So can we rephrase this as:
You may non-combat a Z from an area you have at least one unit in. In this regard an IC counts as a unit.
We came across this during a game:
A player wants to move units into an area he controls. This area contains Zs. He/she attacks these Zs. But then, after combat, wants to non-combat move some units out of that very territory into an adjancent territory.
So more in general: may you ‘keep units’ apart when attacking Zs in an area controlled by you?
(With the purpose of non-combating moving these units into an adjacent area. Say to bolster defense there…)
If this issue was already tackled: sorry. In that case please post a link here to the answer.
EDIT: We thought this was NOT allowed. We just want to be sure.
Page 24: “move any units that did not…or participate in combat this turn.”, You did it correct, and there is no provision splitting units in a single territory into attacking/non attacking.
This sounds similar to subs, but subs are addressed with rules to say that they may move move to avoid combat during their combat move.
As far as I know there is no equivalent to ground units. Page 15 says you can move out to escape combat.
Page 15 says you can move out to escape combat.
Striker, thanks for reply. I thought about analogy between submerged submarines and Zs too. Seems the analogy is not 100 % though indeed.