Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Plane moving over water question



  • If I have a plane on land and there is attached sea zone like in the attached picture

    Sea1 is attached to land2
    eg the Eastern US land is attached to SZ10.

    Sea3 is attached to Land2
    eg SZ12 is attached to Algeria

    Your plane starts in land 1. Can it attack land 2 (assuming it is enemy held) and fly back to land 1 with only 4 movement?

    Is moving from Land1 to Sea1, Sea1 to Sea2, Sea2 to Sea3, Sea3 to Land2 are all taking up moves and that is your 4 spaces.

    Or

    Is moving from Land1 to Sea2, Sea2 to Sea3 (and can then attack Land2) the only moves required in which case after the fight you can move back by Sea3 to Sea2, Sea2 to Sea1 (landing does not take another).

    Basically I am asking if a fighter in Eastern USA which needs to cross SZ10, SZ11, SZ12 to hit Algeria do that attack then land safely back in the Eastern USA (assuming we dont have long range fighters).

    Do the sea zones attached to land count as a movement space?


  • Official Answers

    Every time a plane crosses a boundary between two spaces, whether they be land territories or sea zones, it uses one movement point.  In your picture, it would take the plane four movement points to get from Land 1 to Land 2.  Assuming that the plane is a fighter and you don’t have long range aircraft, this would not be a legal move unless both territories were friendly (Noncombat Movement), as the fighter would use its whole movement allowance to get there and have no movement left.



  • The movement points of an aircraft are TOTAL movement.  They must take off AND land within the alloted total movement points.

    So in your example, a FIG could non-combat move to land in Land 2, but could not attack it because it takes 4 points to get there, the FIG has to be able to land, and you cannot land in newly captured territory.

    Krieghund is 100% correct.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 10
  • 10
  • 4
  • 4
  • 17
  • 10
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games

60
Online

13.3k
Users

33.6k
Topics

1.3m
Posts