actually alnd at the end of their nations turn… not hover and wiat for a friendly AC to come for them 🙂



  • @ncscswitch:

    OK, let me clarify…

    The idea of an allied AC moving to let your FIG land on it was an interpretation of the rule sthat was posted by another originally.

    It is generally accepted that such is NOT the case and that the FIGs ahve to actually alnd at the end of their nations turn… not hover and wiat for a friendly AC to come for them 🙂

    Ahhhhhhh okay.  One of these days Ill have to play with national advantages and use kamakazees.  Those Japanese fighters are on a one way ticket. 😮


  • 2007 AAR League

    @ncscswitch:

    I had a game a while back where UK bought 5 BB’s, and all Germany had to do was buy 1 sub to block all 5 support shots 🙂

    And Switch that is just plain rule thumping/game breaking  :roll:    😉



  • It was legal, and it worked 😛



  • yeah but really those battle ships still did their job.  4 at a 4 will kill 2-3 inf per turn, well 2 inf = 6 3 = 9 so killing a sub worth 8 is just just as good and pretty much garunteed.  Personally, I think I would have just bought three inf instead and risked it.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    I’da sent fighters to kill the sub and BB/Trn to an unguarded territory.  😛

    Now he’s loosing 2-3 infantry in, say, Western Europe and a Submarine near Berlin.  I’m loosing 1 Infantry I sent to die on the shores to justify an invasion attempt so I could plunder naval resources and have my own, personal, fireworks display!!!


  • 2007 AAR League

    Welll, he didn´t have more then 1-2 inf in wetern and no troops in Norway…  so that was kinda pointless…

    And it isn´t a good idea to buy 4-5 BB it´s a waste of cash of course… (i just wanted to try)


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 6
  • 10
  • 6
  • 7
  • 5
  • 1
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games

53
Online

13.3k
Users

33.7k
Topics

1.3m
Posts