To my knowledge, taking London doesn’t bring America into the war early, of course, I dont have the rule book memorized either.
Probably moot, earliest you can take London is G3 and America can declare in R3 anyway.
Per OOB rules, a take over of London (or an attack on any territory in north america) allows the US to declare war at it’s earliest convenience. Per OOB rules, the US cannot declare war until end of turn US3 unless an axis power declares war on the US first.
I think you mean “Per Alpha rules” instead of “Per OOB rules”….London or North America in Alpha permits an early DOW by the US. Scotland does not if I understand the rules properly.
Yes, sorry, fixed, tired.
An attack on the UK (territory) or Scotland won’t affect US DOWs, nor a takeover of Scotland. Only a complete sacking of London will set off the US. Or a violation of the Monroe Doctrine (any attack on north american territories, successful or no).