Miscellaneous Questions Based on Last Game



  • We were unsure of a few things, wondering if you fine gents would help us out.

    1 - Tanks.  Can someone explain tanks to us in detail?  They attack at 2, defend at 1?  They soak up hits?  How?  We didn’t understand tanks at all and haven’t used them yet due to this fact.  Please help if you can.

    2 - Army Movement.  Example -  I am playing as Germany, and I have let’s say 30Inf/20Art and I move them in to hostile French Territory which houses 30Inf/20Art themselves.  We duke it out for that round (Germany attacks, France defends) and the territory becomes contested.  After the initial attack, both Germany and France go down to, let’s say, 20Inf/10Art each.  Now it’s France’s turn.  #1 - Does France have the choice to NOT defend, and instead retreat all their armies and give the territory to Germany?  That’s question #1.  Now let’s say France decides to fight.  After France defends, the armies are both split evenly at 10Inf/5Art.  Territory is still contested.  Next turn is Germany’s.  #2 - As Germany, can I move my 10Inf/5Art closer to Paris?  Or must my army stay in the territory until no more hostile units are in it?

    3 - If I am Britain, can I muster let’s say 10 infantry in India, even thought the IPC value is only 4 for the territory?

    4 - If I am Germany and just took Rome, the next round am I allowed to muster units in Rome, or do the Allies/CP ONLY muster units in their capital and NOT in captured capitals?

    5 - Austria’s initial naval force…turn 1 of round 1.  Can I move the cruiser, battleship and transport in to Italian territory (naturally, I will face a mine roll by my Italian enemy) in an effort to unload 2 infantry in, let’s say Naples and NOT fight the Italian cruiser, battleship and transport?  Or must Austria fight the existing Italian boats if they decide to offload troops on to the Italian mainland?

    Thanks fellas for the help.



  • I am not 100% versed in the rules of 1914. They are very hazy to me as well, but this is what I think to be correct.

    1. Tanks are like battleships on land, but they automatically repair at the end of the battle. Say you have 6 infantry vs 2 tanks. The infantry get 2 hits. Both of the tanks would soak up a hit and nothing would happen.

    2. When you are in a contested territory you can only move to another contested territory in which you have a unit already in the contested territory or a territory that was friendly at the start of your turn. No, you wouldn’t be able to move into Paris on Germanys turn.

    3. Yes.

    4. Not sure

    5. No, you must fight the naval battle.


  • Official Q&A

    @Jocher:

    1 - Tanks.  Can someone explain tanks to us in detail?  They attack at 2, defend at 1?  They soak up hits?  How?  We didn’t understand tanks at all and haven’t used them yet due to this fact.  Please help if you can.

    Tanks attack at 2 (3 when supported by artillery) and defend at 1.  When attacking (not defending), each tank cancels one hit scored by the defender.  However, tanks may not cancel hits scored by pre-emptive artillery strikes while performing an amphibious assault.

    @Jocher:

    2 - Army Movement.  Example -  I am playing as Germany, and I have let’s say 30Inf/20Art and I move them in to hostile French Territory which houses 30Inf/20Art themselves.  We duke it out for that round (Germany attacks, France defends) and the territory becomes contested.  After the initial attack, both Germany and France go down to, let’s say, 20Inf/10Art each.  Now it’s France’s turn.  #1 - Does France have the choice to NOT defend, and instead retreat all their armies and give the territory to Germany?

    France has the option to not attack.  A power is never the defender on its own turn.

    It may reinforce the territory with more units, or withdraw some or all of its units.  Any units in the territory may then attack, or they may do nothing.

    @Jocher:

    Now let’s say France decides to fight.  After France defends, the armies are both split evenly at 10Inf/5Art.  Territory is still contested.  Next turn is Germany’s.  #2 - As Germany, can I move my 10Inf/5Art closer to Paris?  Or must my army stay in the territory until no more hostile units are in it?

    When units move out of a contested territory, they must move into a territory that either was controlled by their power or contained units beloning to their power at the beginning of the turn.  Germany may move its units closer to Paris only if those conditions are met.

    @Jocher:

    4 - If I am Germany and just took Rome, the next round am I allowed to muster units in Rome, or do the Allies/CP ONLY muster units in their capital and NOT in captured capitals?

    You may only mobilize land and air units in your own capital (or in India if you’re the British Empire).  You may only mobilize sea units in sea zones that have a naval base located in a territory that you originally controlled (has only your power’s emblem) and was not under enemy control at the beginning of your turn.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 11
  • 7
  • 17
  • 18
  • 5
  • 4
  • 4
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

60
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts